In Time to Voices has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: CDs, DVDs, video games, vinyl, and more! Fast delivery! All items are guaranteed!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

In Time to Voices Import

Price: CDN$ 16.61 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 4.94 8 used from CDN$ 2.01

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 24 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Cooperative Music
  • ASIN: B0070CFO4I
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. In Time To Voices
2. Lost Kids
3. Cold
4. Two Dead Minutes
5. Silence And The Drones
6. Night Light
7. Je Me Oerds
8. Stop Kicking
9. Slip Into The Blue
10. Down Here In The Dark
11. 7 Years

Product Description

2012 album from Brighton boy/girl alt-rock duo consisting of Steven Ansell and Laura-Mary Carter. Carter described the album: ''With this album, we totally threw out the rulebook of how we write and record. We decided we wanted to make a really ambitious record, not something which reflects our live show but something which is only limited by our imaginations and not by how many instruments we use onstage. We figured the best way to push ourselves forward was to write the best possible songs and melodies we could - once you have that as your foundation, you have the freedom to go anywhere with the sounds you use. We feel like a totally different band now. We feel like we're shooting for the stars.'' Includes first single 'Cold'.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x96f634c8) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x96df9f80) out of 5 stars A solid album from a great underrated duo. Sept. 2 2012
By Qemuel - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
It is a shame that America still remains oblivious to the work of Blood Red Shoes, as they make interesting and highly energetic music. The 2010 film SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD featured the song "It's Getting Boring by the Sea" on the soundtrack, but the film sadly never really found its audience (give it time though). IN TIME TO VOICES feels a little different from the bad's two prior albums (BOX OF SECRETS and FIRE LIKE THIS), and this is not a bad thing at all. It is good to see a band progress musically, and Steven and Laura-Mary's willingness to expand upon their trademark sound has paid off well.

I get the impression upon reading other music reviews that I should discuss individual songs, which is difficult for me (I'll try though). I tend to listen to albums as full entities (showing my age, I know), and will progress as thus. IN TIME TO VOICES plays very well as an album, complete with and underlying theme. This is sadly uncommon in modern music, and welcome to those of us that grew up listening to such albums. The only semi-negative thing I can say about the album is that it starts a lot more energetically than it finishes, which may be (at first) off-putting to established fans. Longtime fans of the band will likely be drawn to the first three songs (title-track "In Time to Voices", "Lost", and "Cold"), and may have to warm up to later tracks. However, this does not mean that the latter songs of the album are not good. Quite the contrary actually, as some of the best songwriting is toward the end; "Night Light" is probably my favorite track in general, and is perhaps the slowest song on the album. The final track "7 Years" is lyrically among my favorites, alongside "The Silence and the Drones". Steven and Laura-Mary have not skimped on the album's sound while trying new things and exploring their influences; for example, the beginning of "Slip Into Blue" has a nice Pixies feel to it, which I find quite pleasing. There is not a single track on this album that I dislike, which says a lot.

In short, if you are a longtime fan of Blood Red Shoes and feel unsure upon first experiencing the album, give it a few listens. There is a very good chance that IN TIME TO VOICES will continue to grow on you with each listen.

NME made the album available for online listening several weeks before its release, and I listened to it quite a bit before purchasing it. This did not deter my playing of the album once acquired; I've owned it for about four months now, and it remains a constant in my vehicle (and it should be noted that I drive a lot for work). Great band, great album. A worthy addition to a young band's already strong catalog.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x96947060) out of 5 stars Two steps forward, two steps back. Dec 25 2012
By Stan Tweedle - Published on
Verified Purchase
I adore this duo, Laura-Mary and Steve make great noise. Their first two albums really captured the raw energy of their live performances and their punk roots showed unabashedly with many songs getting you in the mood to break stuff and jump around. With this album, it is clear they have honed their skills and become capable of more than their first album. I love seeing bands I enjoy grow and learn, but often this leads to them wondering away from what they did well. BRS shows that growth very well on this album, however a good chunk of the album seems to have lost the sheer amount of energy their previous efforts had. It is as if they polished the product so much, the edge has been rounded off for most of the album. Fortunately, Blood Red Shoes are not veering off to another path, same path, different tools and skills. Once this too becomes familiar to them, I expect great things.

In the end, this is a very good album with some of their best songs but left this fan feeling a touch let down not by something done wrong, but by seeing the massive potential there merely touched and not fully grasped yet. This album gives me great hope for future efforts from Blood Red Shoes, including the soon to be released EP The Water.
HASH(0x968e3fcc) out of 5 stars Great album - this is a band to watch! May 3 2013
By Brendon Macaraeg - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Got into BRS when "Fire Like This" came out (also highly recommended). Hard to believe it's just a guitarist and drummer creating these huge soundscapes. If you like the loud/quiet/loud dynamic of the Pixies mixed with raw, loud guitars (Sonic Youth is closest comparison probably) and obtuse lyrics that don't spell everything out and hammer you over the head w/a message, you'll dig this band. Love the first four tracks off this LP - the rest is growing on me. (I actually think "Fire Like This" is a better place to start with this band, and then get this one.) The members are young, so it should be fun watching where they go from here. Along with Dum Dum Girls, BRS is one of my favorite bands of 2013.

Look for similar items by category