CDN$ 34.73 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by moviemars-canada

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 36.58
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: KELINDO²
Add to Cart
CDN$ 67.93
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Add to Cart
CDN$ 68.55
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: langton_distribution
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Various Wks For Solo Pno

Price: CDN$ 34.73
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by moviemars-canada.
10 new from CDN$ 34.73

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 1 2010)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B0007RO56G
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #310,150 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Ballade No.2 In B Minor - Earl Wild
2. Tarantelle Di Bravura - Earl Wild
3. Sonetto Del Petrarca No.104 - Earl Wild
4. Sonetto Del Petrarca No.123 - Earl Wild
5. Valse Oubliee No.1 - Earl Wild
6. La Campanella - Earl Wild
7. Feux Follets - Earl Wild
8. Ricordanza - Earl Wild
9. Paysage - David Wilde
10. La Chasse - David Wilde
See all 12 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Rhapsodie Espagnole - David Wilde
2. Isoldes Liebestod - David Wilde
3. Reminiscences De Norma - David Wilde
4. Hexameron - Sylvia Kersenbaum
5. Valse Infernale - Sylvia Kersenbaum
6. Polonaise - Sylvia Kersenbaum

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa19c61e0) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa19bc2e8) out of 5 stars Add Wilde to Wild Aug. 11 2007
By Romanticist - Published on
Verified Purchase
This is considerably more than simply a reissue of recordings by the magnificent Earl Wild. Most Lisztians will already know at least the stellar reputation of David Wilde, winner of the 1961 Liszt-Bartok International Competition and ever since acclaimed as one of the truly great--however less-known--exponents of Liszt's music. (He is still active, now enjoying an award-winning Indian summer on the audiophile Delphian label). Two of his very best recordings of Liszt are here: the "Norma" paraphrase and the Spanish Rhapsody. Ever since their EMI release in 1969, these recordings have held near-legendary status. They simply must be heard to be believed, and the engineering by no less than Christopher Bishop (then the soon to be leader of EMI) allows the full range of Wilde's sound to be fully appreciated, from Horowitz-like barnstorming (what a left hand!) to the most delicate right-hand filigree. David Wilde's EMI "Norma" has for decades been acclaimed as one of the greatest Liszt performances ever, and when you hear this you'll know why. Even so, one must not slight the wonders in his performance of the Spanish Rhapsody, a more accomplished work. It has a broader emotional range, and Wilde's playing is marked by an incredible fusion of great chordal riches with stupendous forward propulsion. Both of those recordings are summits of the "Golden Age of Romanticism" style, but make no mistake--in Wilde's hands these works emerge as great works rather than mere showpieces. The shorter pieces, particularly "Isolde's Liebestod" are perfect balances for this marvelous record. They show the lighter, gossamer-like qualities of a super-virtuoso (things many a virtuoso can't do), wonderful to hear next to such overwhelming weight. Having Earl Wild and David Wilde on one set is too good to be true, especially at bargain price. With respect to the other pianist on this compilation, Sylvia Kersenbaum, given her recordings here I'm sorry that I don't know anything else of her playing. Although she doesn't scale the heights or plumb the depths that her disc-mates here do, her performances certainly hold to a high standard, and it is a credit to her that no one could say that she doesn't hold the place of a fine addition to round out a spell-binding set.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa19bd030) out of 5 stars Excellent Reissue Aug. 20 2005
By Terry C. Kildal - Published on
This is a reissue of Earl Wild that was only available before on cassette under the Quintessence label. His playing is impeccable. The 2nd Ballad is the best ever recorded. His amazing technical and musical gifts are on display, recording quality good. A must have for the Liszt collector.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa19bd114) out of 5 stars Five Stars July 14 2015
By Linda Perron - Published on
Verified Purchase