V13 In The Fishtank has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by wobcanada
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *** Please check Region before ordering *** - This item is in excellent condition and will work flawlessly. The case may show limited signs of wear, as may any inserts.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V13 In The Fishtank

Price: CDN$ 14.45 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 10.62 3 used from CDN$ 9.03

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 15 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: In the Fishtank
  • ASIN: B000026IA8
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. 5 Superstar
2. Go Easy on the Fun Fund
3. 1+1=11
4. Birthday Superboy

Product Description

Solex (MATADOR) performed at the multi-media festival Crossing Border with the Maarten Altena Ensemble , famous for their contemporary music. Solex created a song out of several MAE clasics while Maarten Altena rearranged a coupla Solex Tunes

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa0071ed0) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ee61fa8) out of 5 stars Good Solex Better Than Most People's Greatest! July 7 2005
By Dan Mohr - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This EP is an experimental performance between Elisabeth Esselink (aka Solex) and the large jazz group Maarten Altena Ensemble. It is not comprised of pop material but rather focuses on the odd, dissonant sounds and off-kilter time signatures of Esselink's further-out-there material. However, the entire EP is worth the price for the combo's covering of the utterly winning pop ditty "Birthday Superboy" (aka "Chris The Birthday Boy" from Solex's Pick Up LP for Matador); the arrangement here is even prettier, livelier and more weirdly touching than the original album version, and is definitely among the most enjoyable track recordings Solex has ever done. (Imagine a big-band toe-tapper written for the Muppet Show and you're almost there.) When Solex is at her best, she delivers the finest qualities of Bjork's pop music without the affectation or pretense, just sheer giddy musical charm and infectiousness.
HASH(0x9eedd984) out of 5 stars Amazing... for the Solex fan. Feb. 27 2006
By hypercritic - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is a very interesting album, not just because we get to hear early/experimental versions of Solex songs, but because they all have an acoustic sound. Hearing Solex sing versions of her songs that she doesn't mix electronically is almost shocking, and the album can be very fun at times--it's almost a shame it's over so soon. Problem is, this isn't accessible to newbies. It's doubtful if non-fans would even find the album tolerable. Newbies should definitely stick to "Solex Vs the Hitmeister" and "Pick Up."