V 1: Violin Sonatas: Book... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V 1: Violin Sonatas: Book 1 -

Price: CDN$ 17.42 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
17 new from CDN$ 8.35 1 used from CDN$ 13.08

Frequently Bought Together

  • V 1: Violin Sonatas: Book 1 -
  • +
  • Violin Sonatas Book 1 Nos. 5
  • +
  • Violin Sonatas; Book 1: Nos. 9
Total price: CDN$ 50.69
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Performer: Butterfield; Mcgillivray; Cummings
  • Composer: Leclair Jean-Marie
  • Audio CD (Aug. 25 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B002ED6VFE
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #82,288 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

With his four books of Sonatas, Jean-Marie Leclair established himself as the founder of the French School of violin playing, whose elegance he enlivened with the lyricism of the Italian baroque master, Corelli. The first four from Leclair' first book

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xb3697af8) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb2e371a4) out of 5 stars Beautiful playing of very good music March 18 2011
By Sid Nuncius - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
All three volumes of this series of Leclair's first book of Violin Sonatas are excellent. Naxos somehow manage these days to produce a lot of really top-quality discs at bargain prices, and these are prime examples.

Leclair - a younger contemporary of Bach - was a virtuoso violinist who also composed a significant body of work for the instrument. He is said to have fused French elegance with the Italian vigour and lyricism of Corelli. Well, perhaps he did, but I think what is presented here is a good deal more than that. These pieces have real variety, invention and charm as well as elegance and lyricism. There are movements throughout the sonatas, for example, which sound like rustic dances and are terrifically appealing. I have owned and enjoyed for many years some scratchy old LPs of Leclair's Violin Concerti and I am glad to see his music becoming more widely available - it deserves to be much better known, I think.

The performances here are very good indeed. These three very fine and experienced musicians play together very well and with evident enjoyment of both the music and of each other which in turn produces a terrifically enjoyable experience for the listener. I get great pleasure from these recordings. I regularly pop one of these CDs into the player to listen to a sonata and am always glad I did.

The recorded sound is excellent and the notes pretty good. I would strongly recommend these discs - you've very little to lose by trying one at this price, and I'll bet that once you've listened to it you'll want the other two.
HASH(0xb31db0d8) out of 5 stars These are gorgeous Oct. 3 2013
By monsieurw1 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I bought this recording for a music-loving aunt whose maiden name was Leclair. We don't know if she's related, but we've certainly enjoyed the expressive range of Leclair's music, and the clear, sweet string playing on this recording.