Volvens Spadom has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Volvens Spadom

Price: CDN$ 20.01 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 15.21

Product Details

  • Performer: Danish National Symphony Orchestra Thomas Dausgaard
  • Composer: Hartmann J.P.E.
  • Audio CD (March 27 2007)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Mpd
  • ASIN: B000MRP1RI
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #336,709 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I Moderato
2. II Allegro Moderato
3. III Allegro
4. IV March: L'Istesso Tempo
5. V Slutningschor: Moderato
6. Poco Andante - Allegro Risoluto, Non Troppo
7. Moderato Assai, Lugubre - Allegro Non Troppo
8. Allegro Non Troppo - Poco Piu Moderato - Allegro Molto
9. Moderato Non Troppo

Product Description

Volvens Spadom

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa2b3e318) out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2b40678) out of 5 stars Pleasantly Euphonious Mid-19th-Century Danish Orchestral Music May 19 2007
By J Scott Morrison - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Johan Peter Emilius Hartmann (1805-1900) was born in Copenhagen and was the son and grandson of composers; his son-in-law was the more famous composer, Niels Gade. He grew up in comfortable circumstances because his mother was governess in the household of the Danish royal family and he was a playmate of the future King Frederik VII. He was a lifelong friend of August Bournonville, the eminent Danish ballet master and choreographer, and consequently he wrote a fair amount of ballet music. On this CD we heard a five-movement choral/orchestral 1872 work 'Voelvens Spaedom' ('The Prophecy of the Seeress'; forgive the lack of Danish diacriticals) which retells the history of the creation of the world to its end in Ragnarok (Götterdämmerung, or Twilight of the Gods). The musical style is a proto-Wagnerian euphony, quite melodious, occasionally quite dramatic, but mostly graceful and lyrical. The choir sings of Odin, the Valkyries, and others from Nordic mythology. A complete text in Danish and English translation is supplied.

The rest of the disc is devoted to incidental music for plays. The seven-minute overture to 'Yrsa' (1881), the fifteen-minute 'Axel og Valborg' (1857) and the nine-minute overture to 'Hakon Jarl' (1844) were all based on Norse historical/mythological subjects as interpreted in dramas by the great Danish writer, Adam Oehlenschläger. The final work is the overture to 'Correggio' (1860), part of the incidental music for an Oehlenschläger drama which concerns itself with the life of a fictional Italian Renaissance painter.

This music is easy to listen to but perhaps a bit lacking in musical substance. That is certainly not the fault of the eminent and skillful Danish conductor, Thomas Dausgaard, and the Danish National Symphony who give the music wonderful performances. These works have never had much life outside Scandinavia and it is good to hear them, but I don't think they have much chance of entering the international orchestral repertoire.

Scott Morrison

Look for similar items by category