countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more Coffee Week home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$37.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on August 12, 1999
In case you didn't already know, the correct order for the series is thus: LWW, PC, VDT, SC, HB, MN, TLB. This is the order they were written and published, but most importantly, the order in which they were intended to be read. I love the series, but i'm giving this edition 1 star, because of the idiocy committed by the publishers who decided "hey, chronological makes more sense!" (However, instead of making more sense, the effect of this was more like a publisher taking a book full of flash-backs, and chopping it up and re-arranging it to flow linearly.)
Some people have said that this is how CS Lewis intended the books to ultimately be read (though I have yet to see some kind of quote or official word from him on the matter). However, if you have read the whole series, you could tell that if they were read in the new suggested order, meaning would be lost in the later books, and the earlier ones would be really confusing. Let me repeat, that CS only contemplated re-arranging them, but that it would only work after massive editing to make the series flow. What will the publishers do next, hire an editor to do this in Lewis' absence?
I beg of anyone who hasn't read the series - try to find an older set which is still in the correct order (pre 1993 maybe?), and barring that, at least read it for the first time in this order, or you may like the experience significantly less than you would otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
This isn't a review of the actual story as it is a timeless classic. This is a review of this particular book. Within 3 days of reading casually, not even done Magicians Nephew the pages are already falling off the spine of the book. VERY POOR QUALITY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2001
I have read the entire Narnia series twice, once while in Junior High, once later in High School. I loved them then, and I recently bought this audio book version for a long drive.
What a mistake! The abridgement takes a story that was written on several levels and simplifies to only a child's level. I recall specific plot or character defining moments that were left out. I realize any abridged version will leave out details by very definition. However, this was done in the extreme. This reads more like Mother Goose now that the rich world the Lewis created for us.
If you are introducing your children to Narnia, please get the books and read it to them. It will be a much richer experience!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2001
Really the only way to read these books is in their proper order:
1 - The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
2 - Prince Caspian
3 - The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
4 - The Silver Chair
5 - The Horse and His Boy
6 - The Magician's Nephew
7 - The Last Battle
This is the way they were meant to be read! I have no idea
who decided putting them in chronological order was a good idea
but they were wrong, wrong, wrong. You can't find them anywhere
now in the proper order which is a shame. I can't imagine getting
swept up into the world of Narnia by starting with the Magician's Nephew. What a sad development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2003
...The stories are classics as always - but this printing is on below the bar paper and covering material - esp at the asking price...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2003
I have never read the books while I was a kid and I though I was missing out. Well, last week I read the first book and it is as disappointing as it can get. The books seem to be writing even too simple for kids. They are so simple, it becomes hard to read. There is nothing special about the stories. The plot doesn't flow. I don't know why, maybe I was expecting too much, but I became very disappointing in the Narnia chronicles. C.S, Lewis can write so much better than this. If you are looking for an interesting and exciting children's' books I would recommend Harry Potter and Pullman's Dark material before you even consider reading narnia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2002
Although most of the books are ok, the Horse and his Boy and the Last Battle deal with people who live in a land called Calormen, who are dark-skinned and worship a demi-god called Tash and the land is basically meant to be dirty filthy e.t.c. and they are basically the bad guys. If this isn't the worst kind of racial stereotyping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2002
The best book of the series is the "The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe".
Some of the more worrying aspects of this series are the depictions of all White Europeans as basically good upright people in tune with nature and animals. Dark skinned people worship a false-gods filthy, evil and destroying nature etc.
Don't believe me read "Horse and his Boy" and the "Last Battle" and see how any non white people are depicted, this is a disgrace. ...
I'm not sure if the "rights sort" of Christian message is being projected....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2002
But it keeps turning up in my "Why Haven't You Reviewed" list. Tony Hillerman, James Lee Burke, and JRR Tolkien manage to write fiction that is infused with their religious faith but not "heart on the sleeve." Lewis is a bore because he has an agenda, and if you don't buy the agenda, there's not much else in the books. The fact that it's the agenda of a major religion doesn't make these books any more exciting than, say, *Pilgrim's Progress* or *Uncle Tom's Cabin.*
Raw dogma is no more palatable than raw turnips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2000
I bought these books to have something nice to read to my grandkids. I had to stop, however, because the books are nothing more than advertisments for "Turkish Delight," a candy popular in the U.K. The whole point of buying books for my grandkids was to give them a break from advertising, and here (throughout) are ads for this "Turkish Delight"! How much money is this Mr. Lewis getting from the Cadbury's chocolate company anyway? This man must be laughing to the bank!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse