countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home Kindle sports



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Even though the text in this particular book is available online, this side by side Elizabethan English and modern English translation of Macbeth is well worth owning. Aside from the extremely well-done translations of the old text, there are excellent explanations of what some of the lines are about. Most, as in 90% of students in high school, will struggle with Shakespearean plays, so this guide and definitive translation is a welcome addition to tools students can use to not only survive but also thrive in their English/Literature class. Obviously, for English majors, Shakespeare will also reappear in post secondary institutions, so again, this guide/translation may come to the rescue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
I'm not rating Macbeth, of course. It's a great play. What I'm rating is this edition of the text.

This is a good one. So far as I can see, the difference between good and bad eEditions of Shakespeare is first and foremost a question of whether the lines of the poetry have been preserved. Not all editions do this, which leaves the reader with a weird mishmash of paragraphs with capital letters sprinkled throughout the text. This approach - let's call it the Approach of Sloth - leaves a text that's unreadable.

But this text is fine. It's a safe choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
At the of 23, now I am 82, we were suppossed to stage this play & was to portray Touchstone. It never happened. The play as I now see it; is is light in substance but its level of verbosity is very high with an air of intellectual disposition, not my choice for a play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
I tutor for a living and needed a good guide to work with a student...this was fantastic, puts it clearly in english alongside the origional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2015
For $5, this is a pretty good find, but if you are not already well-versed in Shakespearean English, or you are purchasing this version to use with a class of students, don't bother. It lacks the helpful footnotes offered in other versions - this copy has a few supplementary notes for each page, but other versions have WAY more explanations and details, making them much easier and more enjoyable to read. Opt for an Oxford copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
i am beyond please with this book. i was having a hard time with the original writings but this made it easier to understand and appreciate the writings of Shakespeare. i recommend the no fear versions to anyone that struggles with anything written in old english.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
I really love this book came early and easy to understand and cheap too!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
I used this as a companion to the script in the rehearsal for a professional theatre production. Very helpful and informative during those times when actors and the director need a boost. Easy to understand and very relatable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
I have read "The Scottish Play," a few times, but wanted a Kindle version. This was a great choice. Included with the play, are papers explaining different aspects, vocabulary and even suggestions for reading it- in iambicpentameter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2017
Showed up in a timely manner and was as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.60
$6.50
$4.93
$6.92

Need customer service? Click here