countdown boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 12, 2017
Recommended to me by entrepreneurs from Seattle to Sydney, The Lean Startup truly lives up to its reputation as the entrepreneur’s bible. In it, Eric Ries captivates us as he dives surprisingly deep into the inner workings of companies to shine light on the processes within. He teaches us how to use actionable metrics, or “innovation accounting”, to measure progress, and gives us countless real-world examples of his ideas in action. By the end of the book, the “build-measure-learn” feedback loop he endlessly preaches really does seem like the only right way to structure a startup.

I went into this book with high expectations and it delivered on all accounts. You can be certain that I’ll be referring back to The Lean Startup time and time again as I venture further into the startup world. I cannot recommend this book enough; whether you are a budding entrepreneur or a seasoned businessperson, you owe it to yourself to read this masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2017
Fantastic book, great read. So many insights on so many counter intuitive things. Will carry this book with my as a go through my own start up journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
Great book for entrepreneurs that want to start their own business with minimum investment. Gives a great perspective and tools in order to evaluate feedback and apply them within your business. Strongly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
Eric captures several of the strategies every startup must adopt to give themselves the best chance for success. Founders/CEOs should their leadership team members read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2016
Excellent book for anyone looking to start up a venture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2016
This book is a must for anyone embarking on a new business idea whether it's a whole new company or restructuring a portion of an established one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Wow that was fast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
Got this and Zero to One to read up on Start Ups. I'm a beginning entrepreneur, but I felt this book had too many anecdotes and little content that I found valuable. I can't figure out why this book is so highly acclaimed as it seemed to state pretty obvious things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
Very boring. I couldn't get past the first 50 pages. It's all about the author
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
General
As a serial entrepreneur I did not find this book particularly insightful. While there were some tidbits that were beneficial or points I hadn't
considered from examples (not from his companies), these were very few and far between and were footnotes to the main discussion. If you are experienced in business or have been to business school or studied lean process, this book will be of little to marginal value for you. All the principles found in other sources on lean manufacturing are better explained elsewhere with the rigor and depth of knowledge that is needed.

This book is really for someone that has never started a company or who has no idea about lean processes or basic business practices. If you were to rely on this book to get a sound idea regarding lean processes (which this book essentially says but in a far watered down way) you would be missing significant and important points.

Summary
As I started reading this book, I got the impression the author had never been to business school before embarking on his entrepreneurial pursuits so I did some digging and found that his background was not initially business. A lot of his comments and problems he had were simple concepts that are taught in marketing classes and general management (e.g., test your product, prototyping, working out bugs, connecting with customers, etc).

The first 50-100 pages of the book the author talks a lot about himself and his one experience at his tech firm. It reads more like a sales pitch to establish his credibility than a useful guide to lean or startups. In one part he talks about a company he was involved with and stated "and that's were I came in" but he doesn't say what he actually did for the company which made me wonder just how much value he brought in a number of the examples he gives.

He states early that this book won't be a bunch of stories and anecdotes but then that is exactly what he does based on his own and some others' experiences. The experiences range from Facebook to Quickbooks, to Kodak to Indian laundry services to unnamed companies.

The author appears to have smashed a bunch of business principles and practices together which, while related, are not necessarily organized in a coherent flow. He then calls part of this a model for lean startups. This isn't really a model by academic or practical standards.

Positive Points
1. If you know nothing about startups and lean you could start here. However, don't rely on this book solely.
2. Good points on prototyping
3. Good points on connecting with customers

Negative Points
1. One of the things that annoyed me the most about this book was that the author is claiming to have a model for startups. This did not appear to me to be the case from the text. Lean production has been around for decades and why lean principles are not applied to startups is beyond me. I've always sought to use lean principles in start ups and mature firms. That is a basic requirement today. His "model" is simply a copy and paste of others' concepts.

2. He talks about himself far too much. This book appears to be largely written in an effort to create credibility to augment his consulting practice.

3. Little will be garnered by experienced entrepreneurs.

4. There is nothing new here that hasn't already been published elsewhere in better detail.

5. There is a lot of filler. This book could be half the size and say the same thing. The author pounds the keyboard of a couple of points and it becomes repetitive.

6. A bunch of the points are ones that a business manager or owner should already know (e.g., you need a product that works, product testing is required, lots of unprofitable customers that don't cover margins won't generate profits if you get more of the same, questioning why things don't work with third order effects, cycle times, etc)

7. A major point not addressed and is part of lean and all successful business is leadership. In several cases he gives, I would have said leadership was the problem as the problems were people driven, not process driven.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse