Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Those Who Save Us
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 21, 2014
Those Who Save Us brings us in Germany in the 1940’s –WWII. Anna Schelmmer a young, German woman who falls in love with a Jewish doctor. When the life of her lover is threatened, she decides to hide him in her father’s home. However, her father, a Nazi supporter, discovers her secret and turns the young doctor over to the Gestapo.

Shortly after, Anna leaves her father’s house and gives birth to a little girl, Trudy. Anna is left alone to provide and care for her daughter in spite of poor living conditions brought on by the war. She does whatever it takes to give Trudy the best life in the poor circumstances and sacrifices so much for her daughter’s life as well as her own.

Jenna Blum took a risk to write a Holocaust story from a German perspective. However, I believe it was very well executed. Her writing is beautiful and the story is a moving one.

To all the history buffs out there as well as anyone looking for a great read, add this one to the list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2013
This is a well written book dealing Germans now living in America and how they deal with the tremendous guilt they feel from being German during WW!!. They bring their traumatic lives into the US and try to live with the memories. I guess you could compare it to post traumatic syndrome from the non military in the country where the war took place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2018
An easy read, too fast. Left me wanting more.
Held my attention from beginning to end. A different viewpoint, explored respectfully
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2013
I just finsihed reading this book, and thought it excellent. It gave a different perspective on life in WWII Germany, showing that nothing is all black or all white when it comes to survival. Very well written, at times gut-wrenching and heartbreaking, at other times heroic and touching. I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants something of real substance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 10, 2011
Reading this book is an important step in understanding the ambiguities of people placed in moral predicaments of life and death. Jenna Blum has depicted these ambiguities better than any book on WWII I have read. The quiet acceptance by the victims and the quiet acceptance of what happened only serves to understand the inner lives of these people. What a terrific format to slip between the past and present. Read this book and cry, your feeling will not be ambiguous; but, rather genuine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2018
This book is excellent and one of my favourites. WW2 from a different perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2013
I loved the mysteriousness of this story and it made me think about the events in Nazi Germany from a different perspective. It is always easy to judge others, but not as easy to put yourself in their place and really think about what you would do in a similar situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2013
This book really lets you feel the effects of the war on civilians. Not only does it let you know how it would feel to be a Jewish person during the time of Hitler; it also tells you how some of the German civilians survived. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants an inside look at how it would have been to live and survive through one of the worst times in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 9, 2017
This was again the 1st read from this author, and found the book enjoyable.
Will be loking to other titles from this author.
Arrived really quick too, so thumbs up there as well !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2013
It took be a while to warm up to the characters (not sure that I ever really did to the mother) but it was a pretty good novel in the end.
I'd recommend it to others for a bit of a different perspective on Germany in WWII.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse