countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle sports tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on June 3, 1998
This book, like most of Dumas' work is wonderful. His adventure stories still evoke a sense of wonderment and raise the hairs on the back of your neck. Most movies of the same titles do not portray the events as he wrote them, but I have found that most accomodate the tempo or the 'feel' of his novels. I would additionally like to set the record straight on the trilogy argument that I see in most of the reviews in this page. The series was originally published as a trilogy, The Three Musketeers, Twenty Years After, and Vicomte de Bragelonne. The Vicomte de Bragelonne is now published by most in three volumes: Vicomte de Bragellone, Louise de la Valliere, and finally The Man in the Iron Mask. I have seen it split into four parts with Ten Years Later being placed in between the Vicomte de Bragellone and Louise de la Valliere. This splitting was done because when the three are combined, or rather not split, the novel is large and cumbersome to read. I hope that all this literary information does not detract one from the greatness of this series however, it is truly a wonderful tale to read about, and the story endures through to modern times with the same ferver in which it was released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 1998
I really adored this book, but the main reason I wrote was to clear up the number of books in the series. It is not a trilogy, because a trilogy is 3 books, not the 5 of the three guardsmen series. The Three Musketeers is first, then Twenty Years Later, then Ten Years Later, Louise de la Valliere and Man in the Iron Mask. There are six if you count the Son of Porthos,which is mentioned at the end of Man in the Iron Mask.
I enjoy this series, because their friendship come before all, even when they are working for seperate causes, a trait well illistrated in Twenty Years Later
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 1998
I've read four of the five (and it's not a TRILOGY with 5, gang!), as well as 9 other Dumas classics now out of print. It's great to see the classics coming back in style again!! If you like Dumas, check out Rafael Sabatini. H. Godfrey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here