Vivaldi: Ottone in villa ... has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 53.26
& FREE Shipping. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vivaldi: Ottone in villa (Tesori del Piemonte, Vol. 46)

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 39.15 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
17 new from CDN$ 28.09 2 used from CDN$ 52.72

Product Details

  • Performer: Sonia Prina, Julia Lezhneva, Veronica Cangemi, Roberta Invernizzi, Topi Lehtipuu
  • Orchestra: Il Giardino Armonico
  • Conductor: Giovanni Antonini
  • Composer: Vivaldi Antonio
  • Audio CD (Jan. 25 2011)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Naive
  • ASIN: B004215TO0
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #57,866 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Sinfonia: Allegro
2. Larghetto
3. [Allegro]
4. Atto primo: Scena 1 [Cleonilla] Recitativo
5. Scena 1 [Cleonilla] Aria Quanto m'alletta
6. Scena 2 [Cleonilla, Caio] Recitativo
7. Scena 2 [Caio] Aria Sole degl'occhi miei
8. Scena 2 [Cleonilla, Caio] Recitativo
9. Scena 3 [Ottone, Caio, Cleonilla] Recitativo
10. Scena 3 [Cleonilla] Aria Caro bene
See all 36 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Scena 6 [Cleonilla, Caio] Recitativo
2. Scena 6 [Caio] Aria Leggi almeno, tiranna infedele
3. Scena 7 [Cleonilla, Ottone] Recitativo
4. Scena 7 [Cleonilla] Aria Tu vedrai
5. Scena 8 [Decio, Cleonilla, Ottone] Recitativo
6. Scena 8 [Cleonilla] Aria Povera fedeltà
7. Scena 9 [Decio, Ottone] Recitativo
8. Scena 9 [Decio] Aria Ben talor favella il Cielo
9. Scena 10 [Ottone, Caio] Recitativo
10. Scena 10 [Ottone] Aria Compatisco il tuo fiero tormento
See all 27 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Ottone in Villa is a fine recording. Vivaldi, should he really be the author,did not take this particular work too seriously, not did it need to be taken seriously. a touch of inspiration and zest would of course have been welcome, but keeping in account lVivaldi's enormous production,we cannot be too demanding. There is no trace of the vibrant emotion found in La fida ninfa, for example, but,this sordid little intrigue of spying on a background of duplicity could scarcely justify any.What does a Roman Emperor do to relieve himself of the burden of State business? Ottone (Otton for the French, Otto for the Germans, Toto, possibly, for the friends) goes home to his summer Villa, and tries to survive extra-marital strife, in a surprisingly meek fashion, in a time when men treated their consort little better than a slave. More striking is the picture of the model on the box cover.Italian high fashion? Flaxen wig ?Is the charmer who posed totally helpless in the kitchen? Nevertheless, had some Time Machine transported her in persona to the Emperor's villa, she would undoubtedly have added to Otto's already substantial marital difficulties.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9a55af3c) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a678f18) out of 5 stars A delight Dec 30 2012
By Jon Chambers - Published on
Format: Audio CD
After listening recently to a couple of Vivaldi operas and learning of the complexities surrounding their recording (specifically, Orlando 1714 and Motezuma) it is a great relief to be able to deal with one work that has not needed wholesale restoration. As well as being Vivaldi's first official operatic composition, Ottone in villa is one of the least problematic. Its score is (relatively) undisturbed and unambiguous. The opera itself, meanwhile, is succinct, colourful and rewarding. And, of course, being the 'first', it does not recycle material from previous operas. (Attentive listeners will, however, recognise themes from the Oboe Concerto in C RV447 and Laudate pueri in c RV600.)

This particular recording, by Antonini and Il Giardino Armonico, is more imaginative and arresting than the only other one I've heard (on the Chandos label) and has a lightness of touch that is entirely appropriate for the score. It also benefits from having a booklet which is very much up-to-date with recent research. A couple of years ago, I read an article (in Studi Vivaldiani) which suggested that Vivaldi was already composing operas under another composer's name by 1705. It is a fascinating detail explored in the booklet's introduction. If it's true that Vivaldi had been composing operatic material a decade or so before the appearance of Ottone, it explains why his 'debut' opera bears all the marks of maturity - as with Beethoven's piano sonatas, where even the Opus 2 set emerge fully-fledged. Frédéric Delaméa is surely right when he describes Ottone as 'a tyro effort which at once proclaims the master'. (Incidentally, vivaldians might care to know that it's very much easier to subscribe to Studi Vivaldiani in the US than it is in the UK, where subscription is declined even when offering to pay in Euros! There's even a subscripton link on the appropriate page of over in the States.)

An entirely satisfying opera is matched by an equally satisfying performance. This, the earliest of Vivaldi's operas (according to current knowledge, at least), is 'orchestral' in its colours and inspiration. One of the delights of this recording is its use of a wide range of instrumental colour. Particularly effective here are the innovative use of a harp as one of the continuo instruments, and the sopranino recorder, which enhances the breezy and bucolic atmosphere of the aria, Io sembro appunto, in Act II. Variety of texture is another feature. A solo violin accompanies the soprano aria, Guarda in quest'occhi, in Act III, and quite possibly recreates Vivaldi's own role during the opera's premiere in Vicenza on 17 May, 1713. Full marks to Naive yet again for an assured addition to their increasingly impressive catalogue.
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a6d9cf0) out of 5 stars Lezhneva is a disappointment... June 21 2011
By Rob - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Very stylish performance. All singers are more or less adequate except Lezhneva. Her voice is not focused and not clear. She is also not fully in control of it. Moreover, Lezhneva make no attempt to give sense to music she performs...

Antonini directs "Il Giardino Armonico" in very soft manner, which maybe lacks drive of Spinosi or Alessandrini recordings, but is full of inner energy and sense. This make one listen it over and over again each time discovering new nuances in music.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a64cef4) out of 5 stars Five Stars July 28 2014
By Tony - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I am happy with any Vivaldi Opera.
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a65c534) out of 5 stars Surprising! Feb. 27 2011
By C. Briley - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I'm a fan of Vivaldi's orchestral and choral works and have not heard many of his "dramma per musica". This CD is a delightful surprise. From the outset he sets the tone that every note, breath, and movement have a deep meaning to each character or situation. It's not just an early-ish opera that bores you... the music is interesting, providing flourishes and varying dynamics to bring you into the character's mindset. You can't go wrong with Vivaldi!

Look for similar items by category