CDN$ 12.98 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by templegroove

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 38.90
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Vanderbilt CA
Add to Cart
CDN$ 38.91
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Qrt For The End Of Time/Theme

Price: CDN$ 12.98
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by templegroove.
3 new from CDN$ 12.98 3 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 1 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B00006J3LD
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #318,126 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. Liturgie De Cristal
2. II. Vocalise, Pour L'Ange Qui Annonce La Fin Du Temps
3. III. Abime Des Oiseaux
4. IV. Intermede
5. V. Louange A L'Eternite De Jesus
6. VI. Danse De La Fureur, Pour Les Sept Trompettes
7. VII. Fouillis D'arcs-en-ciel, Pour L'Ange Qui Annonce La Fin Du Temps
8. VIII. Louange A L'Immortalite De Jesus
9. Theme: Modere
10. I. Variation - Modere
11. II. Variation - Un Peu Moins Modere
12. III. Variation - Modere, Avec Eclat
13. IV. Variation - Vif Et Passionne
14. V. Variation - Tres Modere

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa1eff4c8) out of 5 stars 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1eabb94) out of 5 stars Doesn't get truer than this. June 28 2014
By B. Filippone - Published on
Format: Audio CD
There is certainly no shortage of recordings of this singular, otherworldly work available, many of them excellent. But this one really does have the most going for it. Firstly, it was closely supervised by Messiaen himself, and the pianist is none other than his wife, Yvonne Loriod, who Messiaen frequently said was able to give the truest touch to his music. It's also one of the most technically clean versions out there. But to me, one of its strongest points is also that the instruments are perfectly balanced. The right balance is extremely important to the overall effect of this work, especially for the movements with the piano and more than one other instrument, and this is one of the only recordings I've heard that hits it just right. On many recordings, the piano is too far in the background and the magic of those incredibly colorful and vibrant chords is lost, and on others it overwhelms the important subtleties of the interplay between the other instruments while destroying the ethereal effect.

This recording simply offers the best blend of technical perfection, vision, and balance. There's nothing forced here. The rhythms in the fast movements are all executed with plenty of both drive and clarity without ever getting strenuous (no small achievement), the clarinet solo of the third movement is the most flawless and engaging rendition I've ever heard, and the last movement is so glowingly transcendent that it makes me wonder what it may have done to the hearts of the Nazi officers who heard its first performance in that deathly cold prison camp.

There are apparently several issues and re-issues of this outstanding recording available, invariably coupled with the early but striking Theme and Variations, but they are all the same 1991 recording.