countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
128
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Joseph Boyden helps to bring the issues that arose at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission to the forefront for those who were not subjected to the history of abuse that befell the First Nations and Aboriginal people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
A very interesting journey and a must read, for those who enjoy adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
Love this book so much. One of my favourites of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2017
Initially I thought that this book was disjointed but after a few chapters I became hooked. A book that tells about two people (aunt and nephew) on a journey of healing - she of her past (late 19th / early 20th c) and he of WW1 which robbed him of his dignity and health. During the journey I came to admire the older auntie and pity the younger man. Thoroughly enjoyed, without giving up too much of this story. It is a book that you just want to read and read some more. An excellent author who engages the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
heartbraking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
Good book. Gets dark at times but it's a good experience. Don't let Boyden's questioned background get in the way of you reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
A gripping horror story of trench warfare in WWI, and of lives and spirit lost.

Two talented boyhood friends turn their considerable skills--a product of their shared life histories and culture--to the task before them: hunting and killing the enemy.  And in so doing they are transformed while losing a part of themselves on the battlefields of western Europe.

"Their eyes have the look of long and terrible fighting, of seeing things that men should not be witness to..."

WWI was also the war that helped establish an identity for young Canada. We defined ourselves as an independent nation, as a nation that could stand and fight for our freedoms and those of our allies.

 "The Canadians are proving to be the only ones who win their battles.” 

The two friends traverse a ruined landscape and fight in skirmishes and battles in familiar places such as Vimy ridge, Passchendaele, and Amiens where Canadians proved to be most formidable foe. 

The indigenous peoples of Canada played a part and sacrificed for a country thst at best proved indifferent. So this story was a story waiting to be told: an historical fiction about two Cree soldiers from Northern Ontario, inspired by real people and events. About a third of all First Nations peoples ages 18-45 enlisted during WWI and many distinguished themselves as scouts and snipers (source: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada).

Thank you Joseph Boyden for telling this story, and so well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2016
I loved this book. The author is one of my favourites and I look fwd to the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.30
$15.42

Need customer service? Click here