FREE delivery: Monday, Aug 2 on your first order.
Fastest delivery: Saturday, July 31
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Available as a Kindle eBook. Kindle eBooks can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
$$23.00 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$23.00
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
FREE delivery: Aug 9 - 19
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, will have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included.
<Embed>
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Way the World Works: Essays Paperback – Aug. 20 2013

3.5 out of 5 stars 10 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
$23.00
$18.98 $7.57

Product description

Review

“Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . . . and takes a kind of mad scientist's delight in the way things work and how the world is put together.” -- Charles McGrath ― The New York Times Magazine

“[A] winning new book. . . . This singular writer . . . can mount an argument skillfully and deliver an efficient conclusive kick.” ― The San Francisco Chronicle

“Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely - maybe never - tips his hand.... In Baker's view the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime.” -- Carolyn See ― The Washington Post

“A fundamentally radical author . . . you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you. . . . [He] is an essayist in the tradition of GK Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head.” ― Financial Times (London)

“What these works share is a sense that how we think, our idiosyncratic dance with both experience and memory, defines who we are.” ― The Los Angeles Times

“His prose is so luminescent and so precise it manually recalibrates our brains.” -- Lev Grossman ― Time

“Baker looks at the world around us in a way that is not only artful and entertaining but instructive.” ― Charleston Post & Courier

“Mr. Baker is a wise and amiable cultural commentator worth listening to. . . . [his] prose is polished, witty . . . his essays are always provocative and entertaining.” -- Cynthis Crossen ― The Wall Street Journal

“Baker's new essay collection, The Way the World Works, is always absorbing, merging his interest in solid, tangible objects with his devotion to the life of the mind. . . . simply dazzling.” ― Seattle Times

“Exhilarating . . . Eye-opening . . . Baker continues his project of bringing new dimensions and idiosyncrasies to the personal essay, which he is devoted to reviving and reinventing.” ― The Boston Globe

“If only more of the literary world worked the way Baker does. . . . You cannot deny the courage of the writer. . . . Baker is singular.” ― The Buffalo News

About the Author

Nicholson Baker is the author of nine novels and four works of nonfiction, including Double Fold, which won a National Book Critics Circle Award, and House of Holes, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, and The New York Review of Books. He lives in Maine with his family.

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Click here to download the iOS app
    Apple
  • Click here to download the Android app
    Android
  • Click here to download the Windows Phone app
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition (Aug. 20 2013)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1416572481
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1416572480
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 286 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 2.29 x 21.27 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.5 out of 5 stars 10 ratings

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5
10 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from Canada

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Canada

Top reviews from other countries

The Ginger Man
4.0 out of 5 stars Cerebral Recalibration
Reviewed in the United States on August 10, 2012
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Report abuse
John Romero
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Collection of Essays
Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ron book
2.0 out of 5 stars some parts are very interesting but others utterly boring
Reviewed in the United States on January 7, 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
MarcG
3.0 out of 5 stars Faiked Promise
Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2016
Verified Purchase
jjfg
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in the United States on April 7, 2017
Verified Purchase