CDN$ 18.69 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by TUNESUS

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 40.50
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: langton_distribution
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vagn Holmboe: Complete Chamber Concertos Vol.

Price: CDN$ 18.69
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by TUNESUS.
4 new from CDN$ 18.69

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 17 1997)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Mpd
  • ASIN: B00000467U
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #293,502 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Chm Con No.4, Op.30 for pno trio & chm orch: Allegro non troppo, ma con brio
2. Chm Con No.4, Op.30 for pno trio & chm orch: Andante un poco tranquillo
3. Chm Con No.4, Op.30 for pno trio & chm orch: Allegro decido
4. Chm Con No.5, Op.31: Allegro molto e con brio
5. Chm Con No.5, Op.31: Andante con moto
6. Chm Con No.5, Op.31: Vivace
7. Chm Con No.6, Op.33: Andante-Allegro con brio
8. Chm Con No.6, Op.33: Andante tranquillo
9. Chm Con No.6, Op.33: Allegro molto

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9e8ec8d0) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
HASH(0x9c4b984c) out of 5 stars Some of Holmboe's most approachable music. Dec 26 2015
By Trevor Mobbs - Published on
Format: Audio CD
These three concertos were written in quick succession in 1942/3 when Holmboe was in his early 30s (between his 4th and 5th symphonies). They come from a period when Holmboe's music was infused with a spirit of folk music, but with an extra degree of sophistication.

All three of the works follow the same basic pattern, with the central slow movement providing the emotional heart of the work. But with each having a slightly different mood they form excellent companions for each other. Concerto No.4 (for piano trio) is generally bright and crisp, whereas Concerto No.5 (for viola) is darker and bleaker. Concerto No.6 (for violin) sits somewhere in the middle, with mercurial flashes from the soloist.

Together they form a fine introduction to this composer's music, and to date they are only available on this recording from 1996 - not state of the art perhaps, but perfectly capable of communicating the music. And one feels the performers understand how to bring out the best qualities of Holmboe's music, his sense of momentum and flow.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e65e60c) out of 5 stars From a lovely triple concerto to string concertos that aptly depict the wartime in which they were written Dec 18 2014
By Christopher Culver - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The twelve pieces for various solo instruments and chamber orchestra, bearing the simple titles Concerto No. 1-12, that Vagn Holmboe wrote between 1939 and 1950 are key works in the Danish composer's development, consolidating a neoclassical style with the slighest of influences from other modernist trends. The inspiration of Sibelius and the "metamorphosis" technique are not yet in evidence, but Holmboe had already established a careful balance in his music and a very distinctive approach to orchestration.

This disc from 1996 was the second volume in Dacapo's complete cycle of these concertos. Hannu Koivula leads the Danish Radio Concert Orchestra with soloists Anne Øland (piano), Mikkel Futtrup (violin), Tim Fredriksen (viola) and Niels Ullner (cello).

The Concerto No. 4 op. 30 (1942-45) is a triple concerto, scored for piano trio and chamber orchestra. Though only 16 minutes long, this is a rich work. On one hand there is a flowing quality that makes me draw comparisons with the Baroque and Bach's own famous triple concerto. On the other hand, it occasionally rises to the grandeur of Holmboe's symphonies. The piece is cast in three movements "Allegro non troppo, ma con brio", "Andante un poco tranquillo" and "Allegro decido", a fast-slow-fast form that would continue through the other works on this disc.

The viola is the solo instrument of the Concerto No. 5. op. 31 (1943), and the orchestration consists of double winds (flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet and horn), strings and timpani. The first movement is in straightforward neo-classical chugging along. The most distinctive movement, however, is the long central one. Appropriate for the darkest days of World War II, the overall effect is of desolation, and the timpani and low strings lend it a gloomy martial quality. It's one of the most frightening spectacles in all Holmboe's music, and surprising to hear from a composer known for avoiding emotional extremes. The third movement doesn't bring us back to entirely sunnier territory, but there is a sense of resoluteness against the odds. The violist plays some fine folk-inflected material.

The Concerto No. 6 op. 33 (1943) has exactly the same scoring as the sixth, except that its solo instrument is a violin.The higher range of the violin makes the opening movement of the work, marked "Andante -- Allegro con brio", initially seem luminous after the viola piece. However, the second movement "Andante tranquillo" is a slow and tragic passacaglia, where gradually grows in orchestration, though its rooting in strings along give it an austere feel. The final movement "Allegro molto" opens with a solo passage inspired by the Nordic fiddling tradition and is soon joined by the entire orchestra in all its colourful timbres, in dance rhythms. The mood is darkened by a sorrowful interlude midway through the piece, whose pensive nature persists, but everything comes together for a fine ending.

Dacapo wasn't the only label to take on Holmboe's chamber concertos. BIS also recorded several of them with the Aalborg Symphony Orchestra conducted by Owain Arwel Hughes (1, 2, 3), though none of these three. After hearing Holmboe in BIS's spaciousness, Dacapo's merely average sound can be a little disappointing. The standard of these three pieces is very high, however, and anyone interested in Holmboe's music should get this.