Vln Ctos 1-3/Rondo K373 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vln Ctos 1-3/Rondo K373

Price: CDN$ 12.52 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from CDN$ 6.53 5 used from CDN$ 6.60

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 30 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B00005NPJK
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #319,542 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. [Allegro moderato]
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Presto
4. I. [Allegro moderato]
5. II. [Andante]
6. III. Rondeau (Allegro)
7. I. Allegro
8. II. Adagio
9. III. Rondeau (Allegro - Andante - Allegretto)
10. Rondo for violin and orchestra in C K373

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9a9ce9cc) out of 5 stars 8 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ad6a7f8) out of 5 stars Sentimental July 12 2008
By David Saemann - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
If you are accustomed to today's younger generation of violinists playing Mozart, such as Christian Tetzlaff or Pamela Frank, Oistrakh's playing may come as a shock. He plays with a full, rich tone and an almost etude like approach to phrasing. Even as you enjoy the beautiful sounds he makes, you still think that he might phrase in a looser, dreamier style. Also anachronistic is his use of the full orchestra for the accompaniment. And when it's Karajan's Berlin Philharmonic, even with Oistrakh conducting the results are loud and lush. To put it simply, Oistrakh's Mozart sounds like no one else's. You might find it a tonic to the Mozart playing of the present day, which by comparison may sound anemic, or you might find it horrifying. If you want to explore this approach to Mozart even further, you could search out an LP of the fourth and fifth concertos by Mischa Elman and Josef Krips. The sound on Oistrakh's CD is very, very good, with just the slightest compression in the tuttis. For what it's worth, my favorite performance on the CD is in the Rondo, which seems a bit freer in interpretation that the concertos are.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a617c78) out of 5 stars Violin Concertos 1-3 Oct. 28 2013
By Bjorn Viberg - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Violin Concertos 1-3 is a 1972 EMI Classics recording starring violinist/conductor David Oistrakh who leads the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. This is a very emotional driven performance and one truly feels the emotions of Mr. Oistrakh as he performs. Truly a gem. Highly recommended indeed. 5/5.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9acdcabc) out of 5 stars Unique Oistrakh wonderfully supported March 24 2014
By Ralph Moore - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Please excuse me if I re-post here virtually the same review I wrote for the companion recording of the Fourth and Fifth Concertos, but my reactions are much the same, as the recording location is the same as one of the two used by EMI a few months later for that recording with the same artists - although the sound is marginally warmer here than on CfP. Again, we have a Rondo bonus and the same irresistibly charismatic playing from one of the great 20C violin virtuosi.

As I write, these classic recordings from 1970 and 1971 are available on Marketplace for virtually nothing plus p&p. Take one the greatest violinists of the 20C directing indisputably the best orchestra of that era playing the of Mozart's violin concertos recorded in good, analogue stereo sound in first class locations, throw in a bonus Rondo and you have an irresistible, 76 minute package - especially when it is delivered to your door for close to free.

Oistrakh's deceptively relaxed manner is somewhat less brilliant than Grumiaux's, less adventurously indulgent than Mutter's and certainly more characterful than the recent disc I reviewed from Renaud Capuçon. Oistrakh's sweetness of tone and generosity of phrasing are abundantly apparent in these unhurried accounts and are of course best appreciated in the adagios. I cannot agree with another reviewer that these performances are sentimental;indeed comparison with such as Pamela Frank reveals exactly what is missing in her dry playing. Oistrakh had already had a serious heart attack and died only four years after these recordings; pair this disc with his famous account of the "Sinfonia concertante" with son Igor and Klemperer conducting.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9aca16cc) out of 5 stars The Deathless King May 24 2016
By Bernard Michael O'Hanlon - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Is it wrong to listen to this disc? Is it a trespass to perpetuate it? What would charity say? The cycle bullies posterity. Opulence and vision - this disc has it all. What of those poor devils, pale of face and thin of tone, who scratch out these concertos with Tom Thumb orchestras – are they not entitled to their fifteen seconds of fame? They may not pay the piper but the solitary double-bassist in their midst usually walks away with a donut and cup of instant coffee. In its wisdom, should not the Gramophone praise them to high heaven before the onset of evanescence and descent into the abyss? The galley-slaves of the Freiburg Barockorchestra and the Academy of Ancient Music: are they not entitled to sustenance and game? Blink, blink again and they’re gone. Their bones must lie somewhere. Blessed be David of the bow.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9aa90b7c) out of 5 stars David Oistrach forever. Oct. 20 2010
By Ankarbranth Stefan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've always loved David Oistrach. There's something that I miss with this recording: a better remastering. I hope it comes in the future.