Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Luxury Beauty home Kindle Tools



on August 18, 2017
An excellent read for anyone interested in mindfulness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2017
great book have passed it on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
Arrived just as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Probably a little over my head.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2017
So far so good. Haven't finish reading it but so far i enjoy the reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
Insightful and compelling read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
I am still reading and enjoying every moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2002
This has long been a best seller and justifiably so. Kabat-Zinn works clinically with people who are stressed and his earlier book, Full Catastrophe Living, was written for people who are almost pathologically stressed, to bring them the beneficial effects of meditation. The present book is written for average people on the street, who may not need so urgently the therapeutic effects of meditation, but in the belief that we can all of us use a healthy dose of it. It is written with no religious strings attached, and even avoiding the word "spiritual," and yet it has the ability to open up the spiritual realm for us, no matter what we wish to call it. It is an introduction for the beginner and a source of good advice for the practitioner of meditation. It's written in bite-sized chapters, in clear, easy and very readable prose. It is a delight to read. The book's three parts explore the why and how of meditation and its many applications in daily life. Many chapters conclude with suggestions for reflection or meditation. It is concentrated wisdom that deserves much rereading and a permanent place on your library shelf.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2004
Mindfulness should be an exercise all beings participate in practicing, not simply exclusive to our Buddhist traditions; a point Kabat-Zinn makes in this wonderful book. What it truly encompasses is a kind of awakening (yes, cliché) where we begin living in accord with not just all people but, also with ourselves.
Jon Kabat-Zinn is the director of the Stress Reduction Clinic at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center, a clinic which likely has helped innumerable beings. Mindful meditation is a letting go practice, a practice of non contriving and ultimately - endurance. It is an acknowledgement of who we already are, beneath the layers of attachments and aversion; that is of course that we are loving and generous people.
This book offers a plethora of meditative exercises and mindfulness applications to employ in our daily routines. Zinn suggests utilizing sitting, walking, and even "on your feet" meditation. Metaphors of mindful actions are here using topics like parenting or even washing the dishes. This work will hopefully motivate all who read it. Great book.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Seemed to good to be true made a perfect gift Can't fault it so far. I think Perhaps I need one more. Wouldn't hesitate to buy again. I do not watch a lot of satisfaction, but a few days ago a friend recommended I think Amazon's products, I feel very buy used rods in other sites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse