countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews(5 star). See all 77 reviews
on July 23, 2017
A great classic for any kid to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
Your little kids will love this sweet book about this wonderful bear. Timeless story that you will keep for your grandchildren...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
A classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
my fav childrens book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2001
Those elegant downtown department stores that close at 6pm are getting fewer and far between, but this book takes you back to a time when a visit to one could fulfill a child's most fervent wish or dream. Corduroy is sitting on the shelf in the toy department when Lisa spots him and, of course, wants her mom to buy him. Her mother says no, because he's missing a button from his suspenders. Well, Corduroy goes looking for the missing button that night, thinking that's why he hasn't been picked to go home with someone yet.
This story is almost a primitive variation on "Toy Story," where the toys come to a life of their own when humans aren't around. . .and of course, like Woody, Buzz, and even the Misfit Toys from "Rudolph," Corduroy knows that his purpose in life is to love and be loved by a child. If your child watches the "Corduroy" shorts on PBS, get this book and let him or her see how he first found a home. I hate to say it, but I nearly always cry when I get to the last two pages. I just love happy endings:)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2000
This is one of those books that adults, in desperation, soon need to hide. At age two, my nephew so fell in love with Corduroy that he constantly requested a re-reading and soon knew the text by heart. The kids will love the tale, which is great fun, though it will leave the reader wishing toddlers could read to themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2002
This is the story of a stuffed bear that lives in a department store and is not the most attractive toy in the store. He had a missing button and was a little bit scruffy. One little girl that goes into the store and loves the bear and wants him and Corduroy wants to live with her too. He is sad when the mother says that she can't have him. He goes around during the night to try and find the button that he lost so maybe someone would want him but he can't and is returned to the shelve he came from. The next day the girl came back and bought him and brought him home. They both loved each other so much and she even gave him a new button.
This is a really cute book. It shows that love is something more them just how something looks. The little girl didn't care that Corduroy wasn't perfect she loved him anyway. This is really story for children because this is something that they need to know. Love is not just the way something appears its more then that. It is what is inside a person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2001
Did the screenwriters of the recently released "Bridget Jones' Diary" lift Colin Firth's line "I like you just the way you are" from this wonderful 1968 kids' book (see the penultimate page's "I like you the way you are")? Well, probably not...but in both instances it's a very effective and heartfelt line, capturing the essence of unconditional, lasting love.
Corduroy is a cute little stuffed bear who nobody wants to buy: There are bigger and newer toys, and besides, the button is missing from one strap of his overalls. Only Lisa shows interest that day, but her mother hesitates and they leave without him. While looking for the button after the store closes, Corduroy experiences the wonders of a big department store: The elevator and the new beds lined in rows: "This must be a palace...I guess I've always wanted to live in a palace."
Lisa returns the next day and buys him with her own money, and the sugarcoated ending strikes up just the right amount of sentiment without becoming overbearing (no pun intended). "This must be home," he [Corduroy] said. "I know I've always wanted a home!" And then: "You must be a friend," said Corduroy. "I've always wanted a friend." "Me too!" said Lisa, and gave him a big hug. Powerful, misty-eye making stuff! Beautiful simple color pictures, and 28 pages of adventure and sweet love. Awwww-inspiring (pun intended). Highly recommended for the toddler set!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2000
This is my favorite story from childhood and I honestly believe it had a big part in making me who I am today. [The story of Corduroy displays several morals and our basic human needs; its main lesson to me is to look deeper, beyond first impressions to see what is on the INSIDE of a person--that is what really counts.] The story is so charming, adorable and incredibly special.
It begins with Corduroy in a toy department of a big store. Shoppers hurry by and never seem to notice him.[MORAL: TAKE TIME TO SMELL THE ROSES PEOPLE! WHY ALL THE RUSH?] Every day Corduroy waits hoping "for somebody to come along and take him home." [ BASIC NEED: SECURITY AND BELONGING.]
One day a little girl stops to look at Corduroy and tells her Mother that he is the bear she has always wanted. The Mother explains to her daughter that they have spent too much money already and points out a flaw in Corduroy, he is missing a button. [MORAL: IF YOU CAN'T SAY SOMETHING NICE, THEN DON'T SAY ANYTHING AT ALL!] The girl is very obedient and doesn't make a scene (like some children would today) and walks away with her Mother. [MORAL: RESPECT AND OBEY YOUR PARENTS.]
Corduroy decides to go look for his button that night. The INTRIGUING part here is Freeman doesn't state WHY Corduroy is looking for his button--is it to look better in order to get a home? (I really don't think so, nothing in this book is about vanity.) Why then? Answering that question is left up to each individual reader. [MORAL: LOOK FOR THE GOOD INSTEAD OF THE BAD IN PEOPLE AND THAT GOES FOR BEARS TOO!]
The next day, still buttonless, Corduroy wakes up to the warm smile of the girl who came to see him the day before. She introduces herself as Lisa and tells Corduroy that he "is going to be [her] very own bear." She continues to explain that she counted her money in her piggy bank and her Mother said she could bring him home. [MORAL: PATIENCE AND SAVING MONEY.] She lovingly carried him home in her arms.
Corduroy looked around the room. "This must be home," he said. "I know I've always wanted a home!" As Lisa sat down to sew a button on his shirt to make him more comfortable she said the sweetest thing, something every child (OK ALL OF US) need to hear: "I LIKE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE." And they give each other a hug.[BASIC NEED: LOVE AND ACCEPTANCE!]
I highly and wholeheartedly recommend this to children of ALL AGES! I give this my highest rating! Every child should own this endearing classic!
Thank you Don!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2002
Corduroy is the story of a cute brown bear who lived in the toy department of a big store. Each day he would wait for a child to come along and buy him and take him home. Each day the store was filled with people buying all sorts of things, but no one ever seemed to want the small bear in green overalls, because him overalls were missing a button. One morning a little girl came up to Corduroy and told her mom that he was the bear she had always wanted. The mother told the girl not today, and that he doesn't look new because he's missing a button. That night, Corduroy decides to take an adventure and search the store for his missing button. A night guard find's him though, and returns him to the toy department. The next day the little girl returns for Corduroy. She brings all the money from her piggy bank and buys Corduroy. When she return's home, she sews Corduroy on a new button. I recommend reading Corduroy, it is a classic children's story that everyone should hear at least once in their life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse