Uhl a.: Wer Einsam Ist De... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Uhl a.: Wer Einsam Ist Der H

Price: CDN$ 20.97 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
10 new from CDN$ 12.68 1 used from CDN$ 12.81
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Performer: Jorg | Fontana, Gabriele | Marik, An Cologne West German Radio Chorus | Cologne West German Radio Orchestra | Durmuller
  • Composer: Uhl Alfred
  • Audio CD (April 15 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cap
  • ASIN: B001UUNB32
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid performances of exciting music Oct. 5 2013
By G.D. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Alfred Uhl (1909-1992) was an Austrian composer, violist, teacher and conductor who seems to have enjoyed a bit of success in his lifetime - clarinetists probably still remember him for his studies, but his representation in the catalogues of recorded music is otherwise scarce. As a composer Uhl drew on a variety of sources, from traditional tonal idioms and neo-classicism to serialism, but - though I must admit that I am not particularly familiar with his oeuvre - seems to have had a penchant for making the music accessible, humorous and witty yet sophisticated and inventive at the same time.

His cantata "Wer einsam ist, der hat es gut" for soloists, chorus and orchestra after poems by Busch, Morgenstern and Ringelnatz is certainly accessible and witty and inventive. Apparently it was composed (in 1960) as a light-hearted counterpart to his, it seems, highly successful oratorio Gilgamesh, and though I suppose it might be rather optimistic to hope for a recording of the latter, the present disc certainly makes one interested in exploring Uhl's output further. While not particularly original, the work at hand is utterly charming, catchy and inventive - like a slightly more academic (though not less inventive) version of Weill (though the association might, I admit, be a result of lack of familiarity with the tradition Uhl belongs to).

In any case, the cantata consists of a series of entertaining, sometimes exhilarating and sometimes moving, but always catchy, miniatures with tunes and rhythms often carefully crafted using the natural rhythm and pitch of the language of the poems. Despite the humorous, light nature of the various movements the cantata as a whole does not lack a deeper level either, and the experience as a whole is actually rather enriching. The performances are superb, with plenty of life, wit and spirit from soloists, chorus and orchestral players; the sound is clear and sharp and vivid, and the booklet notes informative. In short, I can heartily recommend this release and look forward to hearing more of Uhl's music.

Look for similar items by category