countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
113
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2014
An absolute must for any student of American history, or any student of American covert dealings. American Tabloid lays bare the murky under-workings of the United States cira 1959 - 1963. In this the first (and best) of Ellroy's USA Underworld Trilogy, you're given a front row seat to history as it unfolds in Post-War America.

This peek behind the curtain is an old-school page turner, sometimes appalling and always harrowing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
History has always been written by the victors - and they have the tendency to iron-out all its bloody details and hide all their dirty secrets. This a TRUE CLASSIC: imagine a history book that reads like a tabloid. Every story up close and personal, complete with every gory detail described. IN CINEMASCOPE & TECHNICOLOR.

The dirty making of the Kennedy fortune. Hoover as a hypochondriac cross-dressing extortionist. Everybody wiretapping everybody. The Camelot President clocked at 6 minutes. The Mob rigs the election for said President; invades Cuba with clansmen and Castro's exiles in blood-lust frenzy; gets burned - and gets even the only way it knows how. And in the middle of it all, two FBI agents trapped in a downwards spiral of serving multiple masters.

JAMES ELLROY does not pretend to write the dark side: he has barely escaped it himself and knows all its intoxicating scents and shadows. Read for the plausible details of history's margins. Enjoy the staccato prose of natural wit, verbatim FBI communication files and 50's Tabloid lingo.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2002
Reading all the reviews about this book is quite repetitive : everyone seems to consider Ellroy as a cute story-teller with complicated but breathtaking plots. I have even read that American Tabloid was a good MTV thriller !!!
Well, one cannot understand Ellroy without having read some of his major books and especially my dark places, his most personnal work. Ellroy is a story-teller, that's a fact, but whereas America has a bunch of story tellers, it only has one Ellroy. His style is unique and exhilarating and American tabloid is probably the best example of his talented writing. Read it and be prepared to have no sleep for a while. This book, whose plot is inspired by FBI files recently made public, is hard to appreciate because it is mature, tenseful, nervous and also so very dark. That's the way Ellroy is and that's the way he is, as far as I'm concerned, one of America's greatest talents in writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
I thought the book started out well but it was much too long in my opinion. the idea and approach to the story was good but I found the radical shifts and apparently unmotivated actions of characters unconvincing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This novel about secret governmental departments and their unexpected activities is superbly written and rivets the reader to each page. Packed with action and nostalgia over history long past, it strikes chord after chord, as familiar events are given a violent twist by this story telling genius.

Other reviews detail the characters and style; I can only add that I was astounded by the brilliance in which this novel was researched, written, and organized. It takes action and psychological thrillers to a new level of genius.

In terms of crime drama, its tops, and a must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2004
Ellroy's "American Tabloid" takes the Kennedy-Bay of Pigs era and throws it in the shredder, hacking through the Golden Age myths of Camelot and the reader's pre-conceptions about the JFK presidency.
America has never looked so seedy or corrupt. In a work that should be accompanied by a Quentin Tarantino-selected soundtrack, Ellroy spins a tale of duplicity, false alliances, and mutual interest that alternately unites and tears apart the men of the CIA, the FBI, the Mob, the Teamsters, and teven he insane Howard Hughes. The trio of anti-heroes who drive the story forward, Pete Bondurant (hand-cuff snapping hired muscle), Kemper Boyd (Kennedy wannabe from the CIA), and Ward Littel (fallen FBI angel) rub shoulders with the Kennedys, J. Edgar Hoover, and other infamous movers and shakers from the period.
One hopes that Ellroy's exhilirating tale is not historically accurate, but Ellroy weaves enough historical detail that you feel as if "you are there, live!" If even one tenth of Ellroy's tale *is* true, then we are reminded how fragile and savage our American experiment with democracy really is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2003
As a reader of primarily non-fiction (history/economics), I am no expert on popular authors. However, after reading American Tabloid, it is clear that James Ellroy is a cut above the bestseller-writing hacks. The story is fascinatingly complex, and focuses on recent history as seen through the eyes of three very different lead fictional characters. Ellroy reminds one of Gore Vidal in his tendency to use fictional characters and their perceptions of what is going on around them to express his own historical interpretations. Since much of his historical interpretations are conjecture involving conspiracies, the novel is the perfect writing medium for Ellroy. He turns actual historical figures into peripheral characters in the lives of the fictional ones. Ellroy's distortions of history are amusing, entertaining, and fairly harmlesss. Readers who were put off by Ellroy's esoteric writing style in previous novels (White Jazz, L.A. Confidential) need not worry. This time around, he is a bit more reader-friendly. Above all, the story is top-notch. This is a rather lengthy book, but you will breeze through it. It is a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2002
In "American Tabloid", James Ellroy achieves what few authors ever accomplish. He flawlessly writes his own characters into the political and mob world of the late 1950's and early 1960's, and he makes his plot believeable. As you read conversations that include, JFK, RFK, Sam Giancanna and other famous mob bosses, you have to wonder "this IS fiction, isn't it"
"American Tabloid" focuses on the mafia's role in the election of JFK, the Bay of Pigs, and the JFK assasination. As in all of Ellroy's books, no one gets away clean. Pete Boudurant, mob bagman and muscle; Kemper Boyd, FBI agent, CIA operative, looking out only for number one; and Ward J. Little, an FBI agent with a bizzare love/hate obsession with the Kennedy's. These ruthless men and their dealings provide the framework for one of the most brutal, ambitious novels ever written.
Ellroy has finally perfected his staccatto prose that he dabbled with in "LA Confidential" and experimented with openly in "White Jazz". The effect is like a literary high, as the book manages to develop several complex charchters with 50's/60's slang and short sentances. The book picks up quickly and never lets up. This book turned me onto the world of James Ellroy, and any reader with an interest in crime fiction needs to read this. Ellroy's second masterpiece, after "LA Confidential".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2002
With American tabloid James Ellroy has created something remarkable and brilliant. Defying many who would pigeon-hole him as simply a crime writer, Ellroy comes into his own as very astute political observer.
Tracing the fortunes of 3 ruthless men in the run up to the Kennedy assassination, Ellroy masterfully weaves a tapestry of intrigue that never fails to capture the readers imagination. The three men, kemper Boyd: a Machiavellian FBI agent/Kennedy consort/CIA operative, Ward J Littell: an FBI agent who finds himself becoming disillusioned with both his job and J Edgar Hoover's rabid campaign against communism. And Pete Bondurant, sometime contract killer, shakedown man and Howard Hughes's own personal Mr fixit.

Of course everyone knows that the book is leading up to the assassination of JFK. But it's how Ellroy gets us there, and the theories that he presents that really set this book apart. As fascinating as Ellroy's dissection of the JFK conspiracy is, it never leaves behind in any way the character development of all three protagonists. Kemper Boyd who's own particular house of cards start to tumble with the inevitable results. Ward J Littell who from seeing the Kennedy administration as his own (and indeed America's) personal salvation, starts to realise that reality is a much less idealistic proposition. And Pete Bondurant, a man who like Boyd is walking a tightrope between the mob, the CIA and his own conscience.
The scale and ambition of tabloid are amazing. Taking us from early 1958 right up to November 22nd 1963 and *that* motorcade, Ellroy never lets the tension drop. It is a tribute to Ellroy's skill as a writer that the 500+ page book never once drags,and if anything defies the reader to put it down lest they miss something.
A true masterpiece of contemporary fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2002
I don't want to bore anybody and discuss the strengths of this book in great detail; other reviewers have already said everything about AT that needs to be said. Let me just say that it is a breathtaking thriller; a mesmerizing description of a fascinating period in American history; and a crazy maze of interwoven fictitious and historically true events. Let me warn ya'll: Do not start reading this book while studying for finals, finishing a project, or getting ready to get married: you'll fail the bar, get fired, or lose your loved one. This book is a page turner; it's basically impossible to put it down before you know what finally happens to Kemper Boyd, Ward Littel, and Pete Bondurant, and their crazy friends from Camelot, the mob (watch out for the duck: "Quark, Quark"), and the insane Cuban brain splasher faction.
What you should not expect from this book is historically accurate information. Take in mind that this is a novel, not a history book. Does anybody seriously believe that such a large number of people knew (and know) the truth abouth Kennedy's assassination and none of them ever talked, none of them ever revealed the truth, not even on their deathbed? It takes a fool to believe that. However, I don't believe that Ellroy would ever claim to make an attempt at rewriting American history. What he does, though, is painting a vivid picture of the Kennedy years, a dense description of the people that defined this time and the events that shaped this and coming eras.
There were a few things I didnt't particulary like (that's why I didn't award the book the highest possible rating).
I just don't understand why Ellroy's main characters always have to be such super heros. Had this not been fiction but a real story, Pete Bondurant would have had his brain blasted out on several occasions. E.g., the way he takes out whole packs of Cuban thugs sometimes borders on the comical.
Another thing that I found somewhat irritating were the never-ending effusions of profanities. I can not imagine and I have never heard anybody using the f... word as many times as Ellroy's characters do. I can't help it, but I am under the impression that Ellroy just wants to demonstrate that, the successfull author he is, he can basically write whatever he wants and however he wants.
And finally, the ending was disappointing. It seems as if there was a specific reason for Ellroy to end the book in such hasty a way. Perhaps the manuscript was due, I don't know. But the final pages of AT were about the lamest Ellroy has ever written.
However, despite its few shortcomings, I consider this book a great achievement. I don't know of any novel in which fiction and historic events are interwoven in such an artful and artistic way, and I can't wait to start reading "The Cold Sixthousand".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$22.42
$15.27

Need customer service? Click here