countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 24, 2001
Very comprehensive, both in it's approach to research methods, to the examples used to illustrate ideas and concepts.
I was particularly impressed with how the authors presented user research and needs analysis, and then proceeded to translate that into a functioning design which addressed those discovered needs.
Another point that I really enjoyed was the breadth of skill sets it appealed to. They talked about the need for user profiling, which would imply cultural anthropomorphic research, and also talked about staging areas and versioning control to appeal to the techies. Not only does this serve to show the various disciplines how they interoperate, but also helps to keep the readers attention and gives everyone a sense of position in the process.
Finally, they covered most bases of design, but did it in a way that it is really done. For example, in the design section, the use of thumbnail sketches and page grid layouts are shown to illustrate how you begin to build a site. While these methods are entirely personal to the designer, they offer a method of understanding to those who have no context, and a starting point to those learning.
All in all, this is a great "road map" to building a site from A to Z. While it may not drive to the depths of any particular skill or discipline, it does a fabulous job of talking about all of them and how they interoperate to accomplish the goal of building a web site.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2001
"Web Redesign Worlkflow That Works" is every developers dream. It is the Bible of redesign. This book offers an essential step by step process of developing a web site project. It helps readers to understand how to get the clients perspective and how to deliver above and beyond what is expected in a professional and efficient manner.
How do you get content from the client? How do you budget for site tasks versus site team? How do you know a good client from a bad client? How do you understand your target audience? "Web Redesign Work Flow That Works" answers them all. Every site project has these issues and not going through every step as stated in this book could make or break a project. It's all about the user not only the company.
My company has developed many sites. I only wish I had this book as a resource in 1998 when I first founded my business. I would have saved thousands of hours and heart ache. This book is easy to follow and provides quick links to downloadable forms that help implement the site development process referred to within the book. I recommend this book to any and all involved in developing a site project. IT IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2001
"Web Redesign Worlkflow That Works" is every developers dream. It is the Bible of redesign. This book offers an essential step by step process of developing a web site project. It helps readers to understand how to get the clients perspective and how to deliver above and beyond what is expected in a professional and efficient manner.
How do you get content from the client? How do you budget for site tasks versus site team? How do you know a good client from a bad client? How do you understand your target audience? "Web Redesign Work Flow That Works" answers them all. Every site project has these issues and not going through every step as stated in this book could make or break a project. It's all about the user not only the company.
My company has developed many sites. I only wish I had this book as a resource in 1998 when I first founded my business. I would have saved thousands of hours and heart ache. This book is easy to follow and provides quick links to downloadable forms that help implement the site development process referred to within the book. I recommend this book to any and all involved in developing a site project. IT IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2003
A book printed on glazed paper in a non-standard (10 in. x 8 in.) format normally incites me to be more careful before purchasing. A rather serious browsing made the book attractive. After reading from cover to cover, I can say that Web Redesign|Workflow that Works, is a good acquisition.
This book covers in details a Project Life Cycle, called Core Process, developed and extensively used by the authors in their Web Publishing consultancy business.
The Project Life Cycle contains 5 phases:
1. Defining the Project;
2. Developing Site Structure;
3. Visual Design and Testing;
4. Production and QA;
5. Launch and Beyond.
A separate chapter is dedicated to each phase and provides sufficient information for the reader to obtain a solid understanding of the various processes involved. The reader will also find numerous survey forms and checklists in the book as well as on the companion Web site ....P>This book is not a design manual and, as such, does not cover information architecture, graphics design or production tools like HTML, JavaScript, etc. Also, discussions on the technical infrastructure (hosting, hardware, database, connectivity, security, etc.) normally required to support Web Publishing are considered outside the scope of the book and are not covered. The very important subject of usability testing is covered in a chapter of its own, primarily from a project process point of view. The last chapter is dedicated to various techniques used in analyzing the competition. Rightly so, the book remains focused on project processes.
The suggested Project Life Cycle appears to be using a Waterfall methodology with some fast tracking. No mention is made of the existence of other more recent methodologies such as the Rational Unified Process or those at the origin of the Agile Alliance such as Extreme Programming (XP).
Surprisingly, examples of project schedules are presented in a Microsoft WORD format and no other project management software are covered.

The experience Project Manager familiar with the PMBOK Guide will sometimes be puzzled as no distinction is made between project management processes and product-oriented processes and both can be intermixed and covered in the same paragraph. Once realized, this situation had no further negative impact.
There is no mention or reference to the PMBOK Guide.
This book is best for the experience Project Manager who wants to become familiar with the Web Publishing environment. The novice should first acquire basic knowledge of project management to make good use of this book. The PMBOK Guide is a very good start.
Here are a few suggestions for the second edition of Web Redesign | Workflow that Works:
1. A new chapter on Information Architecture with emphasis on project processes;
2. Summary review of Content Management Systems;
3. Integration with the PMBOK Guide;
4. Discussions on the latest project development methodologies;
Jean C. Ducharme, PMP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2004
I bought this book looking for precise workflow I could use to schedule a web site redesign. The presented 5-step process works, but is completely mired in page after page of unqualified observances and quips on the history of web design -a series of blandishments to widen the spine of the book. If you stripped 50% of the text from this book, it would be 200% more effective.
After reading half the book, I was not able to construct a mind's eye view of the author's project plan for site design. There was simply too much text between the important points, and no graphics to weld it together. I was unable to summarize the book for executives, and am relying heavily on my highligher for key concepts, as this book cannot be used as a desk reference without extensive modifications.
The authors tried too hard to cover the complete experience of being a web design firm. Clearly derived from the experiences of artists, this book lacks the conciseness an engineer would have brought to the table. Don't read it at night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2001
In just 253 thinly-laden pages, "Web Redesign: Workflow that Works" dodges the special challenges of redesigning Web sites, and ranges well beyond Web designers' workflow issues. How, then, does this newest addition to the Web site builder's library justify your time and its price?
The answer is that "Web Redesign" teaches designers to mix discipline with all that painful designer hipness. With its semi-gloss pages, landscape format, copious illustrations and liberal use of Jan Tschichold's elegant Garamond typeface variant Sabon, this volume entices lovers of design. Then the text content slips in, all rational and process-oriented, to explain soberly that Web design must push beyond pretty, that it demands documentation and budgets and schedules and testing or the whole damn glorious enterprise will fall in a heap. Authors Kelly Goto and Emily Cotler, old-school Web designers themselves, enthuse over funky skating sites while earnestly explaining that such sites need project plans. Screenshots of budget spreadsheets sit next to screenshots of sites with fancy menus and lots of designer-illegible tiny grey text.

Does all the rationality sound a little familiar? It should, these days. "Web Redesign" spends much of its time in territory already authoritatively mapped by 2000's volume from Ashley Friedlein, "Web Project Management". Friedlein's book possesses all the flair promised in its title, but its publication marked a new phase for the discipline of Web site development. "Web Redesign" echoes most of what Friedlein has said, with less depth and more glamour.
Like Friedlein's book, "Web Redesign" focuses on deliverables - tasks that you can list, tasks that you can celebrate completing, and tasks whose completion entitles you to ask the client for money. Like Friedlein's book, it broadly adopts software's longstanding systems development life cycle, which moves from project definition to detailed planning, to build, to implementation, and finally to system support. Like Friedlein's book, it accepts the challenge of gathering Web site content, a challenge alien to traditional software development.
Unlike Friedlein's book, however, "Web Redesign" offers a swag of basic site design techniques, from audience profiling to establishing file-naming conventions. Indeed, it reads as its authors' accumulation of notes on how to get sites out the door. It compensates for a wooden prose style by enlisting sidebars, diagrams, worksheets, sketches, summaries, tips and just about anything else that might keep the reader engaged.
This book also grants usability testing a key role in site development: its 18-page user testing summary, laced liberally with the thoughts of Jakob Nielsen, ranks with the best.
Don't buy it just because you're planning a site redesign, though. Barely a sentence in it does not apply equally to new sites. A serious book on redesign would show readers how to evaluate the performance of existing and new sites, not dismiss evaluation in three paragraphs. A serious book about site redesigns would place usability testing right at the start of the redesign process, not shove it carelessly into the second-last chapter. A serious book about site redesigns would discuss the sheer riskiness of a once-off redesign, and tackle the tough challenges of designing for continual change and expansion. But Goto and Cotler show little expertise or interest in evaluation, maintainable design or evolutionary improvement - and with that "Web Redesign" title they simply lie outright.
Forgive that lie. Goto and Cotler are at least spreading the word that Web site creation is a discipline. The combination of Friedlein's "Web Project Management" and Nielsen's "Designing Web Usability" (...) massively outguns the Goto & Cotler volume. If you can buy those two and read them, you should. But if you want to read - or want to hand a designer - one pretty volume, then "Web Redesign" is your first choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2002
First of all, this book is probably one of the most current ones (at the time of this writing) to dive into the waters of Web Design from a Project Management perspective. It has to be noted that its focus is heavily on design, but always tying things to dealing with the client, timelines, cost, etc. I thought the title didn't do the book much of a favor: in fact, if you're expecting to find content focused exclusively on re-designing your Web site, you're probably bound for dissapointment, since there's only one chapter (the first one) that touches on this topic that has turned into a very commonplace nightmare situation for Web people to be caught in these days.
However the book IS packed with a wealth of content about WEB DESIGN at large, following what the authors call the "Core Process" which consists of 5 phases, all the way from defining the project to launching it an beyond. Two things that I found the book incredible about were: the space devoted to the first two phases of their methodology (planning and developing site structure) clearly overwhelms the rest of the book, which we all (should) know to be in line with the way things should be done -"measure twice, cut once." Also I loved the fact that the book is packed with illustrations in full color, as opposed to other publications out there, which limit those to "centerfolds" or B&W graphics. So, like I told you some time ago to go get the book on "Web Project Management" by Ashley Friedlein (published in 2000), I now advise you to get a copy of this book. As a Web designer, Webmaster or Web Project Manager, you will thank me for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2001
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this title. I have read many books over the last couple years that attempt to address the material covered in this book, but none of them pull it off like this one does. This book will be imitated by many over the next few years. Let me just start this review by saying that I think this is a great book, and worthy of the attention of all parties that design or interact with web design in some capacity.
There are two schools of thought when it comes to web design/development, in essence - the chicken or the egg problem. Do you let the graphics gurus or the programming gurus lead your web efforts. In either case, both types of subject matter experts will be required to successfully deploy complex ventures, but depending on the timing and involvement of each will impact the way your final product looks and behaves to a huge degree. Web ReDesign | Workflow that Works is a text that discusses primarily design and thus takes the approach of a graphics artist leading the web design/development effort.
This book is a great help to me in understanding why architects with a graphics background want to do things the way they do. The primary crux of this text is timing and planning your web site redesign in a way as to save time and money, while making as few mistakes as possible. What a great idea! Well, in a perfect world possible, other wise the authors provide some tools that have recently helped them with trouble clients and various other project bottle necks. On pages 18 and 19 the workflow that this book is modeled on is defined; these two pages alone are worth the price of this book.
In all, don't expect to learn how to plan the development of complex web based applications, but rather expect to learn what steps are involved in the graphical redesign of complex web sites. Also, throughout the book there are smatterings of great information that is related to the topics being covered that are written by various contributors. Again, great information. I think that along with a few years of experience, this book can turn good web site designers into great designers.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2001
FINALLY!!! A book that actually captures all aspects of today's Web Design workflow and process. This book is a fabulous educational tool for clients and vendors alike! As a Web Consulting expert, I can say that the content of this resource is accurate and insightful; that process in Web Design projects can mean the difference between success and failure; and that, in a young industry with significant impact on how business is conducted in today's economy, this book approaches Web Design process with an intellect and maturity that redefines yesterday's standards. This book clearly is an amalgamation of years of Kelly Goto's valuable experiences. The Web Design process can be so complex and convoluted...this book takes into consideration all potential ups and downs of a Web Design project and clearly articulates the proper processes to make every project a success! Providing both a macro and micro perspective on Web Design process, this book can easily serve as "The Resource" for all Web Design projects. Having seen Kelly Goto speak at various conferences and seminars, I can truly say that she has lived up to (and perhaps exceeded...) her astounding reputation as a true expert in Web Design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2001
I'm a web designer/developer who operates a small shop. I use this book every day. It is so full of useful information and beautifully designed. I'm going to modify the recommended charts for my own projects.
The content is so well-organized, logical and persuasive that the reader thinks, "Why didn't I think of doing it that way"? I already use many of the techniques in this book, but I hadn't quite put them together in a cohesive way. I also haven't been consistent in using the techniques from project to project. I'm going to clean up my act. When you finish this book, you KNOW what works for web projects.
The authors address scope creep better than anything else I've read. Everyone I know who works on web sites complains endlessly about this problem. I'm in the middle of a horrendous project where I wasn't careful and I'm eating so much time. The authors offer sensible ways to keep the creep from happening. It's a critical issue, as it absolutely eats up your profit (not to mention your patience).
All of the techniques discussed in this book scale up or down to fit projects of various size and complexity.
I have so many new ideas to implement. This book has "place of pride" on my desk from now on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here