Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

on July 11, 2016
HarperCollins; 60th Anniversary edition edition (June 19 2014) - This is a "Study" set, as equal to a text-book set as one could get. The books are beautifully bound in black hardboards with sewn, smooth high quality paper. The print is crisp and easily read. Although the main book is broken into it's three volumes it follows the pagination of the 50th anniversary set; meaning the page numbering in volume 2 picks up right where the page numbering in volume 1 ends. Thus, to follow along in the Readers Companion you use the standard pagination numbers, not the volume specific numbering that is intended for a different 3 volume set in publication.

From what I have read so far, the annotations are top grade and are from renowned Tolkien Scholars. They summarize into one book, easily followed with the text, much of the information available on the variation of text and meanings etc. that exist in other Tolkien texts such as Christopher's "Histories of Middle-Earth". (I have that set too - worth every penny!).

All in all, I am extremely pleased with this purchase and am sure these books will give years of pleasure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 1, 2017
This is a staple of any fantasy collection. It's a small, nice looking simple cover that matches the rest of this set, at a reasonable cost. I was surprised to see some black and white line illustrations in it. Other reviewers have commented on the type being too small. Personally, I never noticed this at all. It seemed pretty standard size to me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2015
60 years have passed since the previous events of The Hobbit. Bilbo Baggins has become a 111 year old Hobbit man! Bilbo holds a birthday party in the Shire as he leaves Bag End for a holiday back in Rivendell to finish the rest of his memoirs. Yes, Elrond is alive and well. Frodo, Bilbo Baggins' heir, is requested by Gandalf to set out on a dangerous quest with the Ring to dispose of it in the boiling Cracks of Doom! That way, the fiend Sauron will be vanquished and won't regain his former power. Three other young Halflings named Samwise Gamgee, Meriadoc Brandybuck and Peregrin Took join Frodo Baggins on this mission. Gandalf the Grey gives Frodo the name Underhill for anonymity as Bilbo made the mistake telling Gollum his true identity, and almost tracked him down at the Hobbit's homeland to pilfer back his ''Precious'' that was taken. On the way, the Hobbits are being stalked by suspicious Black Riders on horseback...

Unlike The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings doesn't have much pictures, save the decorated arch leading to the entrance of the Moria Mines and five maps outlining Middle-earth's locations. I nevertheless loved those illustrations and how J.R.R. Tolkien did the stylized ancient bold lettering on the One Ring for chapter 2. It's also a much longer novel!

I had an incredible time happily reading the first half to The Fellowship of the Ring that was packed with excitement and daring adventures Frodo and his companions experience during their travels!

J.R.R. Tolkien sheds some light by introducing other Hobbit races which exist throughout Middle-earth besides the Bagginses and Tooks. One of them are the Stoors, the kin Gollum (or should I say Smeagol) once belonged until his grandmother and relatives disowned him. He isn't entirely altogether malevolent.

It left me grieved learning Balin unfairly died! He was the closest Dwarf to Bilbo Baggins. Orcs are cold-blooded savages who really deserve death, not Gollum! Oin, too, suffered a terrible end. I barely held back my tears! (sobbing)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2015
Frodo's group have gotten separated following the premature passing of Boromir who succumbed to fatal injuries when fending off goblin troops. Aragorn, Gimli (Gloin's son), and Legolas Greenleaf put his body to rest on a boat to cast it off into the mournful stream. Where the currents will soon carry him away to his dearest brother, Faramir. Elsewhere, the two Hobbits Pippin and Merry eluded their captivity of the Orcs. They unite with the Ent trees backed by jolly Treebeard so they can confront the traitor warlock Saruman at Dark Tower Orthanc for mercilessly chopping down and killing numberous Ents. Gandalf fans need not despair anymore; the wizard had triumphantly come back from death and had been revived as Gandalf the White! We're introduced to the infamous Grima Wormtongue: Theoden's faithful servant and Saruman's underhand spy with a manipulative streak! Meanwhile, Gollum remains on the loose, having somehow escaped imprisonment by the Wood-elves. Attaboy! He again tracks down Sam and Frodo by nightfall, despite detesting moonlight. But Bilbo Baggins' nephew manages to subdue the imp. Frodo brings out the nicer Smeagol personality in Gollum, and he agrees to help him and Sam out on their venture in destroying the One Ring as a guide. Samwise Gamgee continues to be wary of ''Stinker'' and suspects he's hatching some sort of scheme.

I had been pleased J.R.R. Tolkien finally decided to place focus on Gollum by his long-awaited reappearance in Book Four of The Two Towers. The imp played too small a role back in The Hobbit, and I really have a thing for that Middle-earth character. He cracked me up in certain parts of the second Lord of the Rings novel! Had no idea the little rascal's a finicky eater! Whether Smeagol will stay good or regress back to his devious Gollum self, I will not say. Read on and find out what happens!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2015
I cannot say anything negative about The Hobbit or LOTR that's how much I love these books. Hadn't read either in years so with the release of the Hobbit trilogy films I figured it was time to get reacquainted. I'm so glad I did. This "little" book is jam packed with adventure and just plain fabulous. My mom read these books to me as a kid and I would recommend all mothers do that, what special memories that keep you coming back for more visits to the Shire and beyond. No doubt it will get read a few more times of the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 6, 2013
The presentation of this collectors edition is very nice. Although I'm always afraid of Gold embossing wearing off in my hands, this cover looks well done. The hard cover is finnished in a green leatherlike textured (paper?), as is the slip case. The presentation of the cover of the box slip case would have been better if the title picture had been inlaid instead of adheared to the box as a sticker (the reason for the loss of one star), but of course it is only a cover. I found the typesetting large, clean, and easy to read on its bright white paper with bright green title accents. Most Illustrations are in a woodcut two colour wimsical style with a few full colour watercolour paintings. I think you will find this edition a joy to read. The cover presentation is far better than the 50th anniversary single volume edition of "The Lord of the Rings" by Harper Collins, which has a gold embossed, near black (seems faded) paper dust jacket covering a red gold embossed canvas-textured paper hardcover.Lord Of The Rings Single Volume Cl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2017
I love this edition. My daughter 3 at the time, and I read it through over the course of a couple months. She enjoyed the story so much that we're now reading it a second time!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 2, 2013
I just wanted to preface this, to say this reviews is for the 75th anniversary box set, as there doesn't appear to be an awful lot of reviews for this particular set online.

This is a great collection, and the covers are quite attractive. The font size is definitely a bit small, but nothing unbearable (and I pretty much despise small fonts in books). I come from reading on the Kindle almost exclusively, and due to the pricing of ebooks these days, it was cheaper to buy this box set than to just buy LotR by itself, so, pick it up and save a few dollars, and you'll also have a nice bookshelf addition.

Fantastic set, great books (which I won't review because you don't just buy LotR without having heard of it before). Definitely pick this up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2011
I always enjoy reading this as part two of "the Lord of the Rings". To approach it any other way is to rob it of the proper context, and therefore its true potential to entertain and transport the reader to another world. If approached properly, this author's works should be enjoyable for many.

To anyone considering this 3 part story, try reading "the Hobbit" first. It is a valuable introduction to this world of characters and an easy way to find out if you have a taste for J.R.R.Tolken's works. It also gives you information on events and characters that are often referred to throughout "the lord of the rings" and a sense of this story's background. This adds valuable context.
Bottom line: If a person is familiar with "the Hobbit" then they will simply find it easier and more enjoyable to read "the lord of the rings" for the first time.

The two towers is the most detailed section of this story, and the easiest in which to get lost, (or bored)so it should be read in the proper order; after "the fellowship of the Ring" and (preferably) after "the hobbit"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2017
Amazing stories from an amazing author! Classics! The size and quality or the paperbacks is questionable, but that doesn’t take away from the experience of the world you become enveloped in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here