Whitey Album has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Whitey Album Import

Price: CDN$ 13.69 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
4 new from CDN$ 13.69 4 used from CDN$ 10.19

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 21 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Universal Music Group
  • ASIN: B000EMG9EU
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Audio Cassette  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Needle-Gun
2. (Silence)
3. G-Force
4. Platoon II
5. Macbeth
6. Me & Jill/ Hendrix Cosby
7. Burnin' Up
8. Hi! Everybody
9. Children Of Satan/ Third Fig
10. Two Cool Rock Chicks Listening To Neu
11. Addicted To Love
12. Moby-Dik
13. March Of The Ciccone Robots
14. Making The Nature Scene
15. Tuff Titty Rap
16. Into The Groove(y)
17. Macbeth - Alt. Mix

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa49d95e8) out of 5 stars 17 reviews
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4b04324) out of 5 stars ridiculous, hilarious, terrifying... Jan. 22 2001
By Edward H. Milligan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I bought this in seventh grade knowing that it was a Sonic Youth album, but I had no idea that it was going to be so weird. The bizarre drum machines and Madonna covers left me confused, but I kept listening because I loved how unusual it was. It's six years later and now I think it's one of my favorite albums, totally unlike anything else the band has ever done. There's definitely a lot of humor on the album, but the first side is pretty frightening, particularly the atmospheric the band creates on "Platoon" and "Macbeth". But I think the humor combined with the darkness is the album's strong point. Poetry, rap, bad new wave, Robert Palmer, Neu!, stark instrumentals, and of course Madonna join forces to make a real doozy of an album, full of beautiful moments. A must for any Sonic Youth fan or anyone willing to try something new (even when it's 13 years old.)
p.s. the wonderful Mike Watt sings lead on Burnin' Up.
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4b04378) out of 5 stars good stuff April 20 2006
By no one - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
when i first heard about this album, i thought it might be somewhat interesting. sonic youth forsaking raw power for electronic beats. the more i thought about it and listened to their other albums, the more intriguing it became. finally i bought it, because the store was out of sy's debut album. it was a trip, to say the least. it started out with an all percussion track. is it electronic, acoustic, or a combination of both? i never really considered it while listening to it. the next track was silence. kind of gives you an opportunity to think about the onslaught of the first track, which until then seemed like... something. whatever it is, it just seems more clear. then kim gordon fades in, ranting about whatever it is that she rants about. sexism, violence, love, something along and eclipsing those lines. macbeth is just crazy. hi! everybody lies somewhere between frank zappa and disco. two cool rock chicks is conversation and then a j mascis guitar solo. is there really anything more one needs than that? mike watt does a deep-voiced, laid-back version of madonna's "burnin' up" and is enough to make anyone question how evil pop music really is. thurston moore does something similar with "into the groovey", using samples from the original version. kim gordon, too, shows her pop side on her karaoke version of "addicted to love". steve shelley finally proves the existence of his vocal cords on his reading of lee ranaldo's "me & jill". "making the nature scene" was taken further than anyone ever could have imagined after the forceful version on the "confusion is sex" album. this doesn't really explain the album, but that's why people listen to music rather than just read reviews.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4b047b0) out of 5 stars Hippest Chillin' Album March 21 2003
By Holly Beth Williams - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The Whitey Album is definitely my most favorite and apparently sought after music selection. I heard it at a friend's house this summer and have wanted it in my music library ever since. There are some familiarities in the retro-80s-flashback songs. "Addicted to Love" is one of the best 80s covers I've heard yet. It's fun, laid back and all together a well done collection of sounds. Like I said, I give it 5 stars. *****
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4b04b70) out of 5 stars A Grand & Noble Experiment March 27 2006
By Octoworm - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is recording that is well grounded in eighties pop culture, yet still sounds avant-garde. The Album is full of Sonic Youth's trademark feedback-drenched explosions of noise and beat-inspired poetry, yet this is unlike any other SY recording. Not only do most of the songs involve a beatbox and samples, there are even Madonna and Robert Palmer covers!

Humor and irreverence combines with an anything-goes approach the song structures. It sounds like the band is having a lot of fun, and that energy passes to the listener. An added bonus is the guest appearances of Mike Watt and J. Mascis.

Released around the time of Sister, this album is a glorious companion-piece to that other SY classic. If you don't own this yet, you should!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4b04b1c) out of 5 stars The reissue is worth it March 22 2010
By Jeff Holt - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This album has always been a great companion for "Daydream Nation," and the band had actually wanted the two records be released simultaneously. Someone close to the band wisely encouraged them to release "Ciccone Youth" a few months later so as not to detract attention from their masterpiece, "Daydream Nation."

But that doesn't mean "Ciccone Youth" isn't a masterpiece in its own right. It's simply a much more playful recording, being, in its own strange way, a tribute to Madonna (though only two Madonna songs are actually covered, one by Sonic Youth, and one by Mike Watt of the Minutemen, by himself). In one sense, especially in this rerelease version with the extra tracks, this album is more "traditional" Sonic Youth than "Daydream Nation" simply in the sense that it is far noisier. In another sense, however, it is unlike anything by them, as there is an emphasis in various songs on dance rhythms and sound manipulations.

If you're primarily a fan of earlier, darker Sonic Youth releases, don't be scared away by the term "dance rhythms." Just listen to a sample of the sludgy version of "Into the Groove(y)" to understand how Sonic Youth uses, and undermines, dance rhythms, on this record. On the occasions in the record when they employ such rhythms, they appear to be both mocking and embracing pop culture at the same time, something for which they are uniquely suited.

All in all, one hell of an album.