boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care Furniture Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 13, 2017
A mystery thriller and suspense with the benefit of historical references. I didn't think the bad guys were bad enough especially when it came to keeping the daughter Allie around. Interesting stuff about Christopher Columbus though. A clearance bin pickup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THE ADMIRAL'S MARK by author Steve Berry is a good short story mystery, thriller that's gripping and well-written.

Scott Brown is the brother-in-law of Cotton Malone, an ex-agent for the DOJ. He dies under mysterious circumstances while scuba diving in Haiti. The police give their report, but Cotton's sister and wife isn't buying it, so he travels to Haiti to find the truth. He discovers that Scott had come upon the sunken wreakage of the old Christopher Columbus ship, the Santa Maria.

The novella is packed with gripping suspense, action and heart-stopping moments. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
I dropped this book even before I got half way through it. Flat characters failed to connect with me, and a gold mine as the subject of a mystery is so old and, in my mind, so boring that it could not keep my interest. Add to it a poor writing style -- and you'll see why I dropped it. Here is just one example of the style: "When forced in 1944, during his fourth voyage, to beach his ship in St. Ann's Bay, on board was a cache in gold." The book contains some interesting facts about the history of Jamaica, and if I were interested in such history, I would have given it 2 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
The good parts of this book are a few interesting tid-bits about Jamaica and speculation about Christopher Columbus' origins. Its just not enough, however, to maintain the readers interest. The constant back and forth between events in Jamaica and in Austria and then Florida are just annoying. The flow gets interrupted too many times to keep the readers' interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
Recommended by my brother as a fabulous book and a must read, as we just returned from a vacation in Jamaica and were very familiar with the area of St. Ann's , Runaway and Discovery Bay. Very fast moving, and added to the history of the Island including an historical and present day perspective. It was an enjoyable, engaging book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
This is a cracker of a thriller. The main protagonist - Tom Sagan - , although at times he is the antagonist, is a reporter who has had his career sabotaged by people or organizations unknown to him.

At the end of what he considers a now pathetic life the real antagonist, Zachariah Simon, forces him to investigate and find him the key to a 500 year old mystery that has potential impact even in todays politically charged and sensitive environment. And to make sure our hero, anti hero, does what he is told Simon has kidnapped his daughter.

What follows is a cloak and dagger mission around the world it seems that Sagan is being used in the worst meaning of the word.

Adventure, intrigue and insight make for a rollicking read

HIGHLY recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
As usual, Steve Berry doesn't disappoint. Love all his books, lots of historical data, and where it isn't historic he has the common sense to tell us. Very well done Steve
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
Not one of his best. Ending pretty predictable. Prefer the Cotton Malone series. Did like how Berry does author comments at end to define fact from fiction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2013
It certainly was very believable and puts a whole slant on Christopher Columbus, his background and his voyages to America. It was a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
As usual, Steve Berry wrote an amazing bok, thirilling and exciting. If you love his other books, you'll love this one too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here