Violin Sonatas; Book 1: N... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Sonatas; Book 1: Nos. 9

Price: CDN$ 11.96 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 7.91 2 used from CDN$ 15.43

Frequently Bought Together

  • Violin Sonatas; Book 1: Nos. 9
  • +
  • V 1: Violin Sonatas: Book 1 -
  • +
  • Violin Sonatas Book 1 Nos. 5
Total price: CDN$ 42.13
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Performer: Butterfield; Mcgillivray; Cummings
  • Composer: Leclair Jean-Marie
  • Audio CD (Nov. 17 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #99,255 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Leclair' studies of dancing and violin, and his admiration for Corelli' influential set of Violin Sonatas Op. 5, stimulated the young Frenchman to compose his own set of twelve Violin Sonatas Op. 1 in which the fusion of the two national styles, les go

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent perfromances of very good music March 18 2011
By Sid Nuncius - Published on
Format: Audio CD
All three volumes of this series of Leclair's first book of Violin Sonatas are excellent. Naxos somehow manage these days to produce a lot of really top-quality discs at bargain prices, and these are prime examples.

Leclair - a younger contemporary of Bach - was a virtuoso violinist who also composed a significant body of work for the instrument. He is said to have fused French elegance with the Italian vigour and lyricism of Corelli. Well, perhaps he did, but I think what is presented here is a good deal more than that. These pieces have real variety, invention and charm as well as elegance and lyricism. There are movements throughout the sonatas, for example, which sound like rustic dances and are terrifically appealing. I have owned and enjoyed for many years some scratchy old LPs of Leclair's Violin Concerti and I am glad to see his music becoming more widely available - it deserves to be much better known, I think.

The performances here are very good indeed. These three very fine and experienced musicians play together very well and with evident enjoyment of both the music and of each other which in turn produces a terrifically enjoyable experience for the listener. I get great pleasure from these recordings. I regularly pop one of these CDs into the player to listen to a sonata and am always glad I did.

The recorded sound is excellent and the notes pretty good. I would strongly recommend these discs - you've very little to lose by trying one at this price, and I'll bet that once you've listened to it you'll want the other two.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONCE AGAIN VERY LOVELY Nov. 20 2010
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
As in the previous releases of Jean -Marie Leclair's Violin Sonatas for solo violin with Harpsichord and Viola de Gamba, this Naxos recording is superb and very elegant. Adriana Butterfield on violin, Allison McGillivray on Viola da Gamba and Laurence Cummings on the Harpsichord play Leclair's Violin Sonatas numbers 9-12 of his book one most beautifully.

According to the notes to the recording, Leclair's Violin Sonatas, written in the 1600s, were very important to the French "Baroque School of violin playing and that Leclair was heavily influenced by Corelli. All that I know is that this last volume of his Book one (volume three numbers 9-12) is filled with some very beautiful and elegant Baroque chamber music I really enjoyed this recording that is recorded and played so very well.

Look for similar items by category