countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Pets Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 23, 2017
arrive on time. low price. very nice . my sister need it , It's so sharp. I cut myself the first time I used it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2002
This is the twenty-fifth book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld--a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle, anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. When William de Worde stumbles upon a group of dwarves setting up their new invention (a printing-press with movable type), he suddenly finds his little newsletter transformed into a giant, mass-market newspaper. But, when the Patrician of Anhk-Morpork is accused of murder, and the city goes up in an uproar, Mr. de Worde suddenly finds himself at ground zero. Strange things are happening, and Mr. de Worde finds that he has a master whom he must serve--the truth!
As always, Terry Pratchett is the master of telling a gripping story, where at time two and more storylines are running simultaneously, all without causing the least bafflement to the reader. I loved the characters, including a vampire on the wagon, a very serious zombie, several homicidal maniacs, Samuel Vimes, a load of armed and dangerous dwarves, and a secret informant known as...Deep Bone. This is another great Pratchett book, one that I recommend wholeheartedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Terry Pratchett is one of the rare few authors who can progress a series without tiring his subject matter or his invented universe. This is outing twenty-five, and Discworld is as fun as ever -- maybe even more so. It's a world of vampires, hard-nosed cops, incredibly cynical politicians, and idealistic li'l newspapermen.

William de Worde, a member of the elite (read: snotty) classes, wants to start a newspaper, the Ankh-Morpork Times, using printing presses with movable type and employing dwarves. Soon he has also gained a skilfull but very ladylike reporter named Sacharissa, and a photographer vampire named Otto. Their news remains fairly dull (except for "funny" vegetables) until the Patrician is accused of murder.

The problem is that William wants to tell the people the Truth -- which gets him enemies, fast. The Times soon has competition from a tabloid; William and his staff are being targeted by a pair of hit men, including Mr. Tulip, who is a strong-arm psychopath with very fine sensibilities and a very dirty vocabulary. With the help of the Watch, and the Truth on their side, William and his friends unravel the mystery to find out who committed the murder, and who wants the presses stopped for good.

It's really, really hard to write a good satire. Really ----ing hard, as Mr. Tulip would put it. And when it's about something like freedom of the press, truth and journalism, it has the potential to be hideously dull. Fortunately Terry Pratchett's light dialogue and fun characters keep "The Truth" afloat.

Despite more than two-dozen books, Pratchett does a good job with the absurdities of reporting, running a paper, and dealing with less-than-pleasant locals. But he also wraps all this humour around a solid murder mystery, where motives are abundant and suspects are few. And Pratchett is one of the few authors who opts for bleeped out dialogue. ----ing funny.

William is a nice if rather passive hero, but the real scene-stealer is Otto. Not only is he lovably eccentric, but he gets the best scenes, like when the camera flash causes him to totter around screaming ("AAAARGH!"), or burn up into a little pile of ashes ("Oohhhhhbbugggerrr!"). Pratchett has created a lot of memorable characters, but few as lovable as Otto. And backing the cast is a gang of dwarves who are gritty, gruff and occasionally engage in singalongs.

The Discworld series is still going strong in its mid-twentieth volume, and Pratchett still has a knack for funny dialogue and lovable characters. Believe me, that's "The Truth."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2004
There is always a certain joy in reading any Pratchett book which features familiar places and faces. This book is consistent in style and content with most of his other Discworld novels.
However, at the end of my second reading of this book, there were no particular jokes or paragraphs that I felt like re-reading. Nothing really memorable. As always, there was a large dollop of pop-philosophy, which in some of his books is more amusing/interesting than in this one (c.f. Small Gods, for example).
The introduction of "dark light" to the story seemed to be superficially thought out and unnecessary to the story, adding neither plot nor humour (or "humor" for american readers) nor depth to the reader's understanding of the Discworld.
However, as can always be relied upon, there were some new and unusual characters to enjoy (the vampire who is enthralled with flash iconography) and enough of a plot to retain my interest.
Many of Mr Pratchett's books would get an enthusiastic 5 stars from me; this one barely achieved 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2001
Before I read The Truth I had read the book, listened to the tape, seen the play or watched the video of every other discworld. Yes I am a fan. The Truth is my favourite to date, just snipping ahead of Men At Arms and Soul Music. The Truth has all the elements which makes Terry a brilliant author: great humour, good plot twists and clever parallells with the 'real' world.
William de Worde is the wealth rejecting son of an Ankh-Morpork noble. To earn a living he sends a news letter to various foreign dignitaries for $5 each. However an encounter with the discworld's first engraving press launches him into editing The Ankh-Morpork Times, which anyone can afford to buy. Along the way he is helped by an engraver's daughter, a vampire iconographer, who has a tendancy to crumble to dust whenever he takes a picture, and a man who wants William to print pictures of his humourous shaped vegetables. Things seem to be going well, untill William falls into trouble with the Engraver's Guild and the Patrician attacks his clerk. A plot's afoot. There's a new firm in town.
This is a must read for anyone who has even a minor interest in Terry Pratchett.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2002
2 stars only as compared to the rest of Pratchett's novels. As a general book, I'd give it at least 3.5.
This book had something missing. Some of it was amusing, secondary characters such as Otto the recovering vampire were funny and we got to see cameos by Watch members and some of the Wizards, but it left me feeling pretty flat. This was made all the more noticeable by the fact that I read this directly after the Fifth Elephant, which has to be my favorite Discworld book.
Of course, this is purely a subjective review. To make it clearer where I am coming from on this: I like Pratchett's later books much better than his earlier ones, and as for his cast of characters, I love the ones in the Watch books and find myself bored by those in the Witches' books.
Some of the problems with the book were:
1. The villains. Neither scary nor original nor amusing. And the "-ing" got VERY tiresome after a while.
2. The plot: there are two many missing holes in the story, giving you the feeling that you've skipped something.
3. Most important: the lack of truly interesting characters. The reason I like the Watch books the best is because the characters in those books fascinate me. When I read a book, even a funny one, I want to care if a (semi)-main character will be in danger, even if it's only out of curiousity as to what facets of his/her personality I might have not yet discovered or in worry of losing comic relief. Well, Otto was welcome to dine on the whole staff of the newspaper as far as I was concerned.
Sacarissa and William were were flat characters. They did not amuse me, they did not intrigue me, and they certainly did not inspire me with a deep affection for them. The problem was made all the stronger because there were cameos by the characters I certainly wanted to read about (e.g. Vimes. Carrot, Angua, the Patrician, Nobby and Colon, and even Bursar and ArchChancellor), and yet the whole book was about those two boring, bland and (in William's case) even grating characters. I kept wanting to switch into the Watch House to see how the investigation was going, or go to the Unseen University, or even to hang out more with Gaspode under the bridge.
4. William: a big problem. I think this was a love it or hate it character, and I found that he intensely annoyed me. Maybe because a journalist as champion of truth, or milquetoast makes good, or sensitive boy frees himself from a tyrannical father are all such cliches (and are taken seriously in this book), or maybe it was his overall personality which failed to interest me even once over 300 pages, or his lack of charisma. I don't know what it was, but when Vimes had him temporarily locked-up, I wanted him to stay there.
I like Pratchett's later books better because all along with great humor they have well developed plots, intriguing characters, and even some serious issues. This book does not score high for any of those.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2002
This, IS his best book. I have read all the Discworld books, and am now im the glorious process of re-reading them. (Which is actually even better, because you see things you never saw the first time, including the things you did.)
The Truth is a masterpiece of comedy, parody, satire, and just downright good-book-ness.
This probably his funniest book yet. I laughed out loud many times. His characters are good, William de Worde especially, Interesting (I think).
It's good that Pratchett is injecting new blood into the series. (Although i would hate it if he were to stop writing about all the other characters, the witches especially, as they are my absolute favourite. I love 'em.)
The premise for this book is great, and his satire of the modern media is too. Pratchett has a great deal to say, about everything, and he says it very well. His little nuggetts of social observations are always pure gems, and his subtle mockery of almost everything envokes many a laugh. He has the gift of being able to make you laugh at yourself, even if indirectly. You laugh out loud at societies peculairities and people's little nauances. It's all great fun.
This is probably his best book yet. Simply stunning. Loved it. He takes a while to get used to, but by god, when you do you're in for a treat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2002
The twenty-fifth discworld novel delves into that quagmire that is freedom of the press - although William de Worde (our protagonist) stumbles into each precept on his way to bringing Ankh-Morpork's first broadsheet to life with its serious news, obituaries and humorous funny vegetable columns.
The usual Ankh cast turn up in supporting roles, from the Watch to Foule Ole Ron in a seamlessly blended parody that makes Pratchett unique.
This installment has a disgruntled shadowy set of powerful men hiring Mr Pin and Mr Tulip through the zombie lawyer (Mr Slant) to effectively disgrace Lord Vetinari.
As is such with these carefully laid plans, they go slightly awry with Lord Vetinari's dog, Wuffles, surviving as a witness. This means William de Worde, ably accompanied by the reformed vampire, Otto de Chriek, Sacharissa and his printing gang searching for the Truth to free Lord Vetinari from disgrace.
A brilliant journalistic parody, Pratchett brings together a lot of previous Discworld novel themes and character types back to Ankh-Morpork and shows us a glimpse of the reality of both the city and its inhabitants away from the usual magic that permeates both.
Whilst nothing has yet beaten Reaper Man or Carpe Jugulum, this must rank in the top 5 Discworld novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2002
The Truth has the honour of being the 25th Discworld book. I haven't read all 25, but I have read a fair number of them, and I'd have to say this one is the best in awhile, even better than The Fifth Elephant.
William de Worde, outcast son of a local rich family in Ankh Morpork, has been regularly supplying (via engraving) a news page to a few select people in the city and the surrounding areas. One day, he is literally run over by the power of the press, in this case allowed to run amok by a group of dwarves. After regaining consciousness, William sees what this press can do and the possibilities it represents to get the news out to people. Imagine, movable type! Thus begins the saga of the Ankh-Morpork Times. William enlists the dwarves, and hires a young lady, Sacharissa Cripslock, to be a reporter. She's got a nose for headlines and is able to use some feminine wiles to get sources to talk to her. He also hires Otto Chriek, a vampire, as a photographer. Poor Otto has a fascination with flash photography, but every time the flash goes off, he becomes a pile of ash and needs help reforming himself.
When Lord Vetinari, the Patrician of the city, is accused of attempted murder, the City Watch is on the case, followed closely by William. Sometimes, too closely, as Commander Vimes has to deal with not only the crime, but also this new person breathing down his neck and asking questions. William thinks the public has a right to know what is going on. As the investigation continues, things get hotter and hotter for William, as he finds out that the search for the Truth isn't always a safe one.
There are so many things that make this book stand out. The first is the character of William. He's a crusader, a second son of a rich family. In Ankh-Morpork, only first sons ever really do anything. Subsequent sons are expected to go to school, graduate, and stay out of the way. William doesn't do that, but instead wants to make a name for himself. He hardly ever lies and has a deep respect for the truth, which is why he's so dedicated in this book. He's a wonderful straight man, reacting to some of the absurd events that are surrounding him as if they're not absurd.
Probably the best character, though, is Otto. He is so earnest in his profession, but he also has the funniest lines and situations. You would think that the repetition of "Flash! Arrrrrrrrrrrrgh!" would get boring after awhile, but it doesn't. The situations that it happens in are so varied that it never gets old. He's a very dedicated photographer, innovative (he is able to invent colour photography) and very loyal to William. He's also "on the wagon," which means that he doesn't drink human blood anymore. One of the funniest scenes in the book is when he's tempted (completely innocently and in a stressful situation) by Sacharissa.
One of the more interesting aspects of this book, at least for long-time Discworld readers, is the City Watch. This is the first book (or at least the first I've read) where the Watch is featured very heavily, but it's not *about* the Watch. There are only two or three scenes that are from the viewpoint of somebody who's in the Watch. Thus, you get to see them as outsiders see them. You see the strangeness that can happen without seeing the inherent reasoning behind it, and that is refreshing. Vimes is the same as he always has been, but his reactions to William and this new idea of somebody actually trying to tell people what is truly going on are simply hilarious. He doesn't like it and he doesn't react well to it.
The book mirrors the rise of newspapers very well, even down to the creation of tabloids (Mayor Stolen by Aliens!). Of course, the whole thing is condensed into a few weeks (and one investigative story), but it's still a nice parallel. Pratchett goes all out, showing not only the virtues of a free press, but also some of the faults. Most importantly, though, it shows the various reactions to this new medium: some fear it, some welcome it, some will take advantage of it (like the guy with the funny vegetables who wants them in the paper every day). Just like real life, only funnier.
This book is definitely worth a read. It doesn't matter if this is your first Discworld book or your 25th, you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2002
I read this book after reading Guards! Guards! but before reading any of the other Watch oriented books such as Men At Arms, Feet of Clay, Jingo, and The Fifth Elephant. The Watch are not the center of this book but they do make notable appearances.
I found this book relatively easy to follow even without knowing the history of certain characters. It is interesting to see the "future" of the Watch (from my perspective at least) and it makes me look forward to reading their further adventures.
The main focus of this book is William de Worde and his team. My personal favorite touch is having a genius vampire (he's reformed! Really!) as the photographer. He turns to dust whenever he uses too much flash!
Pratchett touches upon the role of journalism in society, the uncaring public who seeks entertainment more than information, the conflicts between government and journalists, and other such weighty issues with a quilled pen. Thus he tickles us while informing. Brilliant!
If you are new to the series, do not be afraid of the history you have missed. Pratchett makes each book (with the exception of The Light Fantastic which MUST be read after The Color of Magic) a good "jumping on" point. If you are familiar with Discworld, prepare for another exciting and entertaining adventure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse