Violin Concerto has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Concerto Hybrid SACD

Price: CDN$ 21.14 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 13.76 1 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Performer: Wallin; Muenchner Rundfunkorchester; Schirmer
  • Composer: Reger Max
  • Audio CD (Oct. 30 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Cpo
  • ASIN: B008U0FJPI
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #139,850 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Even though Max Reger's great Violin Concerto can be found on a number of other CD recordings, we did not want to withhold from you the opportunity to hear the interpretation by our Swedish violinist Ulf Wallin, who studied in Stockholm and Vienna. On cpo he has performed solo and chamber music with equal devotion, and his many recordings have met with major recognition and attention in the international media.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa2a145b8) out of 5 stars 1 review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2a16918) out of 5 stars A Great Romantic Violin Concerto Dec 19 2012
By John Proffitt - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The German composer Max Reger wrote a lot of music during his foreshortened life, some of it both difficult to perform and difficult to appreciate on first hearing. This is not one of the "difficult to appreciate" works; rather, in his Violin Concerto Reger has penned a genuine masterpiece very much in conscious tribute to the Brahms Violin Concerto. Lush harmonies and mellow themes predominate, very much in the style of other "late" orchestral works from this composer, such as his "Four Tone-Poems After Arnold Böcklin" and the Romantic Suite.

There are several other excellent recordings of this Concerto, the best of which is the Berlin Classics disc with Herbert Blomstedt and the Staatskapelle Dresden, with its concertmaster, Manfred Scherzer, as soloist. I had thought it would be unlikely to be surpassed, but this new CPO surround-sound SACD does exactly that. Violinist Ulf Schirmer, who has been recording the complete violin sonatas of Reger for CPO, is joined by the Munich Radio Symphony for a performance that is ever bit as wonderful as the Berlin Classics disc. The factor that tips the choice in CPO's favor is its superb 5-channel surround sound: the listener is enveloped -- immersed -- in Reger's lush score in a manner that really clarifies the various strands of his dense orchestral texture. Schirmer conquers the difficult violin part with admirable aplomb. Highly recommended!

Look for similar items by category