Tutti!: Orchestral Sample... has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 25.34
& FREE Shipping. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tutti!: Orchestral Sampler [Hybrid SACD] Hybrid SACD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 25.34 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
24 new from CDN$ 16.68 2 used from CDN$ 16.00

Product Details

  • Performer: Various
  • Composer: Various
  • Audio CD (Oct. 14 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Reference Recordings
  • ASIN: B001CR686A
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #63,073 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The Snow Maiden (Snegurochka) (i), opera ('springtime tale') in 4 acts with a prologue: Dance of the Tumblers
2. Suite Symphonique, for orchestra, L. 2/20: Intermezzo e Humoreske
3. Rocky Point Holiday, for wind symphony
4. L'oiseau de feu (The Firebird), concert suite for orchestra No. 2: Berceuse
5. L'oiseau de feu (The Firebird), concert suite for orchestra No. 2: Finale
6. Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major ('Elvira Madigan') K. 467: Andante
7. Symphony No. 1 in C major: 3. Allegretto con grazia
8. Symphony No. 9 in D minor, WAB 109: Scherzo
9. Concerto for violin, 2 oboes, 2 horns & bassoon, strings & continuo in F major, RV 569: Allegro
10. The Padstow Lifeboat, march for orchestra, Op. 94
11. Escales (Ports of Call), suite for orchestra: Animé
12. Die Tageszeiten, for male chorus & orchestra, Op. 76 (TrV 256): Der Morgen
13. The Makropulos Case (Vec Makropulos), opera, JW 1/10: Act 2. Symphonic Synthesis
14. Presque Isle Suite: E.C.F.
15. Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s vïstavski), for orchestra, orchestrated by Ravel: The Hut of Baba Yaga
16. Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s vïstavski), for orchestra, orchestrated by Ravel: The Great Gate at Kiev

Product Description

Tutti!: Orchestral Sampler [Hybrid SACD]

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Just love it but have to get SACD, use that to test your system, all the micro dynamic, separation, detail.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa205b360) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
HASH(0xa4baf0f0) out of 5 stars Let There Be Drums, Part 2 Aug. 9 2013
By S. Baird - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
With apologies to Sandy Nelson who had an album back in the early 1960s entitled, "Let There Be Drums," I couldn't help but think about that title while I was re-listening to this reissue of Tutti, which was, as another reviewer has noted, originally released in 1998. More on the drums later.

For those who own that original release, please note that there is no advantage whatsoever to purchasing this re-release inasmuch as the goal would be to hear the recording in the higher resolution Direct Stream Digital/SACD, and in this instance, there can be no improvement in sound quality appreciated since Reference Recordings processed this disk in the far lower level of definition known as PCM (pulse code modulation) that is intended for your garden variety compact disk. To be sure, the program selected for the disk was chosen because all of them include grossly exaggerated drum whacks intended to make audiophiles who have no idea what classical music really sounds like to feel really good about how their expensive audio systems can shake the walls of their homes. This Tutti can do quite well -- especially the excerpt from Stravinsky's Firebird which is so powerful that I fear it may catapult my woofers right out of my speakers.

In all, I'd recommend this disk to those who want to hear what sort of extreme things your audio system can do. On the other hand, if you are looking for a set of quality performances of these classical pieces, I would suggest you look elsewhere. Reference Recordings has already intimated that they do not wish to support SACD, and if this is the best they can do, then that may best for classical music lovers who enjoy their SACD players.
HASH(0x9e7ca7e0) out of 5 stars Reference Recordings, need I say more!!! March 25 2014
By LiteJazz - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Anything done by Reference Recordings is simply as good as it gets. The only other label I enjoyed more was Telarc, but now Telarc is gone, at least the Robert Woods Telarc. If Tam Henderson recorded much more jazz, and blues, he would see his sales triple, because when it comes to recording talent, there are absolutely NONE better, 5 stars+
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e7cabac) out of 5 stars Reincarnation of TUTTI! Orchestral Sampler from 1998. Nov. 11 2011
By JimmyJoe - Published on Amazon.com
This is the SACD Hybrid version of Reference Recordings' TUTTI! Orchestral Sampler HDCD released in 1998.
Here is the link:
Tutti!, Orchestral Sampler

The track listing is exactly the same.

I have not listen to this new one yet, so I am not sure what differences in sound quality they have; the old edition was mastered in HDCD (for enhanced CD) mode, and this new one was mastered in DSD (for SACD Hybrid) mode.

Unless this new edition has a capability of Surround Sounds, then it would be very interesting to have.