countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$30.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2004
Any business document should be effectively conveyed on a single piece of paper. Even a business plan? YES indeed.
Winston Churchill was asked how long he would need to prepare a speech. Churchill asked how long he had to speak. He was told 2 hours. "I can do that immediately." When asked about a 10-minute speech, he replied, "In that case, I should need a fortnight to prepare."
That's the idea behind The One Page Business Plan. If you can put the time, effort, and concentration in (which the book clearly and simply guides you through) to 1 page, you've got a killer document that can serve as your touchstone within your group, your department, division, and whole company.
Another thing - lots of people think this book is only for entrepreneurs. Not so. It's perhaps most valuable inside corporations, where it can be used to quickly get everyone on the same page (literally!)
Great book, great concept. Plus you can reuse the format for all kinds of plans - for a project, for a new brand, for a spinoff, even for finding a new job!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2003
This book excels at cutting to the chase and getting the important ideas down.
First the positives. Simplifies the potentially daunting task of getting something on paper without all the complexity. The book also does a good job of entertaining the reader.
The negatives. This book does not cover the financial aspects of a business plan. There is little guidance when it comes to the numbers. The plan you produce using this book might need a beefing up if you need substantial amounts of capital.
Overall the plans you could make using this book could be quite useful to you. Some of the uses include: Complete plan for a smaller enterprise, executive summary to keep everyone working toward a common goal, outline for a larger plan, concept piece to get people excited.
Possibly all a smaller enterprise needs. Great start for a larger business.
One of my better purchases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2003
We've just finished a semester using this book with undergrads (at Marquette), in conjunction with Bulger's The Enlightened Entrepreneur. Both are full of questions to answer; this one also has a nice protocol for going from answers to the plan. In one page, obviously you only set a broad direction, but that's vital. I added sections on Customers, Competitors, Capabilities, Channels, Commitments, and Capital to get closer to a full plan. Overall, it worked extremely well, and business clients who've used it also found it works well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2003
I enjoyed the fresh & light approach of this book. Doesn't bog you down with too many rules and must-do's and lets you bring out your thoughts directly onto paper. I think its especially helpful in the starting stages of a business where you don't yet have the information to build a full business plan but need to organize your thouhts. It is also a great ongoing condensed format for a business plan that can keep your actions/strategies in line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2003
As someone who has never written a business plan and had no idea where to start, this book is absolutley fantastic!! It starts you off with writing pieces of what you want to do by answering the five "W"'s. It also suggests you have an interview with someone so that you can play back what you actually said and then transcribe your verbal thoughts on paper. Very realistic and fun approach to what could be a very arduous task.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2004
...You can find here! I came across this book through a mention on Tom Peters Website and could not get myself to spend the 35$ until last week. Big mistake! It is exactly what I needed to focus my thoughts in a clear and concise manner...and turbofast too. The questions are sharp and intense, the results are astonishing. If you are an accidental entrepreneur buy this book! Oliver Fritsch, [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2003
Can business planning get any simpler than this?
The system is well laid out, deceptively simple but effective. After reading the book we worked with a consultant to actually implement the methodology and have had great results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
A well thought out system for developing a business plan. Cuts through a lot of the fluff found in other planning books, and focuses on the important items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2016
There was NO CD-ROM with my order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
Too much work for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here