countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
93
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews(5 star). See all 93 reviews
on March 29, 2017
This was a book that I loved when I was young. I love horses, and I love how it teaches young children to be good to animals. This is a must read for all animal lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
A classic story. My daughter loved the movie and we enjoyed reading the book together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
BLACK BEAUTY IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
J'ai visionné le film plusieurs fois étant un de mes films préférés, et la lecture de ce livre m'a plu tout autant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
Read it before and it's awesome cant wait to read it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
This is a favourite since I was a kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
it can be easily stored for upcoming events. I have used this repeatedly . And it still works . I love it these lights are amazing and it's worth the money. This is a great little gadget that exceeded our expectation. best buy for the dollar everyone needs these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2002
Because it is a well-known classic and a children's perennial favorite, many people do not realize that "Black Beauty" is an impassioned plea for animal rights, written at a time when such a notion was dismissed as ridiculous. And because it is what it is, sensitive children may need a parent to explain that, thankfully, most of the abuses described in the book are long gone, thanks in part to crusaders like Anna Sewell.
In a story that takes place in 19th century England, a gorgeous glossy black colt, who comes to be known as Black Beauty, is born into a life of comfort and kindness. His life is a kind of horsey paradise, until the fortunes of his owners turn...and Black Beauty is sold.
Sold to a cruel owner as a cab horse, Beauty is now treated as so many hapless animals were in his day...he is virtually tortured. He is in constant pain. His knees are sore. He is made to wear a "check rein," a device that no longer exists, but which scares me to this day because of the impression its description made upon me as a child. It was a type of rein that forced the horse to keep his head up extremely high at an unnatural angle, the more to look "elegant." The pain that this rein inflicts upon Beauty is heartbreaking, and it did indeed break my heart to read it.
Along the way, Beauty meets other horses, and keeps a lifelong friend, Ginger, who also suffers. Everything comes out alright in the end, in a story that is so tender and yet meaningful at the same time, that it is a shame it is relegated by reputation to the backwaters of so-called "children's literature." It was pure muckracking, in the style of the great American muckrakers who came shortly thereafter. Will a child realize this? It's hard to know, but I know that as a child I was simply haunted by the described cruelty to this horse. And of course heartened by the ending. But I have to say that, many decades later, some of the cruelty in this book still upsets me.
Therefore, I recommend the book with a caveat: If you have a particularly sensitive or thoughtful child, please warn him or her that Black Beauty is mistreated in the story, but that because of the book, and others like it, such mistreatment of animals no longer exists. And then let your child enjoy the sheer wealth of detail in what really is, in the end, a beautiful story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2002
"Black Beauty," written by author Anna Sewell, is one of the most famous horse books during the nineteenth century. Part of its achievement consists that the novel is a classic for people with many different characteristics. First published in 1877, "Black Beauty" continues to enjoy people for new generations of American citizens around the world. Anna Sewell's brilliant account of animal treatment became a historic breakthrough because it was the first book that described a horse's experience in England. "An autobiography of a young stallion," this book follows the life of Black Beauty. Throughout the novel, it is told in a creative first person form, as if Beauty was describing and narrating his life. Ms. Sewell chose to write this book from the "horses point of view," and she remarkably was able to succeed with her novel. Since Sewell intended on writing this novel in Beauty's point of view, the reader begins to understand the impact of good and treatment towards the horse and his loyal friends. Starter of the Humane Society, the author truly captivates readers with this autobiography of a beautiful, friendly, loving black stallion. In a letter to her friend, Sewell expresses that she hopes "Black Beauty will induce kindness, sympathy, and understanding treatment towards horses." From Beauty's happy, enjoyable youth to his pleasant retirement, Anna Sewell ingeniously wrote the book to remind the cruel treatment in the 1800's. Most importantly, Sewell wrote the book in a time where horses were not given the same respect today, and "Black Beauty" helped to open the eyes of many to the cruelty horses had to suffer. Although Anna Sewell's classic paints a clear picture of the society in London, England, its message is universal and timeless: animals will serve humans well if they are treated with consideration and kindness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse