Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(5 star). See all 118 reviews
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon August 1, 2016
The zombie genre tends to use the same formula over and over. The plague breaks out, a character or two escape, they begin a journey, interpersonal conflicts abound, people get eaten and then the author turns it into a series. Brooks is to be lauded for not going the series route with World War Z even though he easily could and for employing a unique format. The novel is a collection of individual accounts narrated by an agent of the United Nations Postwar Commission. The war being a devastating global conflict against zombies.

When I first read it, I enjoyed it as a fast-paced horror-thriller. It was thoroughly entertaining and one of those books you never wanted to end. Since publication many professional reviewers have gone deep in their analysis. They claim that Brooks uses the book to criticize government ineptitude, corporate corruption, and human short-sightedness. In my second reading, I admit that those themes or observations are present but they seem to be used to add to the story not to make an overt statement. As the book notes, “Most people don't believe something can happen until it already has. That's not stupidity or weakness, that's just human nature.”

Brooks was inspired by The Good War: An Oral History of World War Two authored by Studs Terkel. Having read that history I can see the influence it had especially in this line from World War Z, “They say great times make great men. I don't buy it. I saw a lot of weakness, a lot of filth. People who should have risen to the challenge and either couldn't or wouldn't. Greed, fear, stupidity and hate. I saw it before the war, I see it today. [...] I don't know if great times make great men, but I know they can kill them.” Another quote from the book is, "Fear sells". That is certainly true given World War Z has sold well over a million copies and the movie version brought in $540 million.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 2009
This book is far better than any book about zombies has a right to be. A collection of stories, featured documentary style from the survivors of the fictional zombie affliction that nearly destroyed mankind. While the zombie war was fictional, it reads very real throughout this book. You feel as if these stories come from real survivors of a real catastrophy. Funny, clever, horrific - you get it all here. Surprisingly very very good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2014
It's too bad that this book won't ever be made into a video series. The movie, as good as it was, couldn't begin to convey the completeness, the detail and breadth of this narrative. It's incredibly well done and almost impossible to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2013
I really enjoyed this book as it was really well written, very suspenseful and really made me reflect how our world systems operate and how fragile they really are. The zombie parts were quite graphic but with a book you can spend as much or little on those parts as you want. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys action, potitical topics and obviously zombie myths
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2009
This is the most creative, enjoyable book I have read in a long time. I read fiction, love fantasy and sci-fi, and World War Z was riveting. The story is presented as short interviews to chronicle the Zombie War. Beautiful mix of modern social/political issues with...near extinction by zombies. Wasn't sure what to think about this book, so I took a chance. Loved it. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2013
I read this book after it was recommended. I think it is my first zombie book, and it was thoroughly enjoyable. A range of personal stories, told at a global level covering a crisis that changes the earth.

Great read, couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2010
It's hard to imagine a more compelling fictional account of the full range of possible events in a worldwide apocalypse. Zombies are the driver, but it is the breadth of storytelling that shines in the book. Very few works of fiction will go as far as the social and cultural aspects of reconstruction. Imagining the Hollywood consultants instructed by their former servants how to properly clean up the mess is priceless. Some stories are captivating because of their personal and emotional renderings, like the dog crews charged with locating wandering zombies and an AWOL submarine unable to decide when they can safely submerge. Many such situations have repercussions that seem obvious in hindsight, but require a remarkable vision to imagine and portray realistically.

The quality of the writing is impeccable and the imagination of the author truly remarkable. Never has the story of an apocalypse conveyed so humanly the variety of experiences created by a world changing event.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2013
Bought this book a couple of years ago before the movie was produced. It's definitely better than the movie.
And plus I got the book on sale from Amazon!

Looking for a leisure book, this is it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2011
There is alot of books in the zombie apocalypse genre right now. Most follow the same path but this one is follow his own. Also one of the only positive one. There is a big part of hope in this story which is very surprising for this kind of story. It's written in the same short story style as previous work from Max Brooks which is very interesting and permits a better view on the world it's happaning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2013
I was impressed. The book got better as I read further. Get through parts that you can't relate to, and there's always a part later that you CAN relate to. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse