countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
1,874
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$50.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 178 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on July 11, 2016
HarperCollins; 60th Anniversary edition edition (June 19 2014) - This is a "Study" set, as equal to a text-book set as one could get. The books are beautifully bound in black hardboards with sewn, smooth high quality paper. The print is crisp and easily read. Although the main book is broken into it's three volumes it follows the pagination of the 50th anniversary set; meaning the page numbering in volume 2 picks up right where the page numbering in volume 1 ends. Thus, to follow along in the Readers Companion you use the standard pagination numbers, not the volume specific numbering that is intended for a different 3 volume set in publication.

From what I have read so far, the annotations are top grade and are from renowned Tolkien Scholars. They summarize into one book, easily followed with the text, much of the information available on the variation of text and meanings etc. that exist in other Tolkien texts such as Christopher's "Histories of Middle-Earth". (I have that set too - worth every penny!).

All in all, I am extremely pleased with this purchase and am sure these books will give years of pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
Inglis has a marvelous narration voice and style. While Tolkien's poetry and songs have an integral part in the story, I kind of wish Inglis didn't try to sing the songs as he does. I would have preferred a spoken version of the songs or, perhaps, a professional singer. However, this is a small portion of the story and Ingls' unabridged reading is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
Good product but the plastic wrap came damaged and it looked old
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
Book corners were a bit banged up, I think from shipping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
My girls love these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Good value for a great trilogy . Print and books were a bit smaller then I expected. Overall happy with purchase. Delivered very quick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
This edition is a hardcover more vintage looking version of the classic. Amazing feeling of quality right down to the printing paper used. The friend whom I got it as a gift was very pleased. Will last decades in his family library. Just like anything tolkien wrote should
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
These books are nice and easy to understand. In future I will get more in order to increase my knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse