Works for Violin and Pian... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Works for Violin and Piano Vol

Price: CDN$ 14.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
24 new from CDN$ 8.45 2 used from CDN$ 15.68

Product Details

  • Performer: Markus Hadulla (Piano) Yang Tianwa (Violin)
  • Composer: Sarasate
  • Audio CD (Aug. 29 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #65,663 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Danza Espanola No.2: Habanera, Op.21, No.2
2. Danza Espanola No.5: Playera, Op.23, No.1
3. Danza Espanola No.1: Malaguena, Op.21, No.1
4. Capricho Vasco (Basque Caprice), Op.24
5. Danza Espanola No.3: Romanza Andaluza, Op.22, No.1
6. Danza Espanola No.4: Jota Navarra, Op.22, No.2
7. Serenata Andaluza, Op.28
8. Jota Aragonesa, Op.27
9. Balada, Op.31
10. Danza Espanola No.6: Zapateado, Op.23, No.2
11. Danza Espanola No.7: Vito, Op.26, No.1
12. Danza Espanola No.8: Habanera, Op.26, No.2

Product Description

Among the great virtuoso violinists of his generation, Pablo Sarasate not only inspired concertos and other works for solo violin from leading contemporary composers, but demonstrated his incredible skill in a series of compositions based on dances from h

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa233d498) out of 5 stars 7 reviews
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1f7118c) out of 5 stars First timer raves. May 20 2007
By Lief Carter - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Tianwa Wang's Sarasate CD is sensational. I am a professor of political science in his mid-60s. While I have loved classical music all my life and am undefeated in the old needle-drop contests that classical music lovers occasionally enjoy at their nerdy parties, I have never written an on line review of a recording and may never again. But THIS performance demands one. I have NEVER heard a violin performance of anything by anybody that has given me as much pleasure as this recording. Wang makes every sound a classical violin is capable of making. High harmonics whistle. Low notes sound like only a viola could make them. Every note is so shaped as to have its own unique personality. The double stops are impeccably balanced. The pianist accompanies to perfection. Buy this recording, then challenge your friends who say "I don't much like violins." not to change their minds and fall in love.
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1f71078) out of 5 stars Spanish flair in oriental dress Nov. 30 2006
By Gianluca La Villa - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Miss Tianwa Yang, born in Peking in 1987, had succeeded in giving us a deep emotion listening to her Sarasate violin pieces, elegantly accompanied by the pianist Markus Hadulla. She has a strong personality; not one of these somehow famous pieces is played the same as others do or have done. Her technique is wonderful,her musical taste is very rare. The Habanera, the Playera, the Malaguena, the Capricho vasco with her wonderful left hand pizzicatos blending with the fine piano accompanyment, are a real joy to listen to.

Miss Yang evidently brings before a new standard for violin playing in the field of the most "western" music, the Spanish folklore, vesting it in her elegant oriental dress, which she takes from the centennial history of her Nation. Japanese prodiges of the last decades,frequently more western than the same European or USA,and Julliard or Curtis breed trained, find now a real example of what an almost perfect blend between Oriental culture and western classical music can bring to our ears and hearts.
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1f71ab0) out of 5 stars Maravilloso... Sept. 22 2009
By Sofia - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I heard a recording from a friend while I tried to listen to her copy of Zigeunerweisen and she instead took out her collection of Sarasate and played Habanera for me. It took my breath away, she played so poignantly with such precision and yet it was not a cold rendition it was so full of emotions I lost sight of my original goal. Afterward I decided I needed to buy my own copy. Later on I discovered that Miss Tianwa had been awarded the prize for best violinist in 2004 by THE Seiji Ozawa. Talk about a prodigy! While I still adore Nathan Milstein and Itzhak Perlman Miss Tinawa has become another personal favorite. I would defintely recommend this selection. I can say having been to Spain and being of descent that this is rendition is not a false mockery of the country but somehow makes me proud of my roots. It sounds gypsie-like and mysteriously enthralling all at once. Surprising because Miss Tianwa is Chinese and I have heard several European versions that sound off of such vitality.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1f71aec) out of 5 stars Quite Simply... Nov. 23 2011
By Steven P - Published on
Verified Purchase
Buy this CD. Quite simply one of the best classical albums ever: composition, playing, recording quality. Like Lief I rarely write reviews. Like Lief I like this a lot.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By DeniseGrimaldi - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Great vilon and Spanish influence. I am a novice to classical music but I enjoyed very much. I would highly recomend.