4 used & new from CDN$ 45.99

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Where Blood And Fire Bring Res

4.7 out of 5 stars 75 customer reviews

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 76.70 3 used from CDN$ 45.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 27 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Solid State Records
  • ASIN: B000006P3V
  • Other Editions: Audio Cassette
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 75 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #132,165 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Lies Of Serpents, A River Of Tears
2. To Think Of You Is To Treasure An Absent Memory
3. A Fall Farewell
4. March
5. Ember
6. Ravage Ritual
7. Fifteen Rhema
8. For A Fair Desire
9. The Latter Rain
10. Violet

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Chaotic and emotional. A perfect synopsis. Few bands can say that they've mixed the two and won. Their sound is un-caged ferocity, it is powerful . . . DEVASTATINGLY powerful. Supervised chaos.
I judge all hardcore bands by Zao. They are the pinnacle of metalcore, this album being their most pure and prime example. Their only work that could be classified as better than any song on this album would be found on their split with training for utopia. Dan's voice was never better. His lyrics on this album are unparalleled. Pitch harmonics and huge riffs make for some of the best guitar work I've heard in a long time, though no soloing (but this IS a hardcore band). No matter what my mood this disc fits, it is in constant rotation in my collection.
When you see these guys live, all the songs off this album are spine tingling. The sound takes a hold of you, it will pump you up and in its closing track it will calm you back down. From the opening riff of "lies of serpents a river of tears", to the final respects in "a fall farewell", the savagery of "ravage ritual", the shear intensity and perfection of "the latter rain" followed by the massaging calm of "violet" it is a full frontal attack upon the senses.
This is not an album it is an experience.
Five stars without a doubt.
Also if you love this bands sound you should check out "Redeem - a Diadem of Beauty".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
well..it's not just that it pretty much fits into the category of "hardcore" music..this album is incredible. first of all, excellent musicianship..heavy guitars, melodic guitars, and (drummer) jesse smith not only delivers quick kicks but has incredible style that really augments..everything. also, beatifully crafted lyrics (yes, they are a christian band, no, i am not a christian, but yes, i can enjoy the lyrics because they are heartfelt, emotional, and not preachy or arrogant). dan has one of the most unique voices in the genre (he left zao after self-titled but he's back and so is russ!!). it took a while to get used to, but he's now one of my favorite hardcore vocalists. another thing about this record is..despite the growls, hellfire artwork, and occasionally dark riffs..it's really warm. listen to "to think of you is to treasure an absent memory" "ember" and "violet" (ok, it's repetitive. so what? it's emotional and a perfect way to end the cd) and you'll see what i mean. also, the "latter rain" has a dramatic, almost spine-tingling buildup at the end (along the lines of hopesfall's later "the broken heart of a traitor"). this cd is by far their best offering, but be sure to check out all their other releases with dan, and their live show is always good fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This was a pretty enjoyable cd, even if the lyrics did get a little preachy sometimes, i guess thats understandable from an overtly christian band....but anyway, onto the tracks.
1. "Lies of Serpents..." - pretty good opener, nice riffs but a little short..
2. "To Think of You..." - a heartfelt and actually somewhat beautiful lament over a friends death, really melodic guitars and a great chorus even though some of the riffs seemed a little erratic
3. "A Fall Farewell" - another song about a dead friend.... heavy, insance vocals as usual, one of my favorites
4. "March" - this track pretty much just plods along with a few slow riffs and extremely religious lyrics, should have been shorter
5. "Ember" - another favorite, a few fast catchy riffs and some nice melodic leads...a little short
6. "Ravage Ritual" - weird voice-over intro, the song isn't bad but the lyrics are just so preachy its hard to enjoy it
7. "Fifteen Rhema" - an ok track but it seems a little standard for zao, the riffs sound almost random sometimes
8. "For a Fair Desire" - some great leads and rhythm guitars, one of the album's better tracks
9. "The Latter Rain" - beginning is a little slow but it picks up...an ok track
10. "Violet" - a pretty instrumental piano track but still a little pointless, and it doesn't really fit with the rest of the cd
Overall not a bad cd, standout tracks are "Lies of Serpents A River of Tears", "A Fall Farewell" and "To Think of You is to Treasure an Absent Memory"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
By no easy means can anyone simply describe Zao's sound on this CD as hardcore or metal, even though those are both decent starting points from which to begin illustrating this triumphant release. This is where a group of young gentlemen hold you by the hand and lead you through their collective catharsis. There is an oxymoronic beauty here that strangely comes from taking all of that misery, despair, sorrow, corruption, conflict, and pain and channeling all of that into pure sonic fury. Above all else, if you don't get sucked into the swelling tides of aggression with each track, you can always find tranquility in their overall message. Whatever you do, don't make premature judgements about Zao with a closed mind before hearing them out. Some in the extreme music scene may think that, coming from a group of Christians, you would expect "preachy" lyrics and warnings of eternal damnation. Refreshingly, Zao takes a very different approach. Specifically, with each of the songs on this release, they drag our senses into the underbelly of gloom and desperation as THEY have experienced it. But as soon as you've been inundated with hopelessness, they show us the glimmers of hope that have offered them redemption - hoping that we can see the magnificence of personal salvation as they have. To say the very least, this CD is substantially personal and introspective in nature, and if you read the lyrics, you come away feeling uniquely touched. I know that much of my description here is about the superb lyrical performance, but the songs and instrumentation deserve just as much attention. If you could somehow take my explanation of the CD's lyrics and overall message and apply it to the music, it would still be appropriate. You can feel the desperation, pain, sorrow, and misery in the riffs, too.Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews