Violin Sonatas has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by wobcanada
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *** Please check Region before ordering *** - This item is in excellent condition and will work flawlessly. The case may show limited signs of wear, as may any inserts.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Sonatas

Price: CDN$ 15.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 6.77 5 used from CDN$ 6.62

Product Details

  • Composer: Brahms
  • Audio CD (April 16 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0000631AW
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #337,219 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Vivace Ma Non Troppo
2. Adagio
3. Allegro Molto Moderato
4. Allegro Amabile
5. Andante Tranquillo - Vivace - Andante
6. Allegretto Grazioso (Quasi Andante)
7. Allegro
8. Adagio
9. Un Poco Presto E Con Sentimento
10. Presto Agitato

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa4013510) out of 5 stars 8 reviews
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa41d2aa4) out of 5 stars Trio of great violin sonatas Sept. 7 2005
By HB - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
While Brahms wrote only three violin sonatas, they are a great trio of works. The first is the most intense, the second the most lyrical and the last one the most inspired with a slow movement that is arguably Brahms most beautiful melody. The two famous musicians here give us radiant performances. At almost 10 bucks less than a full-priced version of this music, this CD represents great value.
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa41d2af8) out of 5 stars A very musical, much overlooked Russian violinist Jan. 15 2008
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Ilya Kaler was unknown to me until I ran across his name in a record review of the Tchaikovsky Violin Cto. on Naxos, only to discover that he has made enough recordings for them to qualify as their house Russian virtuoso. A winner of both the Paganini and Tchaikovsky competitions, Kaler demonstrates the incredible depth of talent emerging from Russai, and not just in warhorse concertos. These Brahms sontas are very lovely, not as individual perhaps as versions from Mullova, Perlman, or Szeryng, but done with genuine feeling ad musicality. Kaler's tone is full and evenly produced, in the post-Poistrakh mode. His excellent accompanist, Alexander Peshkanov, is as good as anyone I've heard short of Richtr or Ashkenazy. In sum, a wonderful bargainCD worthy to stand beside the best.
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa41d2f30) out of 5 stars JOHANNES, ANNE-SOPHIE AND ALEXIS --WHAT A TEAM! June 19 2007
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
In this recording we have three of Brahms' greatest chamber works (the violin sonatas) played by, in my humble opinion, two of classical music's greatest performers--Anne-Sophie Mutter, on violin and Alexis Weissenberg, on piano. The "wow factor" is very much in evidence in this recording--great music (some of the finest chamber music that ever has been penned) fabulous violin playing and marvelous piano playing coming together in such a way that I just sat back listening in total awe feeling that life really ain't too bad when one can hear music and performances like those contained on this recording at such a reasonable (cheap!) price! (Anne-Sophie and Alexis have a wonderful "go at it" in the fourth movement of the 3rd Sonata--wow!)
Although this disc is at the "bargain basement" price of four dollars and ninety-seven cents ($4.97), the sound is superb. EMI is really to be commended for offering these superb performances at such a "rock bottom" price. I truly loved this recording as you will too if you purchase it!
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa41d2f18) out of 5 stars Wonferful music, with a great value for price. April 11 2010
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Naxos never seems to disappoint when it comes to releasing high-quality classical recordings at a reasonable price -- and this disc of Brahms' Violin Sonatas is no exception. Ilya Kaler is a wonderful violinist, and with accompanist Alexander Peskanov, this duo really brings the music fully to life. I've been listening to this CD several times since I ordered it, and I think it's a worthy addition to anyone's collection.
HASH(0xa46292f4) out of 5 stars Excellent June 27 2005
By macviolinist - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I received a demo copy of this recording recently. It is fantastic. The interpretation is very thoughtful and the phrasing is wonderfully introspective.

Berg provides us with a beautiful tone color reminiscent of Brahms' Regenlied on which the first Sonata is based. The second is performed with a surprising but quiet elegance that the piece demands, but is rarely heard. The third sonata (my personal favorite) is restrained and longing in the first movement, but warm and rich for the second. The playful scherzo is delicate and refined, but the last movement is as fiery and passionate as a person could want.

In this recording, Berg shows both true technical mastery and a scholarly understanding of the music's compositional underpinnings.

Throughout, the pianist is amazing in his sensitivity and his ability to toss off incredibly difficult passages with uncanny ease.

Probably the most notable aspect of this recording, however, is the balance between the piano and violin. It is extremely heavy in favor of the piano (which I approve of) and gives one a good idea of what these Sonatas for Piano with Violin should really sound like.

I highly recommend.