Vol. 2 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vol. 2 Import

Price: CDN$ 21.54 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from CDN$ 17.62 6 used from CDN$ 11.96

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 11 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Ghb Records
  • ASIN: B000000ZR1
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Sailing Down The Chesapeake Bay
2. Mahogany Hall Stomp
3. Steamboat Stomp
4. Shake That Thing
5. King Chanticleer
6. Lulu White
7. Up Jumped The Devil
8. Cakewalking Babies From Home
9. Riverside Blues
10. Gerogia Swing
11. Moving Day
12. Black Mountain Rag
13. Dead Man Blues
14. Chestnut Valley Rag
15. By And By
16. I Ain't Rough
17. Tanktown Bump
18. When Ragtime Rosie Ragged The Rosary
19. Bucksnort Stomp
20. Eli Green's Cakewalk
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

live in 1962 & 1964 personnel includes Don Franz-tuba, Bill Mason-cornet/washboard, Al Stricker-bjo/vcl, Trebor Jay Tichenor-pno, Ed Freund-drms

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Guys Are Good Feb. 28 2011
By Richard Wirtz - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The St. Louis Ragtimers came together as a group in 1961. As of this review (2011), they're still going -- still performing and still recording.

The basic four St. Louis Ragtimers are Don Franz, the tuba player; Al Stricker, the banjo player, who also does the vocals; Bill Mason, who plays the trumpet; and Trebor Tichenor, the piano player. Trebor Tichenor is the best-known musician outside the group, familiar to many for his ragtime recordings, his published collections of rags. and his writings about ragtime (including one of the very few good books, Rags and Ragtimers, with David Jasen).

These guys really are good. They are expert on their instruments; they meld well together (not surprising, since they've been playing together for 40 years); and they make a wide range of music interesting. The repertoire includes a rag or two (including on this album the Chestnut Valley Rag, a terrific rag written by Tichenor), tunes made famous on recordings by Jelly Roll Morton and Louis Armstrong, old popular tunes, cakewalks, the odd political campaign song, and some purely camp stuff ("When Ragtime Rosie Ragged the Rosary") which they deliver with straight faces very successfully.

Between the liner notes and Al Stricker's comments introducing some of the numbers, the listener learns a lot about the music.

I have reviewed this particular album because it's my favorite. But they're all good.
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous masterful music Sept. 30 2014
By Diana Katz - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
masterful music makers