countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout home All-New Kindle sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$4.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 10, 2007
Treasure Island is arguably one of the greatest works of storytelling in the English language. Stevenson created other novels, with greater depth and insight, but the highlight of Treasure Island is the combination of color and poetic prose that distinguishes his tale of piracy and boyhood adventure from the rest of the field of other adventure books. The title alone paints an image of suspense, and salty pirates battling over great riches. Most people tend to view Treasure Island as a story for children, but it can be enjoyed by anyone longing for a rollicking adventure. Like so many stories from the 1800s, each chapter ends with a cliffhanger, and once you get used to the language the author's humor shines through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2003
What is every teens fantasy? It's running away from home to get away from parents and rules and homework etc. and to have an adventure like Jim Hawkins. After seeing the movie, PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN, for the 3rd or 4th or 5th times teens are going to fantasize more about joining a crew of pirates to have an adventure on the high seas. Only there are no longer pirates like those who lived in the 17th and 18th centuries. But teens like me can escape and have adventures by reading pirate books like TREASURE ISLAND and ROBINSON CRUSOE. (The latter is based on a real pirate named Alexander Selkirk who was marooned on an island. Fortunately a ship picked him up in a short time not years later, and he didn't have an encounter with canibals like Robinson Crusoe.) Treasure Island is slow in places, but there's no law saying a reader has to read the slow parts. I just skipped over them and got to the good parts. I've read parts of other true books about pirates. But the modern day one I liked the best was THE DIARY OF A SLAVE GIRL, RUBY JO. No, it is not dorky. It has a good story with good characters (slave children) who watch Blackbeard as he holds their city hostage. In the back of the book you can see real photos of pirates, jolly rogers, and slave stuff. There is also more information about pirates of that time, and they weren't quite like the ones in the movies. I recommend everyone read Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, and that new book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2003
The story of Treasure Island takes place during the glorious 18th century, when seamen still sailed the oceans in search of wealth and fame. The most feared enemies were the sea pirates. Young Jim Hawkins discovers a treasure map in the sea-chest of the murdered pirate, Billy Bones. Jim joins Doctor Livesey and Squire Trelawney to form a partnership to search for buried pirate treasure. The presiding genius of their crew is the one-legged pirate turned sea cook, Long John Silver. Long John is cunning and bloodthirsty, without a shred of conscience. But his buoyant humour and vitality are irresistible. Their sea voyage turns out to become quite perilous when the first rumours of mutiny are being whispered on board of the Hispaniola.
The point about classics such as Treasure Island is that you cannot doubt the relevance of such a book, since it is still popular more than 120 years after it was first published (1883). Hundreds of books following Treasure Island have used the image of the pirate Long John Silver and made it a universal type. Ask anyone to picture a pirate and in nine out of ten cases you will get something closely resembling Long John.
The strongest quality of Treasure Island is that it is still surprisingly fresh. It has a pace that can stand comparison with any contemporary novel. Stevenson did not add a lot of moralising to the story, which is quite remarkable for a coming of age story dated from that period. The character of Long John suffers clearly from a certain machiavellian duality, a topic that will return more prominently in Stevenson's later work: Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2003
Jim Hawkins, a young boy, helps to run a family inn and falls into trouble left and right. When Billy Bones, an old buccaneer that lived in the inn, dies and leaves his large chest for claim, Jim snatches the key from his neck and opens his chest. He finds an oilskin package that contained a map to buried treasure and embarks on a journey to recover it. He and some of his companions go to Bristol, set up a crew, and board the great Hispaniola and depart for the island. One of the crewmembers they acquired while in Bristol was the famous pirate, Long John Silver. While on the journey, Jim overhears a conversation between Long John and three other members in which the men prepared plans of mutiny and determined how they would carry them out. They reach the island and the crew begins their corruption. Jim and his companions fight many conflicts while on the island. They are low on supplies, outnumbered, injured, and tired. Jim set out to retrieve the Hispaniola and completes his objective successfully. When he returns to the old stockade, he has a surprise waiting for him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2003
"Treasure Island" is the classic adventure novel by Robert Louis Stevenson. Set on the high seas amid treasures and pirates, it is the story of a young boy's adventure. "Treasure Island" has been done by everyone from Disney to the Muppets. It's been imitated many times and influenced countless books and movies.
A mysterious pirate shows up at an inn owned by Jim Hawkin's mother. The pirate is killed by a gang of rogues, but Jim finds a treasure map belonging to the pirate. Jim then embarks on a journey to far away island to find the treasure. Of course, nobody can be trusted - especially the cook, Long John Silver. With his peg leg and parrot, Silver is the stereotypical pirate. Once the island is reached, sides are chosen - the mutinous pirates against the ship's crew. Jim goes on a journey within a journey on the island, going from one side to another, as the treasure is hunted for.
Everyone should read this book at some point. It's especially good for young boys, due to the fact that the main character (Jim) is a young boy. It's well crafted, and easy to read. And it's hard to put down once you get going. What else can you ask for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2002
This book is absolutely amazing! The beginning may have been a little dull, but towards the middle I really started to get into it. The story kept me glued to the book. I would get dissapointed when I was told to stop reading. It seemed that every time I had to stop, there was some adventure that had just begun.

It starts out with a struggling family who owns an inn. One day, an adventurous seaman, known as the "cap'n" comes to their inn. Once the pirate dies, the inn owners son, Jim, starts to check out the cap'n's chest that was in his room. Jim discovers a map that leads to Captain Flint's buried treasure. This brings along many adventures, and laughs!

Jim and the town doctor and the town squire set out to find this buried treasure. During the trip to Treasure Island, Jim makes the startling discovery that the people working and sailing the ship are planning to overthrow the captain and his men. Once there, Jim, the captain, the doctor and the squire sneak off to the other side of the island. This leads everyone to war as Jim meets a castaway that had been on the island for three years. This man helps Jim and the other men to saftey, while the leader of the pirates, Long John Silver, continues to hunt for the treasure.
Jim and the castaway take control of the pirates ship and are soon looking for treasure themselves. Jim, wandering about on his own, falls into the clutches of the enemy. This creates commotion as the castaway and the other men try to free him, but cannot. The pirates are soon out looking for the treasure again with Jim and make it to where the treaure should be. To their surprise, it is gone!
The doctor and squire kill the other pirates, except for Silver, and take him and Jim to the castaways cave. The castaway, having been on the island for three years, had found the treasure and carried it all to a hidden cave by the coast. Inside the cave was also meat that the castaway had hunted for. Jim and the others make it to the cave and move the treasure onto the boat.Then they sail away and everyone lives happily ever after (except the pirates).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2003
I read Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. I found this book to be not so enjoyable. It begins with slow, hard to follow beginning, and continues with a somewhat sped up middle with many confusing twists and new people. The end I also found to be boring. This just seemed like a short story streched out on many pages lots of new places, characters, or things in between.
The parts of this book that I could follow along with were few and even still not inturesting. It took effort to read and keep everything in your head. I had to read over many things twice.
Some of the characters are Jim,Jim's mom,Dr. Livesey,Pew, Admiral Benbow,and others. Jim is the boy who goes on the adventures with the pirates. Jim worked an inn with his mom and dad. A sstrangwe visitor came around that was a pirate. Jim's dad died and so did the pirate... which is where Black Dog came and Jim's whole adventure started. He traveled across seas to find treasure, and he thought that the island was scary and haunted.
If you are an advanced reader, who can keep up with many things I might suggest this to you. If you are inturested in a fantasy like story with pirates, you also may enjoy this. However if you are an average person who just enjoys casually reading or you like to have a book that leaves you on the edge, I would have to say you would not want to read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2002
The book "Treasure Island" is one of the greatest books ever made! The author of the book, Robert Louis Stevenson, is a literaly genius. His book had all the necessary parts to make the reader read for hours. It is a story of a young boy and a mean pirate, known as Long John Silver, and his terrible band of pirates. It is a story that has a perfect mix of good and evil, which leaves the reader wanting to know what is going to happen next.
It all begins when Captain Billy Bones stays at the Admiral BenBow Inn where Jim Hawkins and his mother live. Jim shows the captain to his room and then tells him where the dining room is. When Jim asks for his name, he tells him to call him Captain. A few days later, a man comes to the Inn to visit Bill. Jim tells him there is no one there by the name of Bill, but there that there is someone called Captain. Just then the Captain opens the door and says "Black Dog". Then Bill asks Jim to leave them alone for a while. A few minutes later, Jim hears a loud smash and runs out to find out what is happening with both of them. Black Dog decides to leave the place after the fight. The next day the Captain faints and Dr. Livsey informs that the Captain has suffered a stroke and is not allowed to drink rum anymore. The next day a blind man comes to the Inn and asks to talk to Bill. Jim tells him that Bill is sick and isn't able to see anyone. The blind man grabs his arm and says he will break it if he doesn't tell him where the captain is. Jim gets very scared and leads him to Bill's room. The blind man gives Bill a piece of paper with a dot on it and on the back it says: "You have six hours until we return". Bill tells Jim the pirates were coming to the Inn in six hours and, if he didn't live long enough that he should take the key and open up his treasure chest and take the map. Jim doesn't understand what Bill is talking about and, when he turns around, Bill drops dead on the floor with a bottle of rum in his hand.
This is just a small part of the excellent book. As you can see, this book is an amazing novel of adventure. It is much better than other books I have read, because it contains good plots, moral lessons and exciting action scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 1999
How can you even review the ultimate pirate book of all time? I read it when I was 9 and loved it. I read it again when I was 34 and loved it again! (Actually, I read it several times between, as well.) Long John Silver is arguably one of the most Macchiavellian characters you will ever find between the covers of a book. (I'm mainly reviewing it to raise the average rating. Anyone who thinks this book is boring has to have a screw loose!) From the arrival of the mysterious Billy Bones, to the attack on the inn, to the sea voyage, to the mutiny, to the battle for the island, to the treasure hunt, even to the final fate of John Silver, this book is a stunning rollercoaster of suspense and adventure! I'd give it ten stars if I could.
Here's a bit of information you other readers might enjoy: the meaning of the pirates' song--
Fifteen men on a dead man's chest Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum!
The real-life pirate, Edward Teach (Blackbeard the Pirate) once marooned 15 of his men on a small island named Dead Man's Chest. He put them ashore with no weapons, equipment or supplies--just a bottle of rum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2000
I have never been very interested in pirates or plunder or the skull and crossbones flag until I read this book. Stevenson's "Treasure Island" is remarkably well written, containing fascinating bits of foreshadowing, a unique and captivating plot, and undying characters that will burn into your mind indefinitely. My personal favourite character is Long John Silver, who throughout the novel seems almost "two-faced". His one side is well mannered, charming and witty, while his other face is ruthless, sly and money-driven. However, he has been quite a fictional figure not only for my self but also for the world. In Part One, "The Old Buccaneer", the strange new pirate pays Jim Hawkins a gold piece daily "to watch out for a one-legged man hobbling down the street." The ending is perfectly crafted by Stevenson; it closes with Jim Hawkins describing his predictions for the destinies of the pirates he has travelled with. On the other hand, Jim Hawkins made the plotline a little too obvious at times. In one spot especially, he says that the apple barrel would in time save them all. In the end, it's an exceptional piece of work, but the author did make some unforgivable mistakes by making the plot too obvious so soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse