countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
233
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2016
Lovely illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2016
The book came in perfect condition and earlier than expected. This is a great edition with a very cute cover that I definitely recommend.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
Product exactly as described. My kids love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
Great classic novel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
This is a beautiful edition of Alice. It isn't as flashy of some of the editions out there, but there is something so elegant about this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2016
I absolutely adore Alice in Wonderland and have done so for over 13 years. I got this book to add to my Alice in Wonderland collection. Its a beautiful volume, nicely illustrated and very well made. I just think I would gift it to a younger family member as their first Alice book.
(PS if it helps, I am in my early twenties and a freelance illustrator. But I feel like it would be a worthy and more engaging gift for a 6-13 year old, just not for me. )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
Stunning books! The art is so unique and beautiful. What a wonderful twist on a traditional story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2016
This book was purchased for a gift, and the children love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Nice fabric cover with pink flamingos. True to the original and has original illustrations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
Six months have passed since Alice took her trip to Wonderland. She is now seven and a half and bored, so decides to go through the looking glass and see how different it is on the other side. Everything is turned around, interesting, everything goes backward instead of forward. Alice meets the chess board characters, kings, queens, castles, pawns. She decides to leave the room and go into the garden where there are so many beautiful flowers, and all of them talk. There is so much good, silly conversation. The flowers all wonder at Alice. What kind of creature is she? The queens come back and forth and out of Alice's journey. She must travel through this new country. And so many animals and folks disapprove of Alice and her ways and don't mind criticizing her.

She meets some interesting characters on her travels. Tweedledum and Tweedledee are a pair who talk a lot of nonsense. But all the inhabitants of Looking Glass Land do. Alice doesn't know what to say or think. She is trying to be a nice amiable child. But it is hard around these.

Characters start as one, a person who turns into an animal, then back to a character. Then comes in inevitable Humpty Dumpty, well known to so many children. The Lion and the Unicorn are another pair. The Red King and Queen, The White King and Queen, the White Knight all act so silly and childish that Alice seems the more adult and sensible of the crowd.

There is so much silly talk, many nice rhyming poems. Kids will love this book, reading it themselves and for younger ones, being read the poems will delight them. These books have been read and loved by young and old since 1865.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse