Violin Concerto Chaconne has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Concerto Chaconne

Price: CDN$ 15.20 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 8.60 7 used from CDN$ 7.87
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Performer: Royal Po, Slatkin Hanslip
  • Composer: Adams Corigliano
  • Audio CD (Sept. 26 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nam
  • ASIN: B000H4VZC6
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #128,008 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Chaconne
2. Romanian Rhapsody No.1
3. Tristan And Isolde Fantasia - Charles Owen
4. I. Quarter Note 78
5. II. Chaconne: Body Through Which The Dream Flows
6. III. Toccare

Product Description

The works on this disc offer a broad survey of American violin music. John Corigliano's Chaconne is a set of variations based on his music for the 1998 film The Red Violin, while George Enescu's Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 is a nineteeth-century fantasia on a

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3.9 out of 5 stars 7 reviews
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag Oct. 12 2006
By J Scott Morrison - Published on
Format: Audio CD
There must be something wrong with my ears. I have heard John Adams's wildly popular Violin Concerto numerous times, and it has already been recorded at least three other times. But I hear little in it that appeals to me; it does not touch me at all emotionally. I can admire the skill and the complexity of the writing, but for me it doesn't really add up to much. That said, Chloë Hanslip does a bang-up job of playing it and if you already know this piece and want a recording of it you could certainly do worse, particularly when you consider its budget price. Hanslip's playing may not be quite as intense as that of Gidon Kremer on the first recording of the work or that of Robert McDuffie on Telarc, but it comes a close second. Her tone is a bit more slender but also perhaps more lyrical than that of the other-mentioned violinists.

The more positive parts of this CD for me are the accompanying pieces. I had not heard any of John Corigliano's music for the movie 'The Red Violin' but know it was quite successful and that Joshua Bell's recording of the music from the movie was a best-seller. The present work, the 'Chaconne from The Red Violin', a sixteen-minute confection based on a recurring melody from the movie, is altogether more compelling for me and is played beautifully here.

The other two pieces on the CD are from the pen of the great movie composer, Franz Waxman. First is his arrangement for violin and orchestra of Enescu's Romanian Rhapsody No. 1. It is actually primarily music from the orchestral original's fast middle section, and Hanslip plays the fireworks with requisite heat and sparkle. Waxman's 'Tristan and Isolde Fantasia' is from the 1940s movie 'Humoresque' (a Jean Negulesco soap opera about a violinist, played by John Garfield, pursued by a rich woman, Joan Crawford). It is for violin and orchestra (with a prominent piano obbligato part played expertly here by Charles Owen) and is essentially a paraphrase of the love music from Wagner's opera. It accompanies the climax of the film and carries much of the emotional freight of that scene. Hanslip and the Royal Philharmonic under Leonard Slatkin do it proud.

My recommendation, then, is that if you already know you are fond of the Adams Violin Concerto and don't have a recording of it, this might be for you. If you are curious about the Adams but aren't familiar with it, its budget price might appeal, although this performance is not quite as effective as those by Kremer and McDuffie. I can recommend the CD for the other, briefer pieces (they do add up to about 30 minutes of music, though). One small caveat: on my system the orchestral sound seemed a bit recessed with the violin in a bright spotlight.

Scott Morrison
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a deal! Lovely performance of J. Adams' Violin Concerto, but with a weird coupling July 2 2011
By dysfunctional-harmony - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Right to the point: Chloë Hanslip gives Gidon Kremer a good run for his craggy-tone money in this astounding recording of John Adams' Violin Concerto. The sprawling lyricism of the first movement, the odd sentiment of the second, and the sheer head-banging excitement of the third are all perfectly captured by the young Miss Hanslip in this wondrous disc. American conductor Leonard Slatkin leads the Royal Philharmonic in absolutely perfect harmony with Hanslip. Honestly, the couplings are a trifle. They don't really add much to this (already amazing) disc. I honestly wish they had just paired it with the entire Red Violin Concerto, but that may have been too much to fit on the disc. But at Naxos' price, the added stuff is hardly unaffordable. My only I would say that they could have mixed in the orchestra a little louder (and the violin a little softer!) in the engineering studio. Just saying. But otherwise, this is required listening for any fan of John Adams. Highly recommended.
5.0 out of 5 stars Solo/orchestra balance sounds fine to me July 29 2015
By Paul H. Goldstein - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I'm writing briefly, primarily to counter several reviewers who have said that this recording unduly favors the violin soloist. On my system and to my ears, this is simply not the case. In fact, I find this to be a superb recording in every way, including the important factor of solo/orchestra balance. In addition, both of the main works seem like major additions to the American violin concerto repertoire, and they are played extremely well here.
5.0 out of 5 stars I have Adams/Glass. Now I have Adams/Corigliano. Someone ... Dec 17 2015
By Alfredo R. Villanueva - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have Adams/Glass. Now I have Adams/Corigliano. Someone knows these three American geniuses belong together! Impeccable recordings.
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, bad editing Feb. 20 2008
By A. Meronek - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I was listening to this recording and thinking, "boy Chloe is really taring up that violin part!" And she did. But these pieces are not violin solos with unimportant accompaniment; they are solos with full orchestra. When the solo violin sounds equally as loud as a forte full brass section plus percussion, I know that the sound enginners seriously altered the recording.