Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite sports Tools



on March 27, 2017
Fascinating! Couldn't put it down. I had been meaning to read it since publication but life got in the way. Meanwhile, my daughter went through a stunningly similar experience and the medical community was about as helpful as they initially were for Susannah. Even if this had not touched me personally, it is such an intense journey. Ms. Cahalan doesn't hold back and her readers are well served. This ended well for Ms. Cahalan but how many out there have experienced or will go through this nightmare?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2013
I was amazed by this book. Compelling, well written, brutally honest, I couldn't put it down. It is also informative, as Cahalan did considerable research about the brain, and included some of it in some very accessible notes. There is a genuine feeling of suspense and fear, as doctors struggle to discover what is wrong with this strange patient while Cahalan's family struggle to support her, while dealing with their own fears, and terrors. I can't recommend this book enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2017
Just finished this gripping memoir of a young woman trying to regain her memories and the woman she once was after her mystery illness almost kills her. Interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2016
I was really hoping for a little more from this book, I suppose. The writing seemed almost as disjointed as the illness...maybe that was the point? Because the author was the patient, I was hoping that the research of how others were responding to the illness, their thoughts and fears, the doctor's journey of discovery, etc. might have been a little more fleshed out. The last chapters on prognosis and resolution were very informative, though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 5, 2017
Very well written as is to be expected since Cahalan is a journalist by trade. Her story is both terrifying and fascinating and it is great that it has heightened awareness and saved lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2016
Wonderful combination of raw emotion, reconstructed events (memory loss), often times awkward personal interactions, philosophical musings and technical information. Very unusual perspective due to author's experiences and incomplete memory; excellent writing. This book kept me turning the pages until it was done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2018
A fascinating and very honest account of a young woman's struggle with a rare disease which is probably still under diagnosed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2017
such a great book. very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2017
My grandfather was diagnosed with autoimmune encephalitis several months ago. This book has helped me understand a little more of what he is going through, and is very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2018
This book reminds you of the fragility of the brain, and how important every lucid moment is. Great book! .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here