countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
1,346
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$11.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 27, 2017
In the reading of "The .rapes of Wrath", i discovered that the publishers wanted to change the ending out of fear that it might cause the book to be banned. I am glad that Steinbeck declined to follow that advice. The climax of Rose of Sharon sharing her mother's milk with a starving moribund man captures the collective spirit that Stenbeck attempts to bring out in the novel. Throughout the novel, grand economic forces attempt to drive people apart. The Joad's and escally "Ma" realize the importance of the family and work tirelessly to keep it together. The Joad family is a metaphor fr the collective of the people who have been impoverished and driven from their homes by the workings of impersonal inhuman forces. The land company sends the tractors and no human makes the decision.The Joad's lose "Noah" and "Connie". Young "Tom" is driven way. But the family stays together. The family, the family becomes the exploited migrant labor class. The only way to overcome the impersonal inhuman forces that exploit them is to become more human and to join and retain the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2017
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2017
A great book. Just didn't like all the swearing . An amazing look at life in the dreadful times of the thirties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2017
Great novel. Fun to read. Thought-provoking.

Found myself absorbed and read for hours at a time without uneasiness or boredom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
Helped me get ready for a drama production. Received in record time using regular mail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
This softcover book is smaller than it looks in the picture, it measures a mear 10.5 x 19cm (4.25 x 7.5"). I do not think that it will stand up to years of readings since it is only glued and the glue is that notorious yellow glue that tends to break down and break away from the spine but time will tell. This edition was published in 1993 and is still supple. I would still purchase this edition hence the four stars. It is written in a clear font on none-white paper which I prefer. There is no forward and no afterward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2016
This was a very quick read for me. Definitely one of those classics that anyone who loves to read should get and keep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2016
Great book, bought it to read it again after all these years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
very good!it arrived in the expected date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2016
Shocking. poetic and unexpectedly raw. This is not the Henry Fonda movie. I would not recommend this as a high school or college read. This needs to be read after decades of experience in the U.S., her landscape, her people, her nations within nations. Some of the passages, such as the car salesperson stream of consciousness chapter are strikingly modern. All told, strong medicine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse