FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Witz: A Novel has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by WeBuyBooksUK
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Minor Shelfwear. Good condition with small signs of use. Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Witz: A Novel Paperback – May 11 2010


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
CDN$ 18.95
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 8.27

Oscars 2018

click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 817 pages
  • Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press; 1 edition (May 11 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1564785882
  • ISBN-13: 978-1564785886
  • Product Dimensions: 16.1 x 4.4 x 22.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 1 Kg
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #607,614 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"The sort of postmodern epic that arrives like a comet about once every decade, like Infinite Jest or Gravity's Rainbow. Like any epic, it defies summary and overflows with puns, allusions, digressions, authorial sleights of hand and structural gags-in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, James Joyce, Jonathan Swift and Laurence Sterne." (New York Observer)

Witz is a brave and artful attempt to explore and explode the limits of the sentence." (New York Times)

From the Author

"In this ambitious novel, Benjamin Israelien―born full grown, bearded, and wearing glasses―is the last living Jew, a national celebrity and Messiah-like great hope for an America terrified of losing God’s grace. In more than eight hundred pages of dense, often self-amused prose, he tours in a big revival show, visits Holocaust sites (“Whateverwitz” in “Polandland”), and even makes a brief sojourn in space with a tentacled alien named Doktor Froid. “Witz,” as Cohen explains, means “joke,” and the novel overflows with puns, allusions, and Borscht Belt zingers, in an incantatory modernist style." (New Yorker)

See all Product description

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.3 out of 5 stars 7 reviews
RSc-Boca
3.0 out of 5 starsThree Stars
February 22, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Robert L. Alley
3.0 out of 5 starsWhat this book is Not
February 21, 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful.
Ashley Crawford
5.0 out of 5 starsOf Biblical Proportions
March 21, 2011 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
David Edelberg
5.0 out of 5 starsA Totally Astonishing Prose Poem
December 7, 2010 - Published on Amazon.com
13 people found this helpful.
nechama cohen
1.0 out of 5 starsThis was drivel.
June 21, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
One person found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?