Trio Sonatas has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 27.77
& FREE Shipping. Details
Sold by:
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Trio Sonatas

Price: CDN$ 29.20 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Sold by Fulfillment Express CA and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 13.88 1 used from CDN$ 21.25

Product Details

  • Performer: Parnassi Musici
  • Composer: Krieger Johann Philipp
  • Audio CD (June 26 2007)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cpo
  • ASIN: B000Q7ZKJS
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #99,881 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9ddf3d68) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9de2f900) out of 5 stars Baroque delights April 28 2013
By Stephen Midgley - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The history of German baroque music is inevitably dominated by the towering figures of Schütz, Buxtehude, Bach and Handel; and yet, throughout the period, there was much fine, rewarding and delightful music being produced by their colleagues and contemporaries, and Johann Philipp Krieger is an excellent example. This Nuremberg composer was a contemporary of Corelli, and in many ways his instrumental music is related in style. These twelve Trio Sonatas approximating to the 'sonata da chiesa' format are attractive, beautifully crafted and tuneful pieces, each one consisting of several sections with frequent changes of pace and mood within each work but resulting in a satisfying, finely structured unity.

The musicians of Parnassi musici, playing on period instruments, are excellent: Margaret MacDuffie and Matthias Fischer (violins), Matthias Müller (viola da gamba), Hubert Hoffmann (archlute) and Helene Lerch at the organ or harpsichord. They play the music with spirit, style and feeling and altogether do a beautiful job. I especially enjoyed the fine, Corellian virtuoso violin passages in the Sonata Decima (track 10), and the extremely attractive Sonata Terza (3) ending in a delightful Ciacconetta; this latter work also appears on another Krieger disc which I'll come back to in a moment. But in truth all of these sonatas are lovely, with sprightly contrapuntal allegros, graceful adagios over a walking bass, and fine catchy melodies everywhere.

Undoubtedly J. P. Krieger was, by the standards of the 'big four' baroque figures mentioned above, a minor master, but his music is so graceful, so beautifully crafted, and so finely performed here, that it fully justifies a 5-star verdict. If you want to explore his music further, the secular vocal music is also well worth investigating; my favourite among the discs I know so far is a glorious pasticcio of opera extracts, Johann Philipp Krieger-Lieben Und Geliebet Werden, which also includes a few instrumental pieces including the Sonata Terza mentioned above. But its highlight, for me, is a stunning soprano rendition of the exquisitely sad aria 'Einsamkeit, du Qual der Hertzen' (solitude, you tormentor of hearts); it's about a century ahead of its time, sounding as if it belongs in the Romantic period or, at the very least, the Sturm und Drang; no wonder Andreas Scholl includes it in a fine baroque recital disc Andreas Scholl: German Baroque Songs. One way or another, baroque enthusiasts shouldn't live without it!
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9de2f984) out of 5 stars Magic Moments of Barock July 1 2009
By Dr. BL Eriksson - Published on
Format: Audio CD
For any person who wishes to hear authentic Barock by a not run of the mill Barock composer this is the right record to purchase. Supurb performance on a particularly wonderful Viola da Gamba and a very bright harpsichord this is music at its most inventive and expressive. Can recommend this record for the Barock conasieur but not for someone wanting some music in the background.
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9de31c90) out of 5 stars Great trio sonatas Aug. 16 2007
By HSIEH CHENG CHUNG - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I like the baroque music, and trio sonata preferred. I think krieger's music shown in this disc had succeed different music styles together, includes germany, italy and frensh, merge into mature instrumental music. althought he was unpopular but as a premier of bach period, we could find a growing track between them. It's worth purchasing to listen again and adain.