Violin Concerto / Symphon... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Concerto / Symphony No 9 [Blu-ray] [Import]

Price: CDN$ 47.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 31.87 4 used from CDN$ 54.01

Today Only: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series is $25
Deal of the Day: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series is at a one day special price. Offer valid on July 25, 2016, applies only to purchases of products sold by, and does not apply to products sold by third-party merchants and other sellers through the site. Learn more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Format: Classical, NTSC, Import
  • Language: German
  • Subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • MPAA Rating: UNRATED
  • Studio: Euroarts
  • Release Date: April 26 2011
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • ASIN: B004KDO2G6
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Quick Shipping !!! New And Sealed !!! This Disc WILL NOT play on standard US DVD player. A multi-region PAL/NTSC DVD player is request to view it in USA/Canada. Please Review Description.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa0599138) out of 5 stars 8 reviews
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa657f1bc) out of 5 stars Not Blue Ray Source June 2 2011
By Kenneth J. Hakken - Published on
Verified Purchase
I purchased this Blue Ray partly on the existing review that gave it 5 stars. Artistically he is right. It is and amazing performence. The problem is that the source video is not done to todays standards. This concert was recorded in 2002. The blue ray seems to be a conversion from a lower definintion recording. Also the audio is not up to speed when compared to more recent recordings. It just isn't up to the quality of the following Blue Ray Concerts.

1. Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2, Achucarro, London Symphony
2. Beethoven Piano Concertos, Barenboim, Staatskapelle Berlin
3. Herbert von Karajan Memorial Concert, Ozawa, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Berliner Philharmoniker

I would definately recommend this recording. It is an amazing performance.

However, I will only give it 4 stars due to the less than superior video and audio quality.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa07fe378) out of 5 stars A superb concert with early, but not the earliest, genuine HD source recording Aug. 14 2012
By I. Giles - Published on
We all get used to fine music making from this team - but this is one of the best. This was the final concert that Abbado gave with this orchestra as the chief conductor and the affection that the orchestra and Abbado shared with each other is quite evident throughout and the orchestra clearly rise to this very special occasion. The venue for this concert was Palermo in Italy so to some extent Abbado is playing to the home crowd and they love it with copious flowers raining down from the boxes and balconies at the end.

The Brahms violin concerto with Gil Shaham has come to be regarded as outstanding in a crowded market and is well able to be compared favourably with the best. A good forward momentum is maintained without any feeling of undue hurry. The playing of Shaham and the orchestra is fully sensitive to every nuance but this is done without undue expressive heaviness.

The Dvorak has the tremendous drive and spontaneity that you can get at some live concerts. As with the Brahms, there is a good forward momentum maintained but combined with sensitive playing from the orchestra and the soloists within the orchestra. This is a very exciting `live' experience.

The Verdi Overture encore maintains this excitement and this becomes to be a thrilling end to a particularly memorable event.

The whole concert is in good sound and with sympathetic camera work. The recording was made in 2002 and with genuine HD recording equipment. The producer, Paul Smaczny, had started using HD recording equipment since about 2000 and this results in crisp imaging and wide ranging sound presented in DTS 5.1 and stereo. (Another example of genuine HD recording and dating from 2000 is the Wagner Ring as conceived and conducted by Maazel).

This recording has achieved considerable recognition as a special event over the intervening years. The DVD was a notable success but the Blu-ray edition adds significantly to that. Both options provide a deeply satisfying musical experience which should give purchasers equivalent pleasure. It seems totally reasonable to recommend this disc as being worth a full 5 stars therefore in either format.
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa06c3660) out of 5 stars Abbado's last performance with the Berlin orchestra. Sept. 23 2011
By Ultrarunner - Published on
Verified Purchase
The Berlin Phil is conducted by Italian Abbado in his last performance with them,at the opera house, Teatro Massimo in Palermo. The Egmont overture opens the concert,with speedy tempi. Gil Shaham plays the Brahms violin concerto with passion and at one with Abbado.However, Itzhak Perlman plays with feeling in the same concerto, conducted by Barenboim in a DVD. Being friends they have a great understanding with each other. There is nothing to choose between Perlman and Shaham.Except the sound is better in this blu ray. The symphony no 9, New world by Dvorak, will not disappoint. As an encore Abbado plays the Verdi overture Les Vepres Siciliennes. The orchestra plays with feeling in this bluray.
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
By Lance Friedel - Published on
This is the best classical music video I have ever seen. It was one of those rare occasions where everything went right. These are the finest performances of these great and very familiar works that I've ever heard. Gil Shaham as absolutely amazing in the violin concerto, and Abbado and the orchestra are on top form throughout. The video direction is perfect, the picture is crystal-clear, and, most importantly, the sound quality is the best I've ever heard on a video recording. (Note: the brief travelogue about Palermo, included on the earlier 2005 DVD, is not included here.) This Blu-ray disc is a superb example of what the classical concert experience is all about. Bravo!
HASH(0xa3b62e78) out of 5 stars violinist Gil Shaham excellent and, in my opinion June 18 2015
By Marcelo - Published on
Verified Purchase
From the elegant opera house Teatro Massimo of Palermo, Sicily, 2002 concert features the world-renowned Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, violinist Gil Shaham excellent and, in my opinion, one of the best dirctores of the world: Claudio Abbado in a performance of Johannes Brahms' Violin Concerto in D, Op. 77.

Also on the concert one of the most beloved works in the symphonic repertoire, Antonin Dvorak Symphony No. 9, "From the New World" and the dramatic overture to Giuseppe Verdi, Sicilian Vespers.

The image, cameras, sound and theater environment make this Blu-ray shed tears of emotion.
Proof of this is that at the end of the concert, a huge amount of flowers, applause and "bravos" make it look like you were there.

Surely one of the most amazing concert ever filmed.

I recommend Amazon customers that cant be deprived of your record library this magnificent production.
It is a tribute to Claudio, who died at 80 years old.
And remember: "He defined this music as a matter of love.