Echo Dot bfdw boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Luxury Beauty home All-New Kindle Oasis tools

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
79
Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 2, 2017
Classique.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
my Friend loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2004
Silverstein's poems may not be beautiful or thought-provoking. In fact, they are a bit on the strange side. I have first gotten this book in first grade, and I have read it many times. A great poem that I would recommend is 'The Crocodile and the Dentist' (I believe that is the correct title of it).
If you're a parent, take time to read this with your children. Both of you will enjoy the creative and funny poems by Shel Silverstein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2003
This book holds the test of time! This is a book that one never gets tired of--it takes me back to my childhood when my sister and I would "act out" the poems, draw our own illustrations, and laugh out loud when reading the book. As an adult, I can still do the same things! Silverstein was an amazing author that could inspire the dullest of people and take you to places you never knew existed. I highly recommend this book--it is one that EVERY child should have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2003
This book is full of humorous poems and doesn't make you bored. The poems are mostly unpredictable as to how they will end. Everybody can get a laugh out of this book, and it is very easy to read. However there is a mystery of why the author wrote these poems. There are a lot of questions that make readers think. He has a unique taste which other authors do not have. People who haven't had a good laugh recently would like this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2003
Shel Silverstein has made one of the best book of poems I have ever read. The poems are light and cute and some have morals to them. Take the poem "Sara Cynthia Sylvia Stout Would Not Take The Garbage Out". This proves to kids that if you don't take the garbage out, it will just keep piling and piling up all the way to the ceiling. My favorite poem is "The Dirtiest Man In The World". I think it is so funny, but in a sick sort of way. There are lots of other poems that are funny, and I would recommend this book to any parent. I know their kids would enjoy them and will keep re-reading the book until they have the poems memorized. Some are short, some are long. The illustrations are cute just as the poems are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2002
Children have treasured Silverstein's poems and illustrations for over 25 years now. He has a way of appealing to the sense of humor of most people. The surprise ending is also a common element that keeps the reader interested. His poems range in style from simple one-line jokes, to narrative epics with a repeating chorus. The illustrations, like the poems, are sparse and very simple. The entire work has a feeling of incompleteness with the vast expanses of white space left on the pages. The voids in the book are meant to be filled by the reader's experience with the poems and illustrations. Everyone will bring something different to these poems and will therefore be effected in a different way. The page design and illustrations of Silverstein not only allow that interaction between book and reader, but also encourage it.
Why 5 stars?:
The simplicity of Silverstein's words and illustrations appeal to every reader, not just children. They show how reading can be interesting and interactive. Everybody can find a favorite little verse from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2002
Where the Sidewalk Ends is a funny poetry book by Shel Silverstein. Many of Shel Silversteins books are funny. In the specific book the poets main topic is about summer. some of the poems in this book include "Tree House", "Jumping Rope", and "Homemade Boat". One reason that i liked this book was that all of the poems are funny and weird. This makes the book greater for little kids. Another reason that i liked this book was that it was mostly about summer. Too me, summer is the best season because of summer vacation. A third reason why i liked this book was because of the crazy vocabulary. Some of his words, like "Ickle", you can use in everyday life. The final reason why i liked this book was very simple... i like poem books. Poem books are a very unique way of writing. They let you say whatever you want to say, and in what ever way you want to say it. You could even write about Little Red Riding Hood if you wanted to.

This book is aimed more towards younger children because some of the rhymes might be core appealing (or funnier) too younger kids. This is a good beginner poem book. this book isn't very long and it is filled with hilarious little poems and whatnot. it is a good book and you should go read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2000
Shel Silverstein does it again. This time with "Where the Sidewalk Ends". A great compelation of poems that will have you laughing throughout the day. When I first picked this book up, I couldn't put it down for its gripping the reader techniques with such humorous poems.
With characters in his poems ranging from any animal to any human, this book definitely has variety. I love the way Shel is able to rhyme things together and come up with such great stories in his poems......this is very evident in this book.
Most of th peoms run about half a page, some long, some short. All of course, though, have humor and really show the work put in to them. This poem book is one of Silverstein's finest and deserves some sort of award.
I want to thank Shel Silverstein for creating such a wonderful poem book and such great ideas that make you want to read the whole book in one sitting. That would definitely take time though it would be worth it.
As you can see, I really recommend anyone of any age buying this book so they can enjoy it as much as I did. Thank you for reading my review and have a nice day!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse