countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 31, 2016
I love this series...........lots of twists and turns...........characters who are likeable and for the most part believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
You get totally absorbed in the book, the real world disappears
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
This Swedish author has written eight novels, of which this is the fifth to be published in the United States. The first, “The Ice Princess,” was widely accepted as on a par with the best of the recent Scandinavian noir novels. As with that debut book, this novel also is set in the small fishing village of Fjallbacka and is a police procedural.

Camilla Lackberg continues the series with Detective Patrik Hedstrom taking a four-month paternity leave to care of their young daughter, Maja, and other domestic duties, and enable his wife, Erica, to write her new book. After a tough beginning, especially getting acclimated to his new duties and missing his professional work, things develop in unexpected ways. To begin with, Erica discovers some old artifacts, including an Iron Cross, belonging to her mother which leads her to divert her attention to learn more about her parent.

Erica shows the medal to a retired history professor, a specialist in Nazi history, who is murdered shortly thereafter. Another murder of an elderly woman adds to the mystery, especially since the two victims were childhood friends. Are the crimes related? The plot continues with a dual thrust, with Erica pursuing knowledge of her mother and the police investigating the crimes. And the information developed becomes intertwined.

The novel, as its predecessors in the series, is of consistently high quality, well-plotted, carefully translated and well written. Perhaps most important, the characters are natural, every-day types of people, living typical lives and working hard. The plots move forward with logic, and the loose ends come together at the end smoothly, although in a completely unexpected manner.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
A good read! I thoroughly enjoyed it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This is the 4th book of the series I have read, all have been excellent but the plot of this one kept twisting and turning until the very end and can hardly wait until I read her next novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
Again, wonderful writing and keeps your interest. Love the continuity of the characters from book to book and the small-town feel of the location of the books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
A good multi-layered plot. Really enjoyed the book. Like the characters and the history associated with the family events. I enjoy all this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
I love the historical aspects of it ... and the mystery. There was and intriguing weave of the years together
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
I have spent hours trying to 'get into this novel and it's just not going to happen. I'm about three quarters of the way through it and I don't think I'll bother with the rest of it. I am not attached to any of the characters and the plot is almost non-existent. I know I won't go looking for any of her other books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$15.99
$15.99