No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: CDN$ 2.71

Save CDN$ 17.67 (87%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Wrong Man Running by [Hruska, Alan]
Kindle App Ad

Wrong Man Running Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
CDN$ 2.71

Length: 349 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

I Can't Make This Up


Product description

Product Description

At the beginning of this compelling novel, Rick Corinth—driven careerist, brilliant prosecutor, and the heir apparent to the district attorney’s job in Manhattan—is assigned a case involving a series of increasingly sadistic rapes. When the victims, all prominent women at the acme of their careers, begin identifying Corinth as their assailant, he takes flight.

No one who knows him well believes him capable of committing such shocking crimes, including his ex-wife. His children, made to suffer at school, are hurt and confused. And yet the evidence against him keeps mounting. When his ex-wife is herself sexually attacked, she in turn pegs Corinth as the culprit.

Attorney-turned-novelist Alan Hruska’s Wrong Man Running is the story of Corinth’s frantic search to find the man he thinks framed him and the psychological challenges of confronting the possibility that he might be liable for the heinous rapes several women have claimed he committed. Sharp and haunting, Hruska masterfully ratchets up the suspense in this deftly written novel, penning a taut legal thriller in the vein of Scott Turow and John Grisham.

About the Author

Alan Hruska is a native of New York and a graduate of Yale University and Yale Law School. He worked as a trial lawyer until 2002, representing both public and private clients, all the while nourishing his love of the arts. His first novel, Borrowed Time, was published by Dial Press in 1986, and he cofounded Soho Press, for which he serves as chairman of the board. In 2002 he began writing and directing movies including Nola, The Warrior Class, and Reunion. His 2005 off-Broadway revival of Waiting for Godot earned favorable reviews from the New York Times, the New York Post, and Village Voice. His own plays include New House Under Construction and Ring Twice for Miranda. Wrong Man Running is his second novel.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 729 KB
  • Print Length: 349 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (Nov. 22 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005Y0BY56
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #144,971 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This story gives a lot of credit to some far-out characters who have dreadful secrets, amazing abilities and unlikely bodies. Makes for a good beach read at least.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Good read. Had me wondering in the latter part of the book. Looking forward to reading new books. Good luck.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A very suspenseful story - Glad I took a chance to read it. I will look for more books by this author.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Kept me guessing all the way to the end and even then I still wasn't sure if I got it right.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars 85 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Man Running March 16 2014
By M. Owens - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Eric Corinth (Rick), chief assistant to NY District Attorney, Frank Seaton, is a young man on his way up the legal ladder. He left his law firm after only a couple of years to join the DA's staff, and is quickly making a name for himself. Of course, not everything is perfect. He is separated (still in love) from his wife, Ali, but remains on excellent terms with his two young children.
Eric begins an investigation of a series of gruesome attacks against women. The victims are violated, humiliated and tortured, but not killed. They have one more thing in common: Eric knows each of them personally, with one exception.
On very flimsy evidence, Eric himself becomes a suspect. When he agrees to appear in a lineup, each of the victims identifies him as their attacker. Adding more plot information would spoil the surprises that the reader has in store.
What follows is a well-paced, intricately plotted narrative with enough twists and turns to satisfy the most ardent amateur sleuth. Hruska brings on a host of characters that, were they not so clearly portrayed, would be hard to keep up with.
The story is driven by dialogue, and the author does an excellent job with it. His dialogue is reminiscent of Richard Price, an acknowledged master. I can say nothing better.
Highly recommended. The reader will not be disappointed.
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars March 16 2017
By Donald W. Craig - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Enjo.yable read
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sophomoric Feb. 24 2012
By bud emerson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A very disappointing book. Selected because of a top review. Interesting premise, but the intricacies of the plot were clumsy and unbelievable. Actions of the criminal justice system were highly unlikely representations of the real world. Interactions of the characters were forced and not logical. Emotional connections didn't feel real. I don't know why I kept reading--perhaps the reviews influenced me to think he would pull it off but it kept getting more and more removed from what could reasonably be expected to happen. A waste of my time.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING Dec 22 2013
By kjgeo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book had as much suspense as a Dr. Seuss book. I can't believe author Lee Child, whom I enjoy, endorsed on the cover of this book as "possibly the psychological book of the year". What a joke. One of the most boring books I've read.
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm tempted to say, "Wrong Man Writing" Jan. 4 2012
By Mal Warwick - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Sometimes I wonder when I finish a book why I picked it up in the first place. This was one of those times.

As thrillers go, Wrong Man Running works. It's suspenseful (which probably explains why I felt compelled to finish reading it), and the protagonist elicited sympathy.

Rick Corinth is a hotshot lawyer nearing 40 who currently serves as deputy DA in New York City, heir apparent to his long-incumbent boss. Mystifyingly, when a series of violent rapes begins to surface, the victims are all women he knows well, and in short order Rick is suspected of the crime. Once he is formally charged, he flees in order to devote himself to finding the real perpetrator. Then the plot thickens.

Unfortunately, like so much pulp fiction, the tale hangs on a series of unlikely coincidences, and practically every character in this book is either drop-dead gorgeous (women) or just gorgeous (men) -- or, in a very few cases, ugly. I don't know about you, but I find this pandering to Hollywood producers tiresome. Oh, yes, we'll probably see Wrong Man Running on the big screen one of these days. If you like looking at beautiful people and being shocked by what they do, you might consider going. Otherwise, save your ten bucks.

(From [...])