Buy Used
CDN$ 2.09
+ CDN$ 8.25 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very gently used. Tight binding and clean pages.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Way The World Works Hardcover – Aug 7 2012


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 33.64 CDN$ 2.09

50% Off Amazon Prime when you join Amazon Student
click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster; 1st Edition edition (Aug. 7 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416572473
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416572473
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.8 x 21.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 440 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #524,068 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . . . and takes a kind of mad scientist’s delight in the way things work and how the world is put together.” (Charles McGrath The New York Times Magazine)

“His prose is so luminescent and so precise it manually recalibrates our brains.” (Lev Grossman Time)

“Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely—maybe never—tips his hand. . . . In Baker's view, the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime.” (Carolyn See The Washington Post)

“Baker writes with appealing charm. He clowns and shows off rambles and pounces hard; he says acute things, extravagant things, terribly funny things.” (Richard Eder Los Angeles Times Book Review)

“[A] winning new book. . . . This singular writer . . . can mount an argument skillfully and deliver an efficient conclusive kick.” (The San Francisco Chronicle)

“A fundamentally radical author . . . you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you. . . . [He] is an essayist in the tradition of GK Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head.” (Financial Times (London))

“Baker looks at the world around us in a way that is not only artful and entertaining but instructive.” (Charleston Post & Courier)

“Mr. Baker is a wise and amiable cultural commentator worth listening to. . . . [his] prose is polished, witty . . . his essays are always provocative and entertaining.” (Cynthis Crossen The Wall Street Journal)

“Baker's new essay collection, The Way the World Works, is always absorbing, merging his interest in solid, tangible objects with his devotion to the life of the mind. . . . simply dazzling.” (Seattle Times)

“Exhilarating . . . Eye-opening . . . Baker continues his project of bringing new dimensions and idiosyncrasies to the personal essay, which he is devoted to reviving and reinventing.” (The Boston Globe)

“If only more of the literary world worked the way Baker does. . . . You cannot deny the courage of the writer. . . . Baker is singular.” (The Buffalo News)

About the Author

Nicholson Baker is the author of nine novels and four works of nonfiction, including Double Fold, which won a National Book Critics Circle Award. He lives in Maine with his family.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.3 out of 5 stars 10 reviews
24 people found this helpful.
4.0 out of 5 starsCerebral Recalibration
on August 10, 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsAnother Excellent Collection of Essays
on July 3, 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3.0 out of 5 starsThree Stars
on April 7, 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3.0 out of 5 starsFaiked Promise
on December 8, 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
2.0 out of 5 starssome parts are very interesting but others utterly boring
on January 7, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase