countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 23, 2007
This Pevear translation Of The Three Musketeers evokes the thought, "such a good damn read; why did I wait so long to get through it." I award another plume added the chapeau of Mr. Pevear. Oh, this is wonderful!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2009
If you're going to read The Three Musketeers, which you should, this is definitely the translation to get. Stay far away from the Lowell Blair version, which saps much of the fun from the novel. I had read the Blair version twice before reading this and Pevear injects new life into an old favorite; he really brings out the boisterous and joyful tone.

Other than issues of translation what else can be said? The Three Musketeers is probably the best adventure ever told and remains one of my favorite books of all time. This version also has the cute cover art going for it, which is much less dreary than the drab portraits on many other editions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2004
The Three Musketeers
By: Alexandre Dumas, et al
Reviewed by: E. Kim
Period: 2
The book is about that a young cadet, D'Artagnan, goes to Paris to be trained as a King's musketeer, who teams up with Athos, Porthos, and Aramis. Cardinal Richelieu and his spy, Milady de Winter, are trying to thwart the evil schemes to save the Queen's honor. Milady de Winter has poinsoned D'Artagnan's true love and gets revenge on Richelieu and Milady de Winter. There, an another spy of Richelieu, Count Rochefort, was part of this evil scheme. There D'Artagnan was having a sword battle with Rochefort and there Rochefort got stabbed by D'Artagnan's sword. Then Athos, Porthos, and Aramis called upon an executioner to execute Milady de Winter. Then D'Artagnan was called upon Cardinal Richelieu and promotes him lieutenant of the King's musketeers.
I liked the book because it is an action/adventure book that all children and adults would really enjoy. I really loved that quote,"One for all, and all for one!" because that quote saids that we must work together as a group or with a friend. In this book, it saids that they say this quote every time they fight or they did it beacause they are fighing as a team. I think that if everyone did this book as their project, they would get As or Bs. Then they will be very happy.
There will be no people rejecting this book, because they think that this is the best action/adventure book published by Alexandre Dumas. The people should get this book, it tells about the medieval period, help on your history homework about what it is like during the medieval period, this chapter book can help you with your comprehension skills.
My favorite part of this book is when that D'Artagnan and Rochefort are fighing at the church, because the sword fighing has the same technique has the medieval period. The least favorite part of this story is at the beginning of the book, because, it tells the boring stuff, no conflict, etc. The middle and the ending part is okay, but the beginning is verry dull and it doesn't tell you what happens next. So, I really enjoy this book and you might enjoy it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2002
THere is a reason that most classics are regarded as classics: they are timeless and very fun to read, often far more interesting fun than you would imagine. THis is a long book, 900 pages in the French version, but I sliced through so fast that I was sorry when it ended.
The plot outline is simple. The four musketeers - for there really are four - want to help the queen in her love for Lord Buckingham of England. All the rest is intrigue and adventure related to that. But the episodes are so funny, the chemistry between the characters so subtle and realistic, that it makes for a truly great read. Indeed, the characters of the musketeers are so well drawn, their inter-relations so complex, that a film or even a miniseries simply cannot do it justice. The glimpses at historical personnages is also fascinating, from Richelieu to Louis XIII. Finally, you get a flavor for the Paris of that epoch, with the rumbling of the religious wars in the background. But this is not a dark book, Like the Reine Margot: it is a great frolic of brotherhood and good guys and bad guys. Taken for what it is, it is one of the greatest.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2001
The novel beings by introducing one to D'Artagnan a young swordsman on his destiny to become a great Musketeer under the command under one of the most honored generals who is one of his fathers old friends. Our young Musketeer meets three friends on his way to greatness; they are the well known three Musketeers, Athos, Porthos, and Aramis On his journey to become a great musketeer he runs into some trouble. He constantly falls in love with women, and just when he finds one that he truly loves, the wife of his landlord, the evil and mischievous Cardinal kidnaps her. The four friends become very close and decide to go and save the beloved woman of D'Artagnan. While trying to find D'Artagnan's love the musketeers stumble onto a much bigger conspiracy between the Cardinal and the Queen of France who is secretly in love with the Lord Buckingham of England. But their journey is full of surprises and unexpected turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout your whole book. This is a great book to read if you are a fan of chasses and unexpected action. A lot of times you can't wait to pick up and read the book again because you want to see what is going to happen next and how it is going to turn out. The novels plot is very adventures, always keeping the reader on the edge of his seat. The descriptions the Dumas gives of the many battles and duels that take place are superb, and one of the best parts of the book. The glimpse that the reader gets into the past from this novel is fascinating for it is based somewhat on facts. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read, it really is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2000
I'm the guy who wrote the adaption for the monterey soundworks audio cassette version of Alexandre Dumas' The Three Musketeers. Just to explain what the product isn't: it isn't a book on tape. What it is: is a dramatization of the story with many different voice acters, sound effects and original music. The story is brought to life through the characters and the action. What you don't get is some English guy reading to you out of the book. You will hear the clash and clatter of the swords as the Musketeers battle the cardinal's dreaded guards. The sound of the horses' hooves and the carriage wheels upon the french cobblestone streets will reverberate throughout your car or home.
Remember, this is an adaption, which means the story is presented in a media other than the original novel. Some material, of course, had to be left out. I am proud of this adaption and how faithfully it delivers the bulk of Dumas' exciting adventures with D'Artagnan and the Three Musketeers. Any other adaption I've seen always focuses on a very small part of the novel or something other than what the story is really about. Musketeer fans, I believe, will be pleased. The monterey soundworks cassette version also serves as a great introduction for those who have not befriended our intrepid friends, Athos, Porthos, Aramis and of course, D'Artagnan. Give it a listen and email me at jmatmckinley@yahoo.com and tell me what you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2000
Because I spend a lot of time in my vehicle with my kids, I have begun seeking out these audio adaptations of classic novels put out by Monterey Soundworks...I currently had the pleasure of listening to The Three Musketeers and was very impressed. Usually an adaptation of this great story only covers the first adventure, which is only the "tip of the iceburg". These audio tapes are of excellent quality and do a fine job of bringing the complete story to life! Milady is one of the greatest villainess' in all literature and this adaptation has finally done her character justice! This was much better than any movie I've seen. I consider myself a "musketeer afficionado" as I have read the complete series...Athos, Porthos, Aramis, and D'Artagnan are very close friends of mine! If you love this story, you will also love "20 Years Later"! Read them all the way through "The Man in the Iron Mask"!
If you are already a fan, get these audio tapes...you won't be disappointed! They are also a good vehicle to introduce someone who may be intimidated by the heft of the book to familiarize themselves with the story and develop an attachment to the characters, which is very easy to do with these characters!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 1999
Having been a Special Operations operator for over 8 years, I beleive I speak from experience when I state that the most important aspect of being a soldier is the trust and devotion that you develop regarding your teammates. This trust and dedication is much more intense when you enter the realm of special operations, such as those conducted by Athos, Aramis, Porthos, and D'artagnan. I find that Dumas has captured the spirit and motivation that exemplifies all that I have experienced as a soldier. Some have quibled that the fighting and combat scenarios are not realistic, however I find that the reason and motivation, along with the unquestionable support that each of these comrades in arms provides to his teammates, is much more at the heart of what Dumas has accomplished with this work. Friendship and unquestioning trust and loyalty are what enables a specops team to succeed where others fail. It is these same individual qualities which are so perfectly portrayed in the Three Musketeers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 1999
This book was one of the most captivating adventure tales I've ever read. It follows the adventures of the four french musketeers (well, three of them are musketeers to start off with): Athos, Porthos, Aramis, and d'Artanagan. The book is filled with swashbuckling action, government and court intriuge, and new plot twists at every turn. It paints a wonderful picture of life in past times, set in the colorful world of post-medieval France. Although young d'Artanagan is the hero of this book, the other characters are just as well portrayed. I particuarly liked Athos: his combonation of nobleness, military genius, sorrow, bitterness, thoughtfulness and mystery made me want to skip ahead to his parts of the book. All in all, this was a wonderful read, and a classic for anyone who loves adventure stories. I could find no qualms with this book, except that it did not keep going. Go out and buy it now! You won't be disappointed. All for one, and one for all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2000
This was one of my favorite books, growing up. Dumas created a fast-paced, intriguing story of passion, friendship, treason, and politics. Who could forget the irresistible force of the four friends: the clever hothead D'Artagnan, so young and full of initiative; the cunning and calculating Aramis; the naive and good-natured Portos, with his superhuman strength; and the wise, disillusioned Atos, still full of inner strength amid his drinking. The main love story of the book is not that compelling. It somehow pales amid all the action. There are also a few chronological inconsistencies in the book that resulted from Dumas' neck-breaking pace of writing books. But these can be easily overlooked along with a somewhat unrealistic course of events. This still is a fabulous, entertaining story. The book's strongest appeal is to the readers in their teens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse