Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM home Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

The 48 Laws of Power
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$20.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 208 reviews(5 star). See all 323 reviews
on March 8, 2017
Put simply, use this book to either stop being taken advantage of, or to take advantage of others. To avoid tricks or to play tricks.

A definite help for those of us who strive to be honest and act with integrity, but can't understand why people don't appreciate it all that often. The least nefarious among us should be the first to read it. Highy recommended for anyone suffering from a professional existential crisis or something.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 30, 2017
A true gem. The way the book is structured is very clever and keeps you coming back for more. The quality of the actual book also is not to be overlooked. It is a beautiful book to hold in your hand. Very very impressive design. The content itself is full of insights, historical anecdotes and examples, it follows the mantra "don't tell me, show me". Insanely interesting. My copy is dog-eared and well worn. If ever something happened to it I would have to get another copy. An indispensable addition to any serious book collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2018
I didn't expect this book to be that funny and rich in historical events and stories ! All laws/chapters are laid out pretty much the same way so it is easy to get back later to read back and it is important because you WILL go back and read whole chapters because you realized someone used a law on you or you could have used something else to get that...

Its a loaded gun, you're happy to have it just in case and you know what a gun looks like when someone tries it on you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2015
A great book to read and note for it's information. I am amazed at how much information is in this book. It really breaks things down. The only thing I don't like is the contrary section. Once he gives you advice then he will give you a reason not to do it. That leaves the reader a little confused but, otherwise I agree with all the advice he gives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
This book has so much content for obtaining power in the simplest ways
It not only teaches you tips and tricks but also makes sure, no one abuses their power on to you...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2016
I would call this an introduction to the dark arts;) Even if you are reluctant to use too many Machivellian behaviours, there is still tremendous value in understanding the principles of power relations. This knowledge is quite dangerous in the wrong hands, so use it wisely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2013
I skimmed over a few reviews and some people say that this book is a negative way to live ones life and that the information laid out in the book is ruthless, hurtful and destructive to those around you.

Anyone who writes a review like that is either unrealistic, too emotional or does not work with the public. This book is motivational and contains practical information on how to succeed in todays instant gratification world of double crossing, two faced co workers and a delusional general public bent on selfishness.

The one point that Robert Greene stresses is that yes in a perfect world it would be great if we could succeed through being good, noble, morally driven human beings but the sad harsh truth of life is that we encounter people who do not agree with us and will attack us for reasons we cannot even fathom.

This book using historical examples illustrates the motives behind life events that are all too close to home that the average individual might just assume were random acts off ill luck towards them.

When you actually analyze your situations and look into the motives and psychology of those around you, you will be more prepared to deal with times of conflict in the future. Of course if we could all be peace loving individuals without conflict for our entire lives and yet thrive in our careers, relationships, social circles and families then wouldn't that be great...? BUT that is not and will never be the case, everyone deals with conflict sooner or later and if you are unprepared for it you will just be dumbfounded and assume that you just have bad luck, or that the world is against you.

Buy this book, read it with a PRACTICAL and REALISTIC mindset and you will reap the benefits and maybe learn a little something. If you read this book and assess every story on emotional or moral standards then you are really missing the point. Conflict is a part of life, learn to deal with it, then benefit from it, starting with this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2015
Awesome book. It can get a bit repetitive but there is much to be learned from the examples given. As with anything, there were some ideas I disagreed with but others were eye openers that changed my perception of situations and lead to me taking different approaches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2017
Very usefull book. By reading this book you will probaly realise that you've faced some of these laws before, and you will be aware of it in the futur. The book can be immoral, just like power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2015
I've read this more than once. Different stages of life give you a different perspective on the contents but it's worth it every time. The historical stories give evidence of very law. Not an easy summer read but it could change your life, it will definitely change your opinions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here