Facebook Twitter Pinterest
  • List Price: CDN$ 23.00
  • You Save: CDN$ 6.30 (27%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
The Way the World Works: ... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from Canada. Book is shipped direct from Amazon. Eligible for prime. Fast shipping. This book is in great shape. Pages are crisp and sharp. There are no marks inside the book, no writing, underlining, or highlights.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Way the World Works: Essays Paperback – Aug 20 2013


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
CDN$ 16.70
CDN$ 16.70 CDN$ 5.31

Save 10% on Textbooks with Prime Student: Use TEXT10 at checkout
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Prime Students save 10% when purchasing $100 or more on textbooks Enter code TEXT10 at checkout. Here's how (restrictions apply)

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Click here to download the iOS app
    Apple
  • Click here to download the Android app
    Android
  • Click here to download the Windows Phone app
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition (Aug. 20 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416572481
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416572480
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.3 x 21.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 322 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #702,226 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . . . and takes a kind of mad scientist's delight in the way things work and how the world is put together.” (Charles McGrath The New York Times Magazine)

“[A] winning new book. . . . This singular writer . . . can mount an argument skillfully and deliver an efficient conclusive kick.” (The San Francisco Chronicle)

“Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely - maybe never - tips his hand.... In Baker's view the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime.” (Carolyn See The Washington Post)

“A fundamentally radical author . . . you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you. . . . [He] is an essayist in the tradition of GK Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head.” (Financial Times (London))

“What these works share is a sense that how we think, our idiosyncratic dance with both experience and memory, defines who we are.” (The Los Angeles Times)

“His prose is so luminescent and so precise it manually recalibrates our brains.” (Lev Grossman Time)

“Baker looks at the world around us in a way that is not only artful and entertaining but instructive.” (Charleston Post & Courier)

“Mr. Baker is a wise and amiable cultural commentator worth listening to. . . . [his] prose is polished, witty . . . his essays are always provocative and entertaining.” (Cynthis Crossen The Wall Street Journal)

“Baker's new essay collection, The Way the World Works, is always absorbing, merging his interest in solid, tangible objects with his devotion to the life of the mind. . . . simply dazzling.” (Seattle Times)

“Exhilarating . . . Eye-opening . . . Baker continues his project of bringing new dimensions and idiosyncrasies to the personal essay, which he is devoted to reviving and reinventing.” (The Boston Globe)

About the Author

Nicholson Baker is the author of nine novels and four works of nonfiction, including Double Fold, which won a National Book Critics Circle Award, and House of Holes, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, and The New York Review of Books. He lives in Maine with his family.

See all Product description

No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.2 out of 5 stars 11 reviews
The Ginger Man
4.0 out of 5 starsCerebral Recalibration
August 10, 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful.
John Romero
5.0 out of 5 starsAnother Excellent Collection of Essays
July 3, 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.
Ron book
2.0 out of 5 starssome parts are very interesting but others utterly boring
January 7, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
jjfg
3.0 out of 5 starsThree Stars
April 7, 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
MarcG
3.0 out of 5 starsFaiked Promise
December 8, 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?